We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Capuchinas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Capuchinas
Ranked #40 of 126 Antigua B&B and Inns
Udine
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Very nice accommodation ,very quiet and clean ,with and pleasant atmosphere, just few block form the central park!
The best is anyhow the friendly manager Porfirio ,he is a very nice person try always with a smile to accommodate our request ,bravo!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    17
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
12
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Great place to relax after exploring Antigua and surroundings. The garden is really beautiful. We had a big room with a chimney (#6), which added a nice touch to the place. People working there are really contributing to a pleasant stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mattituck, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

By the recommendation of a friend we stayed here. It's just fine if you are out n about exploring all day. Comes with breakfast and strong wifi - which is great for the price.
If you are looking to hang out and relax at your hotel and want fancier amenities and bathroom there are bigger hotels for a bit more money.

We poked our head in a number of places and this is the quietest of many we saw.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank OMIonthewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

A magical hide a way in this beautiful city. Antigua is one of the most authentic cities in South and Central America. Casa Capuchinas is as special and magical as the city itself. the position is perfect, the rooms are big and nicely decorated.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kika67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro R, Propietario at Casa Capuchinas, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for your kind comments.We strive to give our guests the best possible service. So glad you liked Casa Capuchinas, your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
550 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

The hotel is a series of spaceous rooms around a lovely garden. We had room number 2 at the left hand side of the entrance gate (you need to ring, and somebody comes to open the gate for you, so it´s very safe and separate from the "outside world") and had only some noise on Saturday evening, when a wedding party took place in the Capuchinas ruins across the street. Beds are comfortable and huge (most of the double beds in Guatemala are really wide singles, the double beds here are like twice the width of the former). Breakfast is included and was very good quality. Manager very friendly (we booked through booking.com and due to changeing travel plans, we contacted him to stay in the hotel one day earlier, which wasn´t a problem; he also arranged the taxi to the airport the day we left, and got our breakfast early). Toiletries provided, as well as fresh bottles of purified water, and coffee, so you can prepare yourself a filter coffee in your room. Things we thought could be better : bathroom (of room2 at least) not quite living up to the standard of the room and its furniture, and wifi signal - as the router is on the balcony where breakfast is taken - too weak to have a good connection in our room.

Room Tip: rooms apart from main building are probably quieter, while wifi signal is only good in rooms in main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onzils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro R, Propietario at Casa Capuchinas, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We strive to give our guests the best possible service. So glad you liked Casa Capuchinas, your home away from home! Please come back and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

This is a great B&B. We stayed there for a couple of Nights. It's a quiet place and the rooms are charming with comfortable beds. In the morning they make your breakfast to order. The options are not many, but it's good food. Very pacific.

Room Tip: Ask if you can look around the rooms (there are only 9 I think) and see if they let you choose the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed in Casa Capuchinas last week. The Guest House - I would not call it a Hotel - was full of character and the garden is pleasant but the service is bad - no English is spoken - and the rooms are very noisy - there are iron works nearby and the hammering starts very early in the morning. We discovered ants or wild-life of some sort (I was assured they were NOT bed bugs because we could see them) in our bed and on our mattress and when we drew attention to this the matter was very badly handled by the manager. I could not recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Messymary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.5 mi away
Hostal San Nicolas
Hostal San Nicolas
#35 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Casa Encantada
Casa Encantada
#9 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
#43 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pensativo House Hotel
Pensativo House Hotel
#14 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#25 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Capuchinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Capuchinas

Property: Casa Capuchinas
Address: 2 Avenida Norte 7, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Capuchinas 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Capuchinas is a Colonial style hotel in central Antigua Guatemala, overlooking the impressive ruins of Capuchinas, one of the oldest and best preserved monuments of Antigua. Known for our clean, quiet, comfort and gracious style, each oversized guest room is designed to suit the needs of both the business and the leisure traveler.Casa Capuchinas is a wonderful colonial home turned into a charming Bed and Breakfast. All our rooms feature antiques, local handicrafts and weavings. Private bath, direct dial phone, cable tv, coffeemaker and fireplace are a standard at Casa Capuchinas. Come and relax reading a good book in our perfectly manicured gardens or just lay down and listen to he birds and the wind telling you the endless stories of Antigua Guatemala.All Guests are invited to Join us for breakfast and enjoy the warm, soothing and friendly atmosphere. The intimate yet casual atmosphere of our house is the perfect place to relax and start your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Casa Capuchinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing