We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing!”
Review of Hotel Sor Juana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sor Juana
Ranked #3 of 130 Antigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“amazing!”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This place is truly amazing. You are not a guest at a hotel. You are known by name. They know your schedule and help you plan around your shuttle pick ups, etc. If you are leaving really early in the morning and can't make the beautiful breakfast on the roof, they have delicious food ready for you in a brown bag. I mean, we opened the door, said good morning, and they handed us bags and water. You could not possibly ask for more than that.

Every single person was polite and friendly. Julio talked to us every morning about our day, what he recommended around the city. We had a small incident with a broken safe and they fixed it quickly and with such little intrusion.

We ended up staying in two different rooms because we checked out for one night and then checked back in. Surprisingly, the rooms each have different layouts and different charm. Our first room had an amazing balcony off of the loft (it had 3 beds - one king on the first floor and two twins in the loft area). The second room had an entirely different feel, but was still beautiful and quaint. There are trees and plants everywhere, and a nice fountain that you can hear outside of the rooms.

Anyway. We will stay here when we visit Antigua next. There is no doubt about that.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sotev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
71
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I had a lovely couple of nights stay at Sor Juana. The whole team made me feel instantly welcome. I loved the room and terrace with volcano views for breakfast and a lazy afternoon glass of wine over a book! The team made some great recommendations for activities/food etc and helped with transfers which all went smoothly. A charming & peaceful place to stay in a beautiful laidback city. Though small, the friendliness makes it perfect for the solo traveler (and more...).

Room Tip: I stayed in a suite that was to be honest way to big for me on my own, but beautifully decorated. L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellokatieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

One could not ask for a nicer hotel in Antigua! The unassuming exterior of this appropriately deemed "boutique hotel" opens to an exquisite courtyard with lush gardens, fruit trees and fountains. Rooms are around the perimeter of the courtyard and though I stayed in the Master Suite, presumably each is just as spacious. The attention to detail and aesthetic design is absolutely top-notch in the room with amazing linens and artistic decor. Owner, Julio, has truly created a space that is indicative of "home." The bathroom was quite luxurious with a tiled soaking tub. All of the staff was exceptionally kind and helpful. If had time permitted, I would have gladly spent an entire day relaxing in the courtyard chatting with the manager, Alejandro. ¡Próxima vez!

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank sivartyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater NY
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The minute you walk in the door, you become family. Every one of the staff at Sor Juana knows your name, greets you coming and going, and always offers assistance - water, wine, directions, recommendations for what to see and do and where to shop and eat. The rooms are adequate, clean and charming, but the rooftop terrace is terrific. You don't need to go to a rooftop restaurant to enjoy the view. You can enjoy a book, yoga, a glass of wine (or all three) on the roof of Sor Juana and feel embraced by the volcanos and hills. (Breakfast is served on the rooftop terrace as well.) The sunsets were most magnificent! For solo travelers: The hotel is secure; there is someone there at all times, and the main door is always locked.
Thank you to Julio and the staff at Sor Juana for a lovely week!

Room Tip: I had one of the two basic rooms, but was able to peak into the suites - which naturally are larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jardinpared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Outstanding hotel- beautiful architecture, decorations, lovely room and an awesome rooftop terrace. The breakfast was huge and delicious- ham/cheese omelette, fruit, juice, bread, tea/coffee. The location is about 7 blocks off the main plaza which makes for about a 10 min walk, but it is a very quiet location for restful sleep!


  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Alexia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

We were in Antigua for a conference and stayed at Hotel Sor Juana. It is a charming little Inn with five rooms. The staff is excellent, and always seeking to serve. The owner is very friendly and gracious. The rooms are large and everything works great. Wifi good. Terraza is awesome...my favorite hangout place with hummingbirds buzzing around the flowers in the morning and a great cup of Antigua coffee while reading the Word. One of our colleagues was ill with vertigo and the staff went to the pharmacia and brought medicine back and just put the charges to the room bill. Where do you find that service anywhere? Precioso.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed a Sor Juana for our first 4 nights in Guatemala. It was the most beautiful place we stayed for the whole of our 3 week trip, we liked it so much that we decided to go back at the end of our trip too. Julio is wonderful and very helpful as were the rest if the staff. We felt looked after and so relaxed. I can't wait to go back there another time. We loved Guatemala and staying at Sor Juana made the trip even better, it's just beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lydloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#8 of 75 in Antigua
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 75 in Antigua
304 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
858 reviews
0.4 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#22 of 75 in Antigua
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sor Juana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sor Juana

Property: Hotel Sor Juana
Address: 4ta Calle Oriente # 45, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sor Juana 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Sor Juana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing