We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruins, ruins, ruins...”

Convento Santa Clara
Ranked #14 of 81 things to do in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These ruins, like so many others in the city, are the effects of several devastating earthquakes over the last 200 years.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ruins, ruins, ruins...”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Located just one minute from San Francisco, ruins of a small convent. A very quick visit will be sufficient but worth the look. At some point one can get overloaded on ruins but this is the Antigua's one of main attractions.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank wojtekwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    78
    15
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great short tour”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This was a great place to peek into for a short tour. It's important to have a knowledgeable guide. Make sure you go down into the basement area where nuns used to sing and it would carry out into the streets. Our group sang a song and the acoustics were so powerful. If you have time, stop in!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patzcuaro, Michoacan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Better than it's more heralded next door neighbor”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Some really good photo-ops. Enjoyed the site and actually went back in after seeing the photo exhibit on the way out (see it first) and realizing I had missed something. Worth the 40 quetzales.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank colinwcollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A nice setting for photos”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Nice for photo shoots, but I personally prefer Capuchinas and La Recoleccion. It has some very nice and picturesque arches.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
131 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very nice- worth seeing”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This was one of my favorites during my visit. It is large and has a wonderful feeling within the ruins. I think this is one of the spots that need to be seen within the old city.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SGHistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Convento Santa Clara also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Convento Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing