We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice View” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cerro de la Cruz

Cerro de la Cruz
Book In Advance
More Info
US$39.00*
and up
Vol­can de Agua and El Hato Tour from Antigua
Ranked #8 of 80 things to do in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Nice View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

318 Steps to the top, 100% worth it. An incredible view an easy scenic climb. Look for the cell tower designed to look like a real tree. Why are we doing that everywhere.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    288
    89
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Night-time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

OK, I know I shouldn't say this but this is the most amazing place to visit at Night. Just carry your handgun with you because it's a bit shady of a walk through the forest to get there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Showmeforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just go!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I lived in Antigua for a couple years, and I went here soooo many times. The first time, of course, was for the awesome view. But I also went a few times a week for exercise. Sometimes I would go alone, sometimes with a friend, sometimes I'd bring a friend's dog. Don't be scared away by all the stuff you hear about it not being safe and not to go. Just use common sense! Don't go before the sun is out, and don't go after the sun goes down! Pay attention to who is behind you, in front of you, in the trees, etc. Obviously, it is best to go with a group of people. There are usually 2-3 police scattered about up there (though not all police are "good" police.) I never felt scared when I was up there. So definitely go up to the cross. It only takes maybe 10 min or so to go up there (there are cement steps/path).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lindsita726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
293 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Epic views of Antigua ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Put this visit at the top of your list when in Antigua. The views stay with you forever and the possibilities for photos with your groups are endless. It's also good to see how the city between the 3 majestic volcanos towering above.

Helpful?
Thank KentuckyGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Despite some opposition in our group due to rumored security issues, I insisted we give the hike a try. And everyone was so thankful that I did. The view was breathtaking. Due to the age/health of some of our groups, we took a taxi up the mountain, we were dropped up approx 50 yards from the cross. Security was definitely not an issue - there were several cops around. Worth the hike, or taxi ride. How you get there doesn't matter - just go see it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cerro de la Cruz also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Cerro de la Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing