We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best guesthouse in Antigua”
Review of Casa Menta Antigua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Menta Antigua
Ranked #38 of 130 Antigua B&B and Inns
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best guesthouse in Antigua”
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Casa Menta is run by a friendly couple and immaculately clean. Located just south of the parque central, the location couldn't be better.

If you want a centrally located quiet place to stay in Antigua, you won't find a better place and certainly won't beat the price!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
12
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014

when we arrived we knew we got right place,miwa and kohei cared for us and entertained us in the best way. they are very nice and open mind, and always willing to answer any questions. Care and hospitality from the heart. Thank you. Miss and hope to return soon

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anais A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I support what others have written about how welcoming it is to stay in Miwa and Kohei's home. The space is gorgeous- a lot of open air space between the back yard and garden and the lovely roof deck. The house is very comfortable and such a treat to truly share someone's home while traveling. Miwa and Kohei are very helpful in answering all kinds of questions. The location is very convenient to the main square/park and it's easy to get around Antigua from here. I communicated with Miwa through the Casa Menta Antigua facebook page, which was super easy. She was quick to respond and I suggest checking out the facebook page in general as it has more pictures and great comments from past guests. The filtered water, coffee and eggs/toast for breakfast were really nice additions not found at other guest houses on my trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in Casa Menta for a few nights in August 2013. I was attracted to Casa Menta by the owners' support for local businesses and their commitment to local agriculture. The house was lovely, clean, peaceful, and in a perfect location a few blocks from Antigua's central plaza, and Miwa and Kohei were fun, helpful, accommodating, and very responsive throughout the booking process and beyond. This was actually the second time I tried to stay at Casa Menta. The first time, in April of this year, though they didn't have any rooms available, Miwa and Kohei talked to other guesthouse-owning friends of theirs on my behalf to see if they had any space in their homes. We would absolutely return again. Thank you, Miwa and Kohei, for your hospitality (and the arugula blossoms)!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulianaQM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We spent two nights in this wonderful house in Antigua. The location is great, just a couple of blocks from the main square. Miwa and Kohei are so welcoming and I have to mention their gorgeous dog Coco! We had the best coffee of our trip here and there is also complimentary water, eggs and toast. We also had hot water, proper full length towels and lovely shampoo and soap.
We had to get a shuttle on our last morning at 4.00 and Miwa and Coco got up with us and waited with us for twenty minutes until our shuttle came. We were very touched by how thoughful this was so thank you Miwa! Catherina and Oisin.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Don`t come here, better stay away. As I wouldn't like it to get more difficult to book ;) Perfect place, with perfect hosts and great atmosphere, nothing more to say. It was a highlight of our trip to Guatemala. Miwa san and Kohei san thank you for the time you generously shared with us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marekr659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Tx
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

The owners of the Casa Menta guesthouse are really what makes the place. They are so friendly and generous with their time. They give good and honest recommendations on activities, restaurants, etc.
I had the opportunity to stay here for several weeks and the house itself is as great as the owners. Two gardens, a roof deck and beautifully decorated indoor space. Staying here is so much more than just getting a room to sleep in.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
14.2 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#59 of 75 in Antigua
170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#30 of 75 in Antigua
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#46 of 75 in Antigua
245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#51 of 75 in Antigua
113 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Yellow House
The Yellow House
#11 of 105 in Antigua
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Menta Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Menta Antigua

Property: Casa Menta Antigua
Address: Ave. Sur 4a, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Menta Antigua is the first eco-friendly share house in Antigua, Guatemala. We are located in center of Antigua with safe and quiet neighborhood. with a nice garden, patio, and antique interiors. We use organic items and local products as much as we can. Here is a little bit of information about our house. -Located 3 blocks from Central Park (5 min. walk) -Living room with a chimney and comfortable sofa -Kitchen with 4 stoves, toaster, microwave, mixer, blender, coffee machine, and refrigerator -2 gardens with a lemon tree and varieties of herb -Internet wifi available -Parking space with a roof (Please let us know in advance) ⁃Tea and coffee at anytime * Self service breakfast available with whole wheat bread, egg, and coffee which are all organic and locally made. We also offer hand made jam with seasonal fruits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Menta Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing