We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid tours; go on your own terms”

Jade Maya - The Original Jade factory and Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$80.00*
and up
Shore Excursion: Antigua Sightseeing Tour from Puerto Quetzal
Ranked #2 of 35 Shopping in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our company has evolved as a leader in reintroducing Maya jade to the world through the discovery, mining and working of Guatemala's fine jadeite jade. Guatemala shares with Myanmar (formerly Burma) the distinction of being one of the world's major sources of this fine stone. Jades S.A., now Jade Maya, made the decision to re-establish a jade carving industry in Guatemala and opened its doors in the 1970's and remains the largest jade operation in Central and South America. Jade Maya is a totally integrated jade company founded in 1974 by archaeologist Mary Lou Rindinger and her husband Jay Ridinger. We mine fine jadeite jade which is found mainly in Guatemala and Burma, but valued throughout the world. The source discovered and used by Jade Maya, are the same used by the Ancient Maya people of Mesoamerica. The jade is cut and polished in our factory by native Guatemalan workers who are recovering and preserving the carving traditions of their ancestors. The raw jade is transformed into pre-Columbian style museum quality replicas and exquisite handmade unique fine fashion jewelry. All finished products go directly into our showroom, wisely avoiding the middleman and providing a superior product at a superior price. Jade Maya presently has eight shops in Guatemala, our main showroom and factory is located at 4a. Calle Oriente No. 34, Antigua Guatemala, Central America.
Hope Valley, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Avoid tours; go on your own terms”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We hired a tour guide to show us around the city. He took us to the Jade factory. It was beautiful and interesting, but completely geared around sales. We were a group of 10 people and once led into the showroom were surrounded by a large staff asking us questions and pushing sales.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    70
    27
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nothing Genuine”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

There are no genuine artifacts here. They have an interesting explanation and display of the significance of jade to the ancient Maya culture, but this is basically a big jewelry store of modern jewelry.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GRAwanderingCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fascinating Artifacts and Quality Jade”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Be sure to walk all the way through to the back of this multi-roomed store and museum. Of course the display cases with items for sale are up front, but what awaits in the back areas are of amazing quality and historical interest. The staff members were all friendly and very accommodating. We purchased a lovely pair of earrings that were of excellent quality and reasonably priced.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust2travlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Worth a stop”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Part of our walking tour, but an interesting stop. The staff in the jewelry store are very professional and accommodating without being pushy. We returned to do more shopping later in the week because of their service!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank tajinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
134 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Little touristy but really enjoyable”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I was surprised how much I enjoyed this place. We passed by it numerous times and finally went in.. Very informative and fun. Be sure to watch the short film too. Granted they urge you to shop as well but it's a business not a public service and if you feel you can save $5 by searching it on Amazon then think about it this way. The extra fiver goes such a long way in helping these people and this lovely struggling country gain a foot hold of economic independence...skip a trip or two to Starbucks when you get home....they will never miss the money or you. Come home with a lovely jade trinket that will forever remind you of this great adventure.....am wearing mine now.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Squirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jade Maya - The Original Jade factory and Museum also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Jade Maya - The Original Jade factory and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing