We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hidden place to stay”
Review of Meson Panza Verde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meson Panza Verde
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Surprisingly not many travelers know Panza Verde exists... if they did I think they'd have booked here during their Antigua stay. This place is a gem... incredible restaurant, some of the only jazz found in Antigua, really unique boutique rooms, close to the centre of town and so well decorated... it feels like a true 5 star option, but at the same time it feels like you're one of the few people who gets to experience it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Landon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were a family of three with my husband and I occupying one room and our daughter a second room. We had a porch right outside our rooms with hammocks. My daughter's rooms were lovely with a high ceiling in the bathroom, and a sitting room in addition to her bedroom. Ours was more of a normal room, but still large and lovely. We were on the second floor. I did not hear any of the restaurant noise, but I must confess that I am a sleeping pill user, and also use "white noise". Our one dinner there was nice. Breakfast was nice, but it was the same for all or our 4 days there. It would have been nice to not have the exact same choices every day. The lady at the desk was very helpful when we asked her for help. I did notice that they didn't vacuum the stairs up to our rooms for 3 days, and they were quite in need of it. I can't comment on the value, since my husband booked them, but he thought it was appropriate enough to stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanMarietta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This place is so well made, decorated, maintained and charming that we didn't want to leave! We had room 10 which was very quiet. There was no terrace but the huge glass doors opened wide and we felt like our whole room was a terrace. Perfectly private because of the ivy covered wall opposite. With 2 chairs pulled up to the fire and a good book, it was heaven. The bathroom is awe inspiring with its high cuppola and huge blue tiled tub. We loved everything about the room. Plenty of storage, coffee maker, hair dryer. Desk arranged our onward shuttle with just a couple of words. Breakfast with Blanca was a real treat. It's continental except for the tamales, but you can ask for eggs for a small extra charge. We had plenty with what was offered and the breakfast room was a soothing place to start the day. It probably takes about a 5 minute walk to get to the center of the city. There's a reasonable and quick laundry a little ways down on the left (and a discount for staying at Meson Panza Verde). If you continue past the hotel, you'll come upon a plant nursery on the right that is more than a wonderful nursery - a cafe and crafts market also.

Room Tip: I think they are good about matching the room to your requests. We asked for quiet and a fireplace a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank preironic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

One of the many magical places to go in Antigua. Very good for romance, live music, excellent food and atmosphere. Piano and live music on Thursdays and Saturdays. The wine list is good. The place has a rooftop from were you can look all around Antigua and you can sunbath and take your drinks there. Beautiful place!!

Room Tip: Try to get the suite with the veranda looking at the internal patio with the table outside and the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a junior suite for 3 nights with a gorgeous fireplace that was neatly prepared every day. The room also included a private patio and separate bedroom. Although the restaurant was very busy every night, we did not feel disturbed by it in our room and there was always a table available for us without pre-reservation. Also, the food was delicious and arrived rather quickly. The staff was very helpful and accommodating, especially Ana, who assisted us with a delivery we were expecting at the hotel. The hotel is a bit out of the busy main square, which is great as you can enjoy the tranquility in this hustling town. We had a coffee maker in the room with fresh ground coffee provided daily as well as unlimited filtered drinking water. Breakfast was included and delicious, especially the fresh fruit and local tamales. Overall we loved our stay and would recommend booking this hotel while in Antigua!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruraam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a beautiful property with incredible taste in decor. It is located in an up scale quiet area of the city within easy access to quaint La Antigua. It is CLEAN QUIET AESTHETIC SPOT WITH GOOD SERVICE AND A RESTAURANT FIT FOR FOODIES

Room Tip: THIS LOOKS LIKE AN EXPENSIVE HOTEL BUT IT IS A VALUE . SO UPGRADE. however all the rlow rise hotel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ECAMERONSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Went for dinner in May 2014. Took a stroll up the staircase out to the roof. The roof has tables and chairs for outdoor dining and cocktails. There is another staircase that takes you even higher and then a smaller set of stairs to get to the top of the roof. you are now way up… Great spot for pictures which of course we did. So touristy…. Great vie up there if you don't mind climbing and watch your step.

The food and service are fabulous. Went with my wife and another couple. We all got different dishes.. The tuna was prepared perfectly. the coq au vin was delicious, steak and lasagna were equally as great.

There was dancing and live band in the area next to the dining room. Be sure to check out the indoor lap pool. you can get a table next to the pool of you wish….

Definite keeper… Must go again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank hyjinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.6 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#6 of 75 in Antigua
774 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#5 of 75 in Antigua
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Encantada
Casa Encantada
#10 of 75 in Antigua
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meson Panza Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meson Panza Verde

Address: 5 Av sur 19, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#8 Business Hotel in Antigua
#8 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: £75 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meson Panza Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our inn has nine suites and three double rooms. Just beyond the entrance, there is an inviting central garden and fountain surrounded by a veranda that is quintessential Antigua. Our restaurant is considered one of the finest in the country. Its reputation for "international cuisine with a twist" has made it a favorite with Guatemalans and international travelers alike. Many consider Meson Panza Verde to be the preferred destination for their stay in Beautiful Spanish Colonial Antigua, the land of eternal spring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Meson Panza Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meson Panza Verde Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing