We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soleil La Antigua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Soleil La Antigua
Ranked #19 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed for three nights for our honeymoon and it was very pleasant. The rooms are big and have are big and have a fireplace for cold nights, very romantic. Nice pool and fitness center, but the spa is a little bit overpriced. The only downside was that around 8 people started working on remodeling the room next door.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FelipeTGil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    163
    71
    24
    22
See reviews for
102
115
21
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed at soleil doe a week while in Antigua Guatemala and it was great all of the people at the hotel were extremely nice and very helpful. Our stay was wonderfuI. The room was very nice and the grounds were exquisite. We have been staying many time over the past 25 years and have always enjoyed it. Also the spa was delightful.

Room Tip: We have stayed through our time share and have even brought our children with us on other trips
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

I was on vacation in Antigua Guatemala and stayed at the Hotel Soleil Antigua, I liked the customer service but I think it can be improved especially in the taste of the food. Did not like the humidity in the room, there was no heating. I think it is very nice but is far from the center of the fun.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nenecastri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

I am from Boston Massachusetts. My father's family is from Guatemala. We decided to take the whole family to Soleil La Antigua, and we are so happy we stayed there. The guest rooms were so comfortable and clean. The are 3 swimming pools, a tennis court, soccer field, and a wonder view of the scenery!! Through out our stay we all felt that the customer service was very excellent. We were a little uneasy about going out alone taking buses and taxis, but we were fortunate to have a car service which is part of the hotel to take us to places!!!

Room Tip: You should def ask the front desk for a room with a good view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafina, Greece
Level Contributor
130 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

The old town of Antigua is a not to miss juel; and the Hotel lies about 100m from the old section perimeter. Our nice room, No 253, was spacy and had a nice wooden roof and a fireplace. The only negatives for us: no refrigerator and very low lighting for reading in bed. The hotel is a whole resort area, with low buildings, pleasant inner spaces, a nice garden with tropical flowers and an open swimming pool. Breakfast buffet was also very good with a reasonable variety. I would say that the hotel atmosphere does not distroy the unique sense of livivg in another, old, better world, which lingers in old Antigua. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Odd room-Nos have view to the pool, the even ones to the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zaniko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Well, the bed is good and comfortable, That's a real plus. But the kitchen looks like the one I had when I was in college in 1980, which is probably when this one was built. The little dorm-room sized refrigerator looks just like the one I had then too, except mine worked better. No way to form ice-cubes since the freezer part has no door. After I upped it to maximum, about a day later, I finally got the waters we bought cold. The kitchen cabinets were locked but they finally came and unlocked them. I guess they have problems with guests stealing the pots pans. They did supply a couple of nice frying pans that still had the non-stick surfaces intact. Some places you get old pans that stick to everything you try to cook. Cabinets must be from the 70's. Little beat-up burner did work, however. Little micro worked fine too. There was no tub plug so no way to take a bath. It took about 4 visits to get that fixed with the reception saying just push in the plug and me saying, what plug? it's gone. Finally they sent a very nice young man who could not fix it and finally brought an us an old plastic plug that we were able to use and make stay in the bottom by putting it under the mat, and sitting on the mat. The make-up mirror was pretty banged up and kind of hanging crocked on the wall but if you wedge a towel between it the wall, you can make it stay in place to see. I agree that most days one does not really need air conditioning here in La Antigua because of the altitude, but on the really warm days, ceiling fans would have been nice. Fortunately, I had brought a little battery-powered fan . Have not tried the pool yet. Very attentive at the restaurant. All in all, nice grounds, nice people, outdated & somewhat dilapidated rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debeliub1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Perú
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Hi to everybody ,, Talking about this Hotel Bring be back to the calm and relaxing is a magnetic city with this kind of place make more great staying, The Entrance look like a typical Resort but once you get into the Lobby look fresh and a nice smile special the front desk Team who speak a good English and are professionals,, The room are nice they give me a great deal about the rate room charge but the amenities are so Poor they just put 2 small tiny bottle of shampoo and this one is also a accordionist well the hearth what is nice have a matches but are not too cold room maybe could help the heater electrical and air condition Please mostly of the market they have is american's they use to love being in a room with this small items well one thing else is about internet connection almost they could consider with the WiFi free in the Lobby please after that the Hotel is just nice and well I took a tennis class with Hector was really kind and the lady for the Gym also so help.. Remember to ask for a special discount of 25 % in the Spa and enjoy the really nice breakfast. what I consider was better than The others hotels I been in Guatemala because for be a tropical area are not that good in breakfast I think.
Have fun and enjoy all your staying In this nice Soleil Hotel

Room Tip: Ask for the room with view to the swimming poll because the o posit are with a wall view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesus Mirko H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Gerente at Soleil La Antigua, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Good morning:

Thank you very much for your comments and suggestions, we are very happy that you had a great time here. Thanks for the time you took just to wrote us, remember you will always be welcome to Hotel Soleil La Antigua.

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.1 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#4 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
14.4 mi away
Casa Santo Domingo
Casa Santo Domingo
#6 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#8 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#23 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#2 of 82 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soleil La Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soleil La Antigua

Property: Soleil La Antigua
Address: Poniente 9th street | Carretera a Ciudad Vieja, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#15 Business Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Soleil La Antigua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soleil La Antigua, colonial style to keep the harmony with one of the most beautiful destination, ANTIGUA GUATEMALA is a treasure chest of customs and traditions and is situated on the base of a volcano, it combines with full service hotel, restaurant, Mayan Thai Spa, gym, gardens, pools, tennis court and more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Soleil La Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soleil La Antigua Hotel Antigua
Soleil La Antigua Guatemala
Antigua Villa Guatemala
Soleil La Antigua Hotel Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing