We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreamy place”
Review of Meson Panza Verde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meson Panza Verde
Ranked #7 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Miami
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Dreamy place”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

What an enchanting place! From the moment you walk into the interior courtyard you know you are in a very special place. The atmosphere is amazing. We stayed in suite 7 and it loved it. The room is very spacious and charming, and the bathroom has a Jacuzzi surrounded by curtains. Very romantic. There is no A/C but that wasn't a problem because it remains cool at night. The restaurant serves excellent food. The rooftop terrace is a delight to explore, with all its little corners full of flowers, turrets and benches. Very nice place to enjoy at sunset time. Nice breakfast and great service all around. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    72
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
47
247
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Panze Verde is a work of art! Everywhere you look it is gorgeous! From the rooms to the view on the roof of the volcano- all of it has such an attention to detail. The roses in your room match the bedspread and the tile on the floor made me want to find out how to do the same in my own home. I would not choose the $100 rooms because the prices are so good. Go for the junior suite or the grand suite- Its so worth it. A room similar in any American city would be at least 5-6 times more. The staff is helpful and pleasant. Ask for Ingrid. She is a professional and knows everything you might want to know. Dont miss this hidden gem!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Overbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We have stayed at this property several times. We can always count on consistent service. The room product is awesome; restaurant offerings are delicious; personnel exceptional and always friendly; and we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skygoddess51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
269 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The Meson Panza Verde is a beautiful boutique hotel in the old city of Antigua. It is located at the edge of the center city and requires a short walk to the sights. The hotel feels like it was built 200 years ago but was actually built in the 1980's. Each bedroom is unique (we stayed in rooms 5 and 10 on two different occasions). The architecture is fantastic and there is charm everywhere you look. Bathrooms have unusual cupola ceilings and the furnishings in each room are totally appropriate for the ambiance. The service is outstanding. Everyone is there to help and make you feel totally at home. The manager, Ingrid, goes out of her way to make you feel welcome. The restaurant is amazing and beautiful and you can choose to sit indoors, outdoors, or along a lap pool that is beautifully lit at night. The restaurant may be the best in the entire city, although it is a little pricey for what you might expect in Guatemala. It is very romantic and there are many nooks and crannies inside and out where you can be the only one around. The only slight negative is that the location requires you to take an inexpensive taxi back at night since there are some safety concerns after dark. Prices are on the high side for Antigua but very affordable when compared to properties like this elsewhere. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel's website shows pictures of each room so you can select the specific room you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickyD23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
228 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is a beautiful hotel in a good position in Antigua.Our room was large and nicely decorated, with a lovely big bathroom. The restaurant is outstanding, the food is excellent, both lunch and dinner. Imaginitive well cooked food, we could have stayed another day or two and not repeated our choices, the menu is extensive.breakfasts are simple but good quality self service, laid out nicely in the inside dining room.
The upstairs terraces are lovely for an evening drink and tapas, great views of the volcanoes from there.
The only small negative is that a hotel close by often has weddings on a Saturday night, in our case this went on until 12.30am, and was extremely loud. The hotel is aware of the problem ,but it seems there is little they can do.I would not recommend staying here on a Saturday,especially in the master suites at the back, which are the closest to the noise.
A beautiful place to stay in Antigua, would love to go back one day.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llewellynroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This hotel is worth every penny! The ambiance is charming and intimate and the service is off the charts from every aspect of the hotel. From the breakfasts served each morning to the delicious and delightful dining room to the wonderful yoga classes offered at the hotel, this property has it all! Did I mention how romantic it is as well? I'm sure to be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our family stayed for three nights at the Panza Verde hotel in Antiqua. Our sons shared a large double room and my husband and I were treated to one of the luxurious suites on the upper floor. Our room was amazing. The decor was a mix of Mayan and Moroccan details. Rooms were clean, staff excellent and the food was delicious. Loved the intimate feel of the whole place. The rooftop deck was a must for cocktails at sunset. We were fortunate to see the volcano erupting from a distance. What a treat.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boymomOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.1 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 76 in Antigua
853 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 76 in Antigua
298 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#8 of 76 in Antigua
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#6 of 76 in Antigua
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meson Panza Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meson Panza Verde

Property: Meson Panza Verde
Address: 5 Av sur 19, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#8 Business Hotel in Antigua
#8 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meson Panza Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our inn has nine suites and three double rooms. Just beyond the entrance, there is an inviting central garden and fountain surrounded by a veranda that is quintessential Antigua. Our restaurant is considered one of the finest in the country. Its reputation for "international cuisine with a twist" has made it a favorite with Guatemalans and international travelers alike. Many consider Meson Panza Verde to be the preferred destination for their stay in Beautiful Spanish Colonial Antigua, the land of eternal spring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Meson Panza Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meson Panza Verde Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing