We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Epic views of Antigua ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cerro de la Cruz

Cerro de la Cruz
Book In Advance
More Info
US$39.00*
and up
Vol­can de Agua and El Hato Tour from Antigua
Ranked #8 of 80 things to do in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Kentucky
Level Contributor
293 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Epic views of Antigua ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Put this visit at the top of your list when in Antigua. The views stay with you forever and the possibilities for photos with your groups are endless. It's also good to see how the city between the 3 majestic volcanos towering above.

Helpful?
Thank KentuckyGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    288
    89
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Despite some opposition in our group due to rumored security issues, I insisted we give the hike a try. And everyone was so thankful that I did. The view was breathtaking. Due to the age/health of some of our groups, we took a taxi up the mountain, we were dropped up approx 50 yards from the cross. Security was definitely not an issue - there were several cops around. Worth the hike, or taxi ride. How you get there doesn't matter - just go see it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great start to a walking tour on a sunny day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We followed the Antigua walking tour provided in the Lonely Planet Guatemala, and started here. We took a tuk tuk up to save our energy, and spent about an hour enjoying the view, taking pictures, and hanging out. It is really lovely on a clear day when you can see the volcano. The walk down through the woods is cool and peaceful, it feels far away from the city.
The rest of the walking tour is cool too, by the way! We did get distracted by markets and soccer games towards the end but it was still a good loop.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Namastekelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Must do in Antigua”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Great place to walk to to enjoy the view and take some pictures. To get here, just go to 1a avenida norte and keep walking north. Once you pass the basketball court with the ruin behind it, keep walking up the hill. About 200 meters after the basketball court, you'll see a set of stairs to your left... these lead up to the cross.
Be careful at sunset!!! You should visit here during the day. Especially during high season of tourism, there have been robberies and rapes here after dark. The police patrol the area until sundown, so do not stay here after dark!, and definitely go before sunset in case! During the day, it is safe, so don't let that deter you from visiting!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Landon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
235 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Interesting to see, and a nice walk down”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I didn't realize until a month after our return that we were advised to have a police escort to go there! We took a cab, and then walked down. It was nice to see. There is probably almost always a haze from the top, but if there wasn't, the views would be great.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoanMarietta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cerro de la Cruz also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Cerro de la Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing