We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisy and unfriendly”
Review of Villa Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Colonial
Ranked #36 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We had 1 disappointing night at the hotel. The rooms are cold and dark with very uncomfortable beds and pillows, The bathroom is cold. The food is ok but while we had breakfast included, the breakfast buffet was NOT included. At the price OUTRAGEOUS! The hotel is in a terrible location: too far from anywhere. The pool is cold and small. There is better for charm, OR luxury OR authenticity OR value. Would not stay there again

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomSonntag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2012

the location and the exterior are excellent. The garden is very nice, the restaurant has a view of the volcanoes (one of which were quite active). The rooms need refurbishing (the bathtub was rusted)ç

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buciIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

I spent first night in Guatemala at this hotel, it felt like going back in time to colonial era when we arrived in the evening. The layout is really unusual, like a village and you just can't stop wandering around the complex for a while. The hotel itself is a bit away from Antigua Guatemala centre, rooms were clean, decorated as well in colonial style, but don't expect good soundproofing. If you have bad luck, this can be an issue (not in my case). Staff was accomodating, buffet breakfast reaching maximum 3 stars with no option of ordering a proper espresso coffee (although Antigua Guatemala is one of the best regions for growing finest Arabica coffee beans in the world). But this applies to almost all places I visited in Guatemala, Belize and Mexiko recently. So to sum it up - you won't go wrong with this hotel, but there are surely better places to stay in Antigua Guatemala.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin_NR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

The Hotel Villa Colonial is an odd one: it has a rustic, village lay-out and all rooms are in a kind of cottage. I believe they're all different. The hotel is a bit of a walk from the town centre (around 20 minutes), which makes it better for an event than for tourism, I guess, which seems to be its main purpose anyway. Our event was taken care of very well. Breakfast is fine, as is food in general. Service is generally very friendly.

I would stay again, depending on the circumstances.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moritz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

This hotel is part of a chain of 5, we stayed in 3 of them, including Lake Atitlan and Flores. It is a walk out of the centre (20+ minutes). It is delightfully maintained and the staff are very friendly. The inner courtyard is beautiful. I would advise that you ask for an inner room, for both size and peace, as the outer ones do suffer from some road noise if you are a light sleeper. The restaurant is more than adequate and breakfast and evening meals were well presented. Meals could have been a little more "exciting" but that is the worst I can find to comment on. There are safety deposit boxes in reception, although the hotel is gated and surrounded by high walls, so is a perfect haven. We stayed there twice during our tour of the country and enjoyed it a lot.

Room Tip: Get an inner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KandCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

A great layout like a village - cozy charming buildings with a beautiful large garden.
The staff are really great to every one incl.the management ,all helpful and friendly.
the bath rooms need an upgrades.Our room had small openings between walls and ceilings - any sound from the outside came through to the room. They do not have a bar area either a lounge to sit for a chat. At pm: 9:00 the hotel close down.Then you have the room with a stone age small television no space for chairs,just the bed,3 lamps with little lights and a small corner cabinet with 4 hangers.For a 12 days stay it was a less great experince.For a short stay this hotel is OK.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tommyOttawa058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

The Villa Colonial is build up like a small village with a small street and two stories houses painted in a guatemalan colour palette and with colourful flowers hanging and growing all over. Beautiful garden and perfect restaurant area with view over the garden. Incredible staff, very attentive in all ways. ( About 50 rooms, but doe not feel like there are many guests).

Rooms are spacious enough, rustic style with furniture in dark wood with nice carvings. Beds are a bit on the hard and short side, and my feet were sticking out of the bed. There is Internet ( may be slightly unstable, but worked almost always), the television is placed in a comfortable height on the desk in front of bed (not in the roof corner as in many hotel rooms), the water in the shower is hot and good and bathroom spacious. A very simple, but ok hairdryer in the room

The weather in August mens sunny or cloudy days with rain in afternoons. Textiles in rooms may feel a little humid. It can get cold, I recommend that you should ask for an extra blanket (or two, as I did). Also, although I like being eco conscious and perhaps use my towels twice, I do not recommend it here as wet textile does not dry well or at all.

The location can be either good or bad depending on what you like. It's perfect for conference as it's located just outside town. Gets people to stay on the premises and get to know each other more, but difficult to take a break in the town center if you only have one hour break. Also, if you like it quiet, and don't have to go out every night, it's a god place. However, after dark, a taxi may be recommended.

Takes only 5-10 min. to walk to the centre, which for me is just a nice walk. But if you carry stuff, have trouble walking, taxi is recommended. (From the center to hotel, you can get a cab for 25/30 quetzals).

I had planned to shift the hotel after the conference to stay on, but when checking other hotels for rooms available (my favorite place did not have rooms available), I felt that many of other hotel rooms too small and expensive, too noisy or too full of backpackers or not so good value. Besides. I had come to like this place, despite the short and hard bed, and staff were so great, so I decided just to stay here.

Family friendly as children will have plenty of place to run around.

And you must have "the antigüeña" for breakfast!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Passport007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Casa del Parque
Hotel Casa del Parque
#35 of 75 in Antigua
226 reviews
0.6 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#7 of 75 in Antigua
774 reviews
0.8 mi away
Soleil La Antigua
Soleil La Antigua
#19 of 75 in Antigua
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#4 of 75 in Antigua
421 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#24 of 75 in Antigua
195 reviews
0.7 mi away
Real Plaza Hotel Suites
Real Plaza Hotel Suites
#39 of 75 in Antigua
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Colonial

Address: Alameda Del Calvario 28, Antigua, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range: £82 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Colonial Hotel Antigua
Colonial Hotel Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing