We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, but worth it”
Review of Meson Panza Verde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meson Panza Verde
Ranked #6 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pricey, but worth it”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed in one of the junior suites, with a large patio looking out towards the mountains and a hot tub in the room. The entire hotel is very tastefully and elegantly decorated, a mix of antique finishes and contemporary art/photography. We spent few nights in the cosy bar by the fireplace, sampling the collection of mezcal after a day of sightseeing. The owner, a native of Colorado, greeted us one night and made sure everything was satisfactory.

The hotel also offers yoga and guided meditation classes, though we didn't find time to take advantage of them.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceneri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    72
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
46
247
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I stayed at this hotel with two friends. This hotel is very nice and I liked it a lot. The only thing I was lacking there wasin room service. I arrived at the hotel late at night, tired and hungry. I really didn't feel like going out, but room service was not available there. So, that's my only critisism.
The restaurant is very nice and it has awesome life music. The hotel also has beautiful swimming pool, but you can use only at certain hours.
The view from the terrace is gourgeous. they do have shuttle service to and from Guatemala City airport.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlenaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopatcong, New Jersey
Level Contributor
165 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

With Live Music every night of our stay it was impossible to sleep before 10 PM. The downstairs rooms were literally in the restaurant and if people were at the table 6 inches from your door, you could hear everything! This hotel would have been OK without the Live Music. If you like quiet there are many other hotels in Antigua.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caren_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Meson Panza Verde has the nicest and most accomodating staff, but not surprisingly because Guatemalans in general are extremely nice people. The rooms are beautifully decorated and each a bit different. I was particulary impressed with the comfort of the bed which had super soft sheets and a wonderful clean fragrence. The bathroom was so beautiful it was actually fun to use! When the clouds are away the rooftop veranda has splendid views of the volcanoes and is a great place for drinks and relaxation. I think this hotel is actually a good value because a continental breakfast is included that is a real treat. Everything is homemade and so fresh. Fruit right from the trees and coffee grown in Antigua. As for the other two meals of the day, also delicious. La Cueva, Panza Verde's bar has fantastic live music many nights of the week. This hotel is among the best you will find in it's category in the world.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

The only thing i regret is that we only had 2 days to stay there. If i ever find myself in Antigua Guatemala - there is no doubt this would be the place for me!

We didn't book in advance and just walked in - and it was love at 1st sight... The restaurant in the garden, the amazing junior suite of 2 rooms with its regal bathroom and beautiful patio, we just had to stay.
And we didn't even know about the rooftop terrase, which we discovered in the morning - with the stunning morning viewes of the volcanos (before the clouds cover them). The breakfast is superb, with the delightful Blanca Estella (?), helpful and extremely pleasant breakfast staff.
The decor both in the rooms and of the common area is one of the best i have ever seen. Elegant and classy, without going over the top.
There is free wifi and a computer for the use of guests. There is an art gallery. Works of art are also scattered around the compund. There are morning Yoga classes for the interested guests. And the gourmet restaurant is very good, with live music Jazz / Blues performances on several evenings of the week.

I VERY rarely write reviews of hotels, as most places are OK but "nothing to write home about"... Well - this one definitely is! Everything was superb!

Thank you again for the most amazing ending of our 2 months Central American honeymoon!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fidanzati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Myself and my husband booked 4 nights at the Meson Panza Verde in September to have a bit of luxury at the start of our honeymoon in Central America. The hotel is absolutely stunning and has so much character and charm it is difficult to believe it was built fairly recently.

We booked suite 7 to have the views over the Agua Volcano, the room itself it a bit set back from the others which gave you a much more private setting. The suite was large and cosy with an open fire, luxurious bathroom, fresh flowers and the most amazing complimentary hotel coffee I've ever had. We saved some of the packs to take home with us! The amazing breakfast was typically Guatemalan and the lady serving it was friendly.

The location was fine for us as it was a bit set back from the main strip of bars and restaurants, but there isn't much around the hotel. On one exceptionally rainy night we couldn't get very far on foot, however taxis are so cheap it doesn't really matter.

All in all - fab!

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank HazzerP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batesville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Stayed two nights with my wife before moving on across the country. This was an oasis for us that provided a spectacular setting for a romantic weekend. Great atmosphere, service, and food. Very quiet..sometimes felt that we were the only ones around when wandering around the property, especially on the rooftop. Our first time in Antiqua was remembed fondly, and a big part of that is because we really enjoyed this hotel.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you want (romance, quiet, etc.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skidocark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.1 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 76 in Antigua
852 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 76 in Antigua
297 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#8 of 76 in Antigua
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#7 of 76 in Antigua
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meson Panza Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meson Panza Verde

Property: Meson Panza Verde
Address: 5 Av sur 19, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#8 Business Hotel in Antigua
#8 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meson Panza Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our inn has nine suites and three double rooms. Just beyond the entrance, there is an inviting central garden and fountain surrounded by a veranda that is quintessential Antigua. Our restaurant is considered one of the finest in the country. Its reputation for "international cuisine with a twist" has made it a favorite with Guatemalans and international travelers alike. Many consider Meson Panza Verde to be the preferred destination for their stay in Beautiful Spanish Colonial Antigua, the land of eternal spring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Meson Panza Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meson Panza Verde Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing