We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place, good service, good price”
Review of Hotel Las Piletas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Las Piletas
Ranked #25 of 117 Speciality Lodging in Antigua
Reviewed 2 April 2014

La Piletas is a good choise when you're traveling on a budget. Rooms are small but clean and away from the noisy street. Staff is really helpfull, funny and speak good English. Also they can fix shuttel busses and tours. So go there!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WouterSchapink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

If you're on a budget, you can't beat this! The rooms are tiny(I had to sit sideways on the loo!)but it's super cheap and clean.....Alvaro the host is charming, friendly and a wealth of info providing tips etc on where to eat and he'll go out of his way to help you...he stored our backpacks for us when we took off for a one night trip to Lake Atitlan. The location is good, close to Park Centrale and suited our needs perfectly. Also had a small but cute central courtyard.

Room Tip: Top floor, furthest from the spiral staircase
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The boy at the desk extremely helpful and friendly.Nice small courtyard outside the rooms to chill.Room nice but advertised as having wardrobe and there was none.Dont stay in room 6,the metal stairs is right outside window and is really noisy when someone walks on it.My friend and I paid Q600 between us for 3 nights,no breakfast included so this is more expensive than other choices.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahdunne46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This hotel would barely rate a mention if not for the owner- Alvaro. It is a budget hotel with small rooms and probably the smallest bathrooms ever but located a couple of blocks from the main street. It is set on a road frequented by busses so can be noisy in the early hours of the morning. Though all this seem irrelevant, Alvaro and his staff more than make up for any limitations. They booked all the tours we wanted to do, ringing around and getting the best price for us and Alvaro also made excellent recommendations for restaurants and the best breakfast haunts. They were happy to store our luggage for us, it was the end of a couple of months travelling so we were beginning to accumulate a lot of wonderful Guatemalan fabrics etc - so we used this hotel as a base to explore the last of Guatemala - to head up to Coban and surrounds, then return to the hotel, then head West and to the Lake and Monterrico and finally return for the 3rd stay at this hotel before flying home. We felt like valued guests in a family home rather than a hotel, thank you Alvaro and staff for making us feel so at home. If you are looking for a budget hotel, don't miss this one!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blodster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The hotel has tiny rooms, but the location and the incredibly helpful owner, Alvaro, more than make up for the small rooms. Alvaro helped us with seeing the city on foot, giving great advice on where to eat, buy groceries, places to see and tours to take. His staff is also very pleasant giving the feeling of being a guest, not at a hotel.

Recommendations: bring a set of earplugs as hotel has street noise and can have common area noise (we bring earplugs to all hotels).

With the shower, set with a small amount of water as the heater is on demand and if you push too much pressure through it, you won;t get the hot water you desire.

We will return to this place.

Room Tip: Rooms come with two singles or a double bed. We booked easily through the facebook page.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

I would like to start by emphasising that this budget hotel has a very friendly and helpful day manager (Don Alvaro) and great night staff. They were willing to help when our 9 sqrm room (including a tiny shower) felt horribly damp and stuffy. Unfortunately there was not much they could do. Our room (two small single beds and no wardrobe) was on the ground floor, so we couldn't leave the window open (no security screen or bars on the window frame). Even after two quick showers the room was unpleasantly humid.

The hotel is reasonably well located, it felt safe and clean. However, we had the opportunity to go back there (on our second stay in Antigua) and we did not go back.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Monstita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Excellent location. Room is spotless. Sheets on bed were embroderied. Courtyard is beautiful. It reminded me of a New Orleans secret garden. Bathroom is very tiny, with just enough room to move. Very safe and friendly staff. Minimal english spoken, yet very helpful. It will definately be the place we stay on our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ctip6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#46 of 75 in Antigua
250 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.4 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#65 of 75 in Antigua
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#28 of 75 in Antigua
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Yellow House
The Yellow House
#11 of 117 in Antigua
536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#49 of 75 in Antigua
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Piletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Piletas

Address: 7a. Calle Oriente 6, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 117 Speciality Lodging in Antigua
Price Range: £28 - £352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Las Piletas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Las Piletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing