We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in This City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada La Merced Antigua
Ranked #24 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Our 21 member group spent two nights in this little gem. The small, but nicely decorated and clean rooms were in the first floor gorgeous courtyards. Yes, the bathrooms are small, but very clean.

The location is great and the front desk help of Jorge and Jimmy could not have been better. They were so kind and helpful.

We ate breakfast next door at Fernando's Kaffee (One of my favorite places in Antigua).

The price of this hotel is so reasonable for its beauty, charm, and quietness.

WE WILL BE BACK AGAIN AND RECOMMEND THIS LITTLE GEM TO ALL.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2013

After living in Antigua for two years and returning for a vacation I found Posada La Merced a perfect choice. They have lots of rooms and beautiful courtyards. It is difficult to find something as centrally located, safe, and comfortable in Antigua for the price of La Posada. There was always someone at the front desk who wa knowledgeable and helpful. Great choice for a mid-budget vacation or big groups.

Room Tip: Well, as anywhere in the world---if you want a quiet room ask for one furthest away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackiesuepowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Enjoyed the quiet hotel.. I think only 3 other guests were there. We stayed by the court yard and was cool at night...The hotel staff were wonderful..Dont speak alot of English, but had someone who translated. Was right next door to a great coffee and breakfast place. And walking distance to center of market...Would go back in a heart beat...

Room Tip: I liked the room by the court yard..>Got a little warm but by morning it was nice....Maybe stay i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidchouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

The best aspect of this place is the very knowledgeable and helpful front desk staff, especially brothers Jorge and Jimmy. They were able to arrange everything from tours to massages, and I am convinced that their prices are among the fairest and most reasonable in town with no attempt to gouge tourists (for example, private airport transport for four people was $40, while another Posada we stayed in up the road charged $50 for the same trip). Be sure to book in advance, as this place is often full!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dakm108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed here when we first arrived in Guatemala at the beginning of January. The pick-up service from the airport wasn't great as we had to wait for almost an hour but once we arrived at the hotel, we received a great service.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. We booked a trip to the Pacaya volcano and our transfer to Flores with the reception desk after comparing other prices in town and got competitive prices from the hotel every time. All of these services were great and on time.
The hotel provides unlimited purified water to its guests which is great and has good safety boxes for your valuables.
The roof terrace gives you a great view of Antigua.
The rooms are basic but very clean. Only issue are the somewhat thin walls. Luckily there weren't many people staying near us when we were there so it wasn't a big issue for us.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dani2376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I was at the tail end of a fabulous visit to Guatemala when I caught some virus and ended up sick as a dog. It was my morning to check out, and when I went to the front desk to explain the situations and ask for a room for the day, they were not only accomodating, but also fixed me herbal teas and other concoctions from their garden to settle my stomach. The cleaning staff, manager and even the owner of the hotel checked on me the same way my momma would have!

While customer service like this is priceless, the rooms are definitely priced for budget traveler. I have stayed in many hotels in the Antigua area over the years and would agree with other posters who have said that the rooms are simple, clean, and adequate for a place to rest. It's not fair to compare this to some of the more expensive boutique/honeymoon hotels around town.

It's within walking distance (real "walking distance," not like some of the other hotels claim, though I guess they are right, since anywhere is "technically" walkable!) of the Parque Central, which is where you'll likely spend much of your time in Antigua. It's also far enough away that you can escape the nightlife if you want to.

Customer service + budget = La Merced

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thinkdreambelieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights on 3 separate occasions throughout our trip. The first 2 nights were fine, very basic hotel that met all our needs, and the customer service was great. They helped set up a trip for us to Tikal, and transportation from the airport to the hotel, and to Pana.

Our second stay which was 2 nights was very different. We got stuck in a significantly smaller room for the same price. The full size bed in the room (there was also a single bed) was extremely worn out and was impossible to sleep on. The water pressure our second morning was non existent, it just trickled out of the shower head. Then our airport shuttle which we set up, and then gladly added another person to split the cost 3 ways instead of two, ended up having 4 people, which is fine, but we still paid for 2/3 of the cost instead of half of it.

Overall this hotel was fine, quality customer service, good location but the rooms are hit or miss.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Florencia Hotel
Casa Florencia Hotel
#29 of 75 in Antigua
412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#45 of 75 in Antigua
249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#25 of 75 in Antigua
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#27 of 75 in Antigua
427 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Cristina
Hotel Casa Cristina
#16 of 75 in Antigua
420 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Casona de Antigua
La Casona de Antigua
#12 of 75 in Antigua
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada La Merced Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada La Merced Antigua

Address: 7a Avenida Norte # 43, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Antigua
#22 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: £36 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Posada La Merced Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada La Merced Antigua Hotel Antigua
Posada La Merced Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing