We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel”
Review of Posada Los Bucaros

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Posada Los Bucaros
Ranked #35 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This hotel was a great place to stay in Antigua - set back from the centre enough that you aren't going to be harrassed on your front step, but only a few minutes walk to the centre of town. There are also some good food options on the same street too so you needn't walk far if you're hungry!

I think we were probably meant to have a double bed (since we are a couple) but somehow ended up with two singles. We probably should have complained but we are terrible Gen Y travellers and had AMAZING wifi since the modem was outside our door so we decided to tough it out in a single bed for three nights in the interest of Facebook and email. Priorities!

The rooms were nice and clean, although the walls were paper thin so you could hear pretty much everything happening in the hotel! But we were so tired most nights this wasn't an issue. The shower as good but the bathroom does have a big sort of... open window (dont' know how to describe!) that meant all noises from the courtyard came into the bathroom... and possibly vice versa - I hope not :/

The gardens of the hotel were so lovely and there was even a little turtle roaming around!
The supplied water near reception so you could easily go and fill up the bottle they provided you with in your room. They also had self serve coffee there too which was a nice extra, plus we were greeted with delicious glasses of Jamaica on our arrival which was nice!

The hotel staff were so great at helping organise any tours too - really friendly.

We stayed here for three very comfortable nights in Antigua and I'd stay there again if I was to return :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed 2 nights (altho the second night we were moved to the sister hotel round the corner)

Positives
- Staff arranged volcano climb for the next morning, 10USD (+ guide/tip and park entrance, circa 10USD extra)
- Clean
- wifi ok
- Good location a few blocks from central area and market

Negatives
- Shower was electric, no pressure, limited temp
- Airport transfer offered by hotel was for 50USD, we just found a taxi at the airport for 20 USD

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bckirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is a beautiful hotel in a good location! Not far a walk from shops and restaurants, a few blocks more for some of the main sights in Antigua though! I stayed here on a group tour and we enjoyed this hotel. We even got welcome drinks on arrival which doesn't usually happen in the hotels we visited. The rooms were nice and comfortable with hot water. The courtyard is very beautiful and spanish colonial, and the staff are very helpful and make sure the hotel is very secure. There is always someone on the front desk even at all hours of the morning. The only thing i didn't like was that the rooms didn't really have any windows or natural light coming in. It made an otherwise nice room feel a little couped up. Otherwise good value hotel for the price you pay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bowlie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

We were here as part of a tour. Nice B&B in fairly central location. Staff were really helpful
Coffee & water is freely available (complementary). Our room was basic but clean.
Comfortable public areas to hang around.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank welshtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a group tour. Good rooms even though a but squashy. Clean bathrooms.
Downside is guests congregating in the hallway can be very loud.
Slightly off from the town centre but within walking distance to the Central Park in town.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank melbourne101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I totally enjoyed my stay at Posada Los Bucaros. Reasonable rates, clean nice rooms with hot showers, beautiful little grounds and the staff was friendly and helpful in every way. I would recommend coming here if you want to save money and be able to walk into town to enjoy beautiful Antigua. Good complimentary coffee every morning. The hotel is safe and has locked doors at all times. Nice little courtyards for hanging out in between outings.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donmickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

In reading this review, first remember what the room rate (fairly inexpensive)
Positives:
Great staff, english speaking very helpful with everything from taxis, wine glasses to calling local vendors Quaint court yards, nice decorations, very clean, safe, doors locked at all times. Free pure water and coffee. Free WIFI, Close but not too close to town center. Breakfast is a good deal

Think about
Each bathroom has a 2 foot decorative hole about 10 feet up that opens directly into the courtyard, no glass, you hear everyone else's bathroom and they can hear you.
It is very very noisy, bring ear plugs. The desk staff try to keep guest quiet, but it is difficult.
The beds are hard
The shower is inconsistent in pressure and temparature.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 and 11. Although room 1 has no windows it was much quieter. The second floor wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diverOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Cristina
Hotel Casa Cristina
#17 of 75 in Antigua
430 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
#51 of 75 in Antigua
122 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel El Virrey
Hotel El Virrey
#48 of 75 in Antigua
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#6 of 75 in Antigua
342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#46 of 75 in Antigua
256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#26 of 75 in Antigua
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Los Bucaros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Los Bucaros

Address: 7 Av. Norte 94, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Antigua
#7 Business Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: £21 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Posada Los Bucaros Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing