We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and lovely place”
Review of San Jorge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
San Jorge Hotel
Ranked #39 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed here recently for 5 nights before moving on to a higher priced hotel. Wish we had booked our whole stay here. Rooms were nice, staff was friendly and caring, location is great, and a free breakfast every day. The gardens are beautiful. The hotel is safe and quiet, yet convenient to the park and shopping and restaurants.
Only down side was that it was mosquito season so we closed the windows at night which made the room a little hot.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights at San Jorge Hotel and it was amazing, the place was quite and very nice rooms. The staff was very helpful in booking trips and assistance. The owners where ready to help you in any matter. We had an early checkout (3am) because our trip was long and at 3am there was a person who took us a bread toast, jam and coffee!! A minor comment is that the person that answers emails takes a while to reply you back. Very god prices, breakfast includes, definitively would come back.

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet since the hotel is far from bars and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the San Jorge for 10 nights, visited Lake Atitlan and then returned for another 2 nights. We found the owners and staff to be incredibly friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble or them. When my daughter was unwell they organised medication to be delivered from a Pharmacy and whilst we were away from the hotel for 4 nights they happily stored our luggage for us - coming back to find it carefully laid out in our room. It was always a lovely start to the day to have breakfast in the garden and we found the breakfasts varied with good size portions - if you wanted more toast or juice or tea or anything you only had to ask. The San Jorge is perfectly placed to be away from any noise from bars or restaurants at night, but near enough to the Town Square to make it an easy walk and one which we felt safe with doing at night. It is only a small hotel, which is part of it's attraction anad I think that the description of the rooms as 'basic' is a bit unfair. Ok - they are not the height of luxury, but they are plenty big enough, colourfully furnished, clean and with more than enough of storeage space. They also provide an endless supply of free purified water - you just help yourself. I would recommend the San Jorge to anyone who wants to stay somewhere where they will feel comfortable and well looked after. As there is a securely bolted door onto the street and a delighful garden it really is an oasis of peace - great for adults and somewhere those travelling with children can feel that they can let them play safely. We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else when we come back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CandTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The hotel is in a great location and is reasonably priced. The rooms are basic but clean and the gardens are beautiful. The breakfasts are a bit mean with mostly servings of granola and fruit. the staff however are very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiisM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The Hotel San Jorge is a lovely quiet oasis in a lovely city.

This family-run hotel has a handful of rooms arranged around a garden with a fountain. The owners have a good rapport with the guests, amicable, professional and discreet.

The rooms are clean and comfortable, though they are perhaps somewhat soulless, being organised as small dormitories. The bathrooms come with a shower over a bathtub, with tepid water rather than hot. Each room has a drawer with a key to allow you to store valuables, though my sense was that the entire hotel is perfectly secure.

WiFi is free, but the signal is feeble, and you have to work out where it is strongest. Hint: try the table in the corner of the L-shaped corridor.

There is a book exchange and a water filter.

Breakfast in the garden is delicious - fruit, granola, yoghurt and toast - though the coffee is (as so often in Guatemala) terrible.

I was happy in this hotel, which honestly feels like home after one or two days. I've seen people say it is basic. I guess that depends on what you think of as basic. If you're looking for a quiet, comfortable place to sleep, and don't want bells and whistles, this is your hotel.

The downside?

There is a parrot in a cage. And when I say cage, I mean something the size of your thorax.

You keep Jorge up at night if you come back late. He has to come to the door of the hotel to let you in.

Room Tip: The rooms are all much of a muchness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kalense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel San Jorge for Santa Semana. The rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable. The gardens are lush, beautiful, and peaceful. The location is outstanding!! Everything is within walking distance. The staff is helpful. However, it may not be the best choice for a family with young children as there is limited room to play on the grounds.

Room Tip: Although hotel guests are allowed to use the amazing pool at the Porta Hotel Antigua -- for a fee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneyZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Greetings Travelers! This is a great place to stay in Antigua. Out of the main flow, but within walking distance to everything. Super helpful staff and owners. A beautiful garden with lovely fountain. Look no further!

Room Tip: Rooms far back most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gurusdakini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#49 of 75 in Antigua
252 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#29 of 75 in Antigua
437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#26 of 75 in Antigua
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
#47 of 75 in Antigua
120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#62 of 75 in Antigua
176 reviews
0.6 mi away
Posada La Merced Antigua
Posada La Merced Antigua
#24 of 75 in Antigua
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Jorge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Jorge Hotel

Address: 4th Avenue South No. 13 | 4th Avenue South No. 13 Antigua Guatemala, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range: £38 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — San Jorge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Jorge is a place that echoes the evocative atmosphere of La Antigua Guatemala’s past. Located on a quiet corner just 2 blocks south of Parque Central, Hotel San Jorge is reminiscent of a country hacienda with a lush and large central garden, hidden behind the famous Spanish colonial walls of La Antigua, very close to the center but away from the noise and bustle, where you can relax, & enjoy a good book, a glass of wine or simply a pleasant talk with friends or family in our cozy garden. You can listen to the birds with their beautiful songs & enjoy breakfast. You can have a talk with our hotel mascot, Paco the parrot. We are a comfortable and safe hotel, to enjoy as a couple, with friends, retired persons,or for business reasons. This is the ideal place to relax and explore the city and its surroundings, enjoy the scenery without paying high prices, we are competitive and you'll be delighted with our service. We are waiting for you!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your San Jorge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing