We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Menta Antigua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Menta Antigua
Ranked #39 of 126 Antigua B&B and Inns
1 review
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Casa Menta was easily the best place we stayed at in over a year of traveling and we highly recommend it. Staying with Miwa and Kohei felt like staying with friends, but at the same time they run their Casa Menta professionally. We had a great time with them and their house is beautiful. Spacious, nice interior, clean, good beds and great value. Organic "make yourself breakfast" is included and some organic shampoo, that smelt great. It was so good we extended from two to seven nights. We hope to stay at Casa Menta again soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
12
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

This place is AMAZING...
I booked in for a week and stayed for nearly a month!

It's a combination of a boutique hotel and a family home - goodness knows how Miwa and Kohei created such a perfect combination but thank goodness they did!

Miwa and Kohei are the perfect hosts. They made me feel like part of the family. They gave me lots of information about things to do in Antigua. We shared meals together and we exchanged cooking tips and ideas as well as exchanged items from our organic vegetable delivery!
Oh yes, they arranged for me to have organic vegetables delivered whilst I was there too!

The beds are comfortable (I stayed in 2 different rooms).
The pillows are comfortable
The towels are the whitest and fluffiest I have ever seen - they'd put a 5 star hotel to shame!
Plenty of hot water in the shower.
Lovely and quiet - don't come here to party.
A place to relax.
Rooftop and gardens and living room - plenty of space to relax or socialise with other guests.
Free wifi.
Fully equipped kitchen.
Log fire for the colder evenings.
Comfortably and beautifully decorated.
8 minute walk to Parque Central..
6 minute walk to Antigua gym.
15 minute walk to Muay Thai Boxing Centre.
15 minute walk to Healing Hands Therapy Spa.
45 minute walk to the amazing freshwater swimming pools.

A real home away from home.

Room Tip: The cheapest room is very small but has an ensuite bathroom. The most expensive room is very large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MagicDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013 via mobile

Casa menta would have to be up there with one of the nicest places we have stayed in 9 months of traveling. I would class this as a boutique hotel. It is so much different to a room that is let out in someone's house. You can tell instantly that Miwa and Kohe have designed this house specifically with the traveller in mind and with 3 living areas, an amazing kitchen, roof top terrace, back yard and front yard you will not be disappointed.

Everything is brand new or stylishly antique from the furniture to the high quality pots and pans. And the house is just beautiful, very close to the centro but as quiet as if it was in the bush.

Also Miwa and Kohe are the best hosts, very knowledgable and helpful. After 9 months of traveling we enjoy cooking some of our own meals and Miwa took us to the market so we could buy meat and veges knowing they are safe to eat and that restauranteurs buy their meat from the same shop.

The house has 4 bedrooms in total and we loved the atmosphere there. We made some lovely friends and the house is perfect for socializing or relaxing on the roof top if you need time out. We were at Casa Menta for a week and joined in a pot luck dinner with Miwa and some friends and also had a BBQ on our last night in the back yard.

Our room had a private bathroom and was a smaller sized room more to the side of the house. This was fine for us but if you like bigger rooms you could book one of the larger rooms. Our shower had an electric shower head but it was the best electric shower we have had. Safe. And hot.

Stay here and you will not be disappointed, until you have to leave and check into new accommodation, which is happening to us as I write this review.


  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

I stumbled upon this treasure of a B&B on Airbnb and had a positive impression of the place even before the two of us set foot in Antigua. Miwa replied swiftly and helpfully to all of my messages and even set up an airport pickup. We were sold as soon as we got out of the taxi; Casa Menta is gorgeous and well-maintained, tidy and appealing. The location is terrific, just a short walk from the center of the city, in a safe area. There's a self-service breakfast too and full use of the kitchen. We stayed in the room with a private bathroom, complete with comfy double bed. You're welcome to chill in the living room, in the backyard, or on the roof. After traveling throughout Guatemala, Casa Menta remained one of our favorite accommodations!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank guavasorbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
213 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

We were lucky to have found this place on airbnb. The colonial house looks fantastic, and Miwa and Kohei have repaired and decorated it with love and attention to detail. The house is also really big (especially for our European standards). The hosts provide drinking water and breakfast, and if the great restaurants of Antigua don't appeal for you for some reason, you can also use the kitchen to cook your own meals.
Great experience all in all, we loved it!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soturimimmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

I really liked staying at Casa Menta. It's located only a few blocks from the central park and I could easily get around the city. The host is a young Japanese couple. They helped me arrange all what I needed such as private cabs to and from the airport, tours to local areas, etc. They are very nice and helpful. The room is spacious and nice also. I stayed there for a week and felt very comfortable like my home!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miki198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

Wow, what a wonderful B & B, this place only has 3 bedrooms so you have to book ahead of time. The bedrooms are clean, spacious and comfortable, the bed has toiletries and an extra blanket on it. It includes breakfast and you can use the kitchen at any time. There is a wonderful garden which has herbs and a lemon tree in it and the hosts offered for us to help ourselves to them.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
#43 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
14.2 mi away
Casa Santo Domingo
Casa Santo Domingo
#6 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monasterio
Hotel Monasterio
#42 of 126 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sangha Hostel
Sangha Hostel
#43 of 100 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal El Pasar de los Anos
Hostal El Pasar de los Anos
#46 of 100 in Antigua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Menta Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Menta Antigua

Property: Casa Menta Antigua
Address: Ave. Sur 4a, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Menta Antigua is the first eco-friendly share house in Antigua, Guatemala. We are located in center of Antigua with safe and quiet neighborhood. with a nice garden, patio, and antique interiors. We use organic items and local products as much as we can. Here is a little bit of information about our house. -Located 3 blocks from Central Park (5 min. walk) 
-Living room with a chimney and comfortable sofa 
 -Kitchen with 4 stoves, toaster, microwave, mixer, blender, coffee machine, and refrigerator 
-2 gardens with a lemon tree and varieties of herb 
-Internet wifi available -Parking space with a roof (Please let us know in advance) ⁃Tea and coffee at anytime 
* Self service breakfast available with whole wheat bread, egg, and coffee which are all organic and locally made. We also offer hand made jam with seasonal fruits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Menta Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing