We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada La Merced Antigua
Ranked #24 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I stay at this beautiful little hotel at least once a year when I visit Antigua. Jorge, the front desk clerk, and all other clerks are so nice, friendly, and helpful.

While the rooms cost $8-$10 more than comparable small hotels in town, they are immaculate and ALWAYS have plenty of hot water. The view of my beloved town from its terrace is one of the best in town. The back courtyard rooms ooze charm.

The manager is very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights and found it exactly as described on the website, very good value for a budget hotel and the staff were helpfull, the room was clean and pleasant, Wifi was free. there was a good roof terrace with a lovely view of the surrounding city and Volcanos an ideal place to start the day and chill in the early evening. Well placed the town square is a short walk and there are good restaurants within easy reach

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hugh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The three of us stayed in the apartment (2 bedrooms, large sitting room and too small bathroom) for 3 nights for a very reasonable price. As promised the hotel had a taxi meet us at the airport and transported us to the hotel. The staff was very nice, the place was clean and it was also very secure. It has WiFi (which does not work in the rooms), a small interior open garden and very friendly residents. It is located within walking distance of anything we wanted to see or do. It has a very nice atmosphere to it. Also it is probably a very good value. My only criticism is the size of the bathroom which was teeny to an extreme. I noticed that some of the rooms (we were in the apartment) also had small bathrooms. My impression is that they have many more residents on weekends and so it more noisy then. We were very happy with this choice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbrotman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Enjoyed a second stay here on a return trip to Guatemala with a work team. After a week in the mountains at a more rural hotel, this was a nice change of pace. The architecture and interior are wonderful, with a peaceful interior open garden. The location is handy to local shopping and dining, and the place seems to be secure. The rooms themselves are a bit sparse, but comfortable and clean. It's not the Ritz, but hey it's not South Beach either.

Room Tip: The rooms off the interior courtyard are a bit more isolated from the street noise, but returning vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brewski59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed a total of 4 nights at Posada La Merced Antigua and it was a great value. We were traveling on a budget but had to avoid hostels due to their smoking, noise levels, and overall cleanliness. Posada La Merced Antigua has a secure entrance much like all the high-end hotels in Antigua but doesn't cost $90US a night to stay there. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. Housekeeping was very prompt and accommodating. The courtyard is beautiful, especially at night when they light all the candles. There is a kitchen available for use with courtyard tables to sit at. There's a computer in the lobby but is very slow so if you need a fast computer i would recommend an internet cafe, there are several nearby. With that said, we had to print some important documents and used the hotel computer for that. It costs 1Q a page. We stayed 3 nights before moving on to flores and then we stayed one more night before we left Guatemala. It was like coming home. Great place at a great value. The rooftop is amazing if you catch the city after sundown. It's a little precarious getting up there so be alert and use caution with small children. see you next time Posada La Merced Antigua!

Room Tip: Front rooms have a great view of the street but can be noisy. Interior rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musicaltouristo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This was a great place to stay. It was very clean and comfortable. The staff was amazing. They could always answer my one-million questions I had, Jorge especially. He was always very nice and arranged a trip to Chichicastenango for my fiance and I. The rest of the staff was just as helpful. The location is perfect. You can walk to just about everything from this hotel. The terrace had an amazing view, we enjoyed going up there with coffee and just hanging out on their chair swings. The bed was comfortable. They have wi-fi and that was a big plus for us! I definately recommend this place to anyone who is going to Antigua.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luci T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Posada La Merced was simple, but very clean and comfortable. Who spends their vacation in their hotel room anyway? It was a perfect place to lay my head in between days of getting out and enjoying Antigua. Why pay more for a room you won't be spending much time in? It can be a bit noisy if people come in late at night. There is a rooftop with an awesome view. The best part is it is right next to Fernando's Coffee Shop, and not far from the center of town and the market.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Florencia Hotel
Casa Florencia Hotel
#28 of 75 in Antigua
418 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Casa Cristina
Hotel Casa Cristina
#17 of 75 in Antigua
424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#49 of 75 in Antigua
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#25 of 75 in Antigua
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#29 of 75 in Antigua
432 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Casona de Antigua
La Casona de Antigua
#12 of 75 in Antigua
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada La Merced Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada La Merced Antigua

Address: 7a Avenida Norte # 43, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Antigua
#22 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: £36 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Posada La Merced Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada La Merced Antigua Hotel Antigua
Posada La Merced Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing