We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly satisfying, in close touch to the old town”
Review of Soleil La Antigua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Soleil La Antigua
Ranked #17 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Rafina, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Highly satisfying, in close touch to the old town”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The old town of Antigua is a not to miss juel; and the Hotel lies about 100m from the old section perimeter. Our nice room, No 253, was spacy and had a nice wooden roof and a fireplace. The only negatives for us: no refrigerator and very low lighting for reading in bed. The hotel is a whole resort area, with low buildings, pleasant inner spaces, a nice garden with tropical flowers and an open swimming pool. Breakfast buffet was also very good with a reasonable variety. I would say that the hotel atmosphere does not distroy the unique sense of livivg in another, old, better world, which lingers in old Antigua. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Odd room-Nos have view to the pool, the even ones to the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zaniko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    181
    75
    25
    24
See reviews for
118
122
22
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Well, the bed is good and comfortable, That's a real plus. But the kitchen looks like the one I had when I was in college in 1980, which is probably when this one was built. The little dorm-room sized refrigerator looks just like the one I had then too, except mine worked better. No way to form ice-cubes since the freezer part has no door. After I upped it to maximum, about a day later, I finally got the waters we bought cold. The kitchen cabinets were locked but they finally came and unlocked them. I guess they have problems with guests stealing the pots pans. They did supply a couple of nice frying pans that still had the non-stick surfaces intact. Some places you get old pans that stick to everything you try to cook. Cabinets must be from the 70's. Little beat-up burner did work, however. Little micro worked fine too. There was no tub plug so no way to take a bath. It took about 4 visits to get that fixed with the reception saying just push in the plug and me saying, what plug? it's gone. Finally they sent a very nice young man who could not fix it and finally brought an us an old plastic plug that we were able to use and make stay in the bottom by putting it under the mat, and sitting on the mat. The make-up mirror was pretty banged up and kind of hanging crocked on the wall but if you wedge a towel between it the wall, you can make it stay in place to see. I agree that most days one does not really need air conditioning here in La Antigua because of the altitude, but on the really warm days, ceiling fans would have been nice. Fortunately, I had brought a little battery-powered fan . Have not tried the pool yet. Very attentive at the restaurant. All in all, nice grounds, nice people, outdated & somewhat dilapidated rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debeliub1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Perú
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Hi to everybody ,, Talking about this Hotel Bring be back to the calm and relaxing is a magnetic city with this kind of place make more great staying, The Entrance look like a typical Resort but once you get into the Lobby look fresh and a nice smile special the front desk Team who speak a good English and are professionals,, The room are nice they give me a great deal about the rate room charge but the amenities are so Poor they just put 2 small tiny bottle of shampoo and this one is also a accordionist well the hearth what is nice have a matches but are not too cold room maybe could help the heater electrical and air condition Please mostly of the market they have is american's they use to love being in a room with this small items well one thing else is about internet connection almost they could consider with the WiFi free in the Lobby please after that the Hotel is just nice and well I took a tennis class with Hector was really kind and the lady for the Gym also so help.. Remember to ask for a special discount of 25 % in the Spa and enjoy the really nice breakfast. what I consider was better than The others hotels I been in Guatemala because for be a tropical area are not that good in breakfast I think.
Have fun and enjoy all your staying In this nice Soleil Hotel

Room Tip: Ask for the room with view to the swimming poll because the o posit are with a wall view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesus Mirko H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Gerente at Soleil La Antigua, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Good morning:

Thank you very much for your comments and suggestions, we are very happy that you had a great time here. Thanks for the time you took just to wrote us, remember you will always be welcome to Hotel Soleil La Antigua.

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Went there using a timeshare. It is a very nice setting, everything is well maintained, large rooms, 2 pools. If I actually paid I would have find a place within the main Antigua square. There are 2 ways to get to Parque Centrale but both will expose you to the endemic Chicken Bus fumes... another "minus" would be the cost of everything which is twice as much as almost everywhere else in Antigua... I guess that I would still consider the place if I brought children because of the pools and the security of a closed off resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Francois M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Gerente at Soleil La Antigua, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Good morning:

We appreciate the time you took just to wrote us, thank you for your comment, we are taking into acount your experience. We have bus service to the square six times a day without payment for the guests comfort. Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay.

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We had a conference here and it was a good base for the meetings with well laid out grounds. the breakfast and foo was ok but not great. They did have a reasonable coffee shop. The rooms where big and had great space. The beds comfortable and quiet. The gym was a bit to small and without much gear. Beautiful gardens.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newnhamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Gerente at Soleil La Antigua, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Good afternoon:

Thank you for write us, this kind of comments help us to increase our good service and to take notes of the changes we have to improve. Keep in mind that you will always be welcome to Hotel Soleil La Antigua.

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruidoso, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We had a week here and loved it. They also have a resort in San Jos, Soleil Pacifico Resort.They were nice enough to drive us down and put us up for a night for free.

The staff was great and friendly. The restaurant was also tasty. I would do it again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johnny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Gerente at Soleil La Antigua, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Good afternoon:

Thank you for your comment, you are welcome in Hotel Soleil anytime you want, hope you can come back soon.

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I've stayed in several hotels in Guatemala. Soleil Hotel is one of my favorites. Its just outside Antigua, but still within a nice walk (8-10 blocks) to the craft market and town square. Its clean, comfortable and in a gorgeous setting. Soleil has a full service dining room, spa, pool, and more. Usually, personnel at the front desk speak very good English and of course Spanish. They are friendly and attentive to needs. When groups are staying on the property there tends to be a vender at the entrance selling hand crafts and other items. They tend to be much higher priced than from the Craft Market a few blocks away. Don't be afraid to negotiate with a sense of fun. I recommend Soleil for personal, business, individual or group accommodations. I've had a group up to 60 here. With a large team book in advance and allow plenty of time for check-in. They're not slow, but it won't be quick either.

Room Tip: I prefer the suites which are worth the extra price. Rooms farther from the pool may be a tad qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chapingros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Gerente at Soleil La Antigua, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Good afternoon:

We are very thankful with your comment, you will be welcome everytime you want. We always want to give to the customers an excellent service, making any person feeling 100% comfortable and making your stay special. We are waiting for you to come back to Guatemala.

Thank you,

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.4 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
855 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#6 of 75 in Antigua
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#7 of 75 in Antigua
432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#29 of 75 in Antigua
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soleil La Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soleil La Antigua

Property: Soleil La Antigua
Address: Poniente 9th street | Carretera a Ciudad Vieja, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#15 Business Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Soleil La Antigua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soleil La Antigua, colonial style to keep the harmony with one of the most beautiful destination, ANTIGUA GUATEMALA is a treasure chest of customs and traditions and is situated on the base of a volcano, it combines with full service hotel, restaurant, Mayan Thai Spa, gym, gardens, pools, tennis court and more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Soleil La Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soleil La Antigua Hotel Antigua
Soleil La Antigua Guatemala
Antigua Villa Guatemala
Soleil La Antigua Hotel Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing