We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Meson Panza Verde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meson Panza Verde
Ranked #9 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed in Meson Panza Verde for one night - and it was really an amazing experience! From one side it is luxurious, from another one - very authentic, and definitely, it is extremely cozy. For your understanding - there are around 12 rooms in the whole hotel. We were staying in Junior suite. Overall, the room was decorated so wonderful, that we had a feeling that we want to take home every second piece of furniture. There was even a real fireplace! The only thing about the room which did not exceed our expectations was view - we were looking at green hedge.
Regarding food: we had exceptional dinner at hotel's restaurant (even though it was quite expensive). Breakfast disappointed us a bit: there was tasty juice and cappuccino, but choice of food was very limited (eggs, butter, cake, some fruit).
Overall, the hotel is located quite far from city center. But the city is so small itself that in fact it is around 7 minutes walking distance. Also please note - hotel's location is marked incorrectly at least at booking.com! We spent 15 minutes trying to find the place according to that map.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Оксана Д
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

My partner and I had an amazing 2 night stay in this hotel. This was our first trip to Guatemala and loved every second. The hotel was architecturally beautiful, with so much detail and delicious decor! From in room fire places to hand made wash basins, this was truly an incredible experience and would definitely be staying when we go back!

Room Tip: get one with a fire place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFlyingFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Meson Panza Verde is a great place to stay, though maybe not with young children (they would not understand). It is dressed like a colonial period elite residence. They have nice fire places in the bar and restaurant. The breakfast in simple but very nice. I think we were in the cheapest room and it was still nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PersonWhoEats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I don't have words to describe what a magical place is El Meson Panza Verde. The rooms, the atmosphere , the food and all the wonderful staff that make you feel at home..Now it's one of my favorite places.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leire72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I had a brief stay at Meson Panza Verde on the weekend of June 6, 2014; what a pleasant surprise upon entering the gates!!!!!!! This property is absolutely wonderful!!! Although relatively new, the hotel seems like it has been there forever - in the nicest possible way. The décor is fabulous and very fitting. The rooms are cozy, yet very generous in size; mine ( which I paid about 80 + taxes USD) had a lovey "French Quarter" balcony and tons of natural light shining in. The bathroom( which looked down over the luxurious lap pool) was totally unexpected and oh, sooooooooo fabulous!!!! The location is spot on - just a few blocks down the cobblestone street from the main square ( a lovely and safe walk any time of day or night). The breakfast was so enjoyable that I was frustrated to have passed on dinner the night before: fresh home made tamales, moist "cornbread" w jalapenos, blueberry muffins with the biggest blue berries ever - so big you could only eat part of one, fresh coconut water, eggs, tons of fresh fruit including even rambutans.... In the evening there was live music. The staff was "5 star" attentive and even helpful before arrival via email. The only negative I have, and I do in fact think that it should be mentioned only to help others; I went to a dinner at a restaurant off property and when I walked back I stood in the light rain banging on the gate trying to get in - they had locked up, without warning me that it would be locked. I waited for a short time by myself in the dark ( never feeling unsafe, but none the less locked out) until one of the workers was leaving. So just be sure to remind the desk that you will be arriving late, so they look out for you. I will definitely come back ( in fact I can not wait to come back for a longer stay); I have already recommended Meson Panza Verde to traveling friends around the globe.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TinaTravelstheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Surprisingly not many travelers know Panza Verde exists... if they did I think they'd have booked here during their Antigua stay. This place is a gem... incredible restaurant, some of the only jazz found in Antigua, really unique boutique rooms, close to the centre of town and so well decorated... it feels like a true 5 star option, but at the same time it feels like you're one of the few people who gets to experience it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Landon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were a family of three with my husband and I occupying one room and our daughter a second room. We had a porch right outside our rooms with hammocks. My daughter's rooms were lovely with a high ceiling in the bathroom, and a sitting room in addition to her bedroom. Ours was more of a normal room, but still large and lovely. We were on the second floor. I did not hear any of the restaurant noise, but I must confess that I am a sleeping pill user, and also use "white noise". Our one dinner there was nice. Breakfast was nice, but it was the same for all or our 4 days there. It would have been nice to not have the exact same choices every day. The lady at the desk was very helpful when we asked her for help. I did notice that they didn't vacuum the stairs up to our rooms for 3 days, and they were quite in need of it. I can't comment on the value, since my husband booked them, but he thought it was appropriate enough to stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanMarietta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.6 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#7 of 75 in Antigua
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#6 of 75 in Antigua
794 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#5 of 75 in Antigua
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meson Panza Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meson Panza Verde

Address: 5 Av sur 19, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#5 Family Hotel in Antigua
#8 Business Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: £82 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meson Panza Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our inn has nine suites and three double rooms. Just beyond the entrance, there is an inviting central garden and fountain surrounded by a veranda that is quintessential Antigua. Our restaurant is considered one of the finest in the country. Its reputation for "international cuisine with a twist" has made it a favorite with Guatemalans and international travelers alike. Many consider Meson Panza Verde to be the preferred destination for their stay in Beautiful Spanish Colonial Antigua, the land of eternal spring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Meson Panza Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meson Panza Verde Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing