We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The go-to place for souvenirs”

Nim Po't Centro de Textiles Tradicionales
Ranked #3 of 34 Shopping in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This large warehouse features a selection of clothing and handcrafted textiles.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The go-to place for souvenirs”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

A wholesale place for souvenirs in one place. The selection of textiles and costumes is huge. They are labelled so you can reach yourself about the different designs in the villages. Good to come here to get a sense of prices. Some fair trade items as well. Overall decent prices. Helpful staff. Cash discount and credit cards accepted.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank mkl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    28
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
87 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Excellent artesanias and fair-trade store”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

If you want quality, real handmade artisan goods, go to this huge store which is situated in what seems to be an old theatre at the end of Calle del Arco. They sell wonderful huipiles, carved wooden figures and other crafts, which are brought to them weekly by the women of the villages. When they sell a huipil for example, the money gets back to the woman who actually made it and gave it to the store to sell for a commission. The choice of goods is different from your average tourist knickknack store and you can find some very fine weavings here, including whole tradition men’s and women’s outfits with huipiles, cortes and everything.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannine2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great selection and prices”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We shopped at Nim P’ot one evening and found the prices to be very reasonable. It was helpful to have some prices in mind before heading to Panajachel and negotiating with vendors. The quality of the crafts at Nim P’ot is a bit inconsistent, but we found a handful of things to buy. We also found a few fair trade crafts that were (expectedly) priced a bit higher. They also have an excellent selection of tee shirts if you’re seeking that kind of souvenir. There's no pressure to buy and it's easy to spend a considerable amount of time browsing.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank _SLH138_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good place to go shopping”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I bought almost all my Guatemalan presents in Nim Po't. They have a lot of stuff, you can spend a whole afternoon there, so take your time. People working there are friendly and they do not bother you while looking around. If you do not like bargaining and want to see the prices on the goods, try this place.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Felt good to shop here”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I liked shopping here because the items were very Guatemalan, many Mayan items, and they had set prices that were more "fair trade". I found this refreshing after hours of haggling at the artisan market and walking through the streets. The prices in Nim Po't were more for some things, but it felt like those were prices that better matched the beautiful handiwork. I left the other market feeling like I got great bargains, but didn't really pay enough to honor how much I loved what I bought. People work very hard for very little.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jlee2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nim Po't Centro de Textiles Tradicionales also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Nim Po't Centro de Textiles Tradicionales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing