We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally found peace and quiet in Antigua!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada La Merced Antigua
Ranked #23 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Finally found peace and quiet in Antigua!”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

When I called I inquired about a quiet room because I am a sensitive sleeper, even with earplugs. For ~$7USD more ($45.00/night), I was able to reserve a quiet room. Well worth it! It was an inner room. In general, this posada sits on a quieter street with a cafe next door and Spanish school across street. In short, no loud bars! Very clean rooms, hot water, and professional staff. I stayed only one night as they arranged shuttle for me to airport. By the way, it was cheaper for me to reserve shuttle at the Posada for Adrelina Tours (80Q) versus reserving it directly through Adrelina Tours in Xela (100Q). Collective van that takes folks to airport. Posada staff called and made reservation and then issued me reservation ticket on site for shuttle. While $45 seems a bit much just to get a quiet place to stay well worth it when I know I will get good night sleep, hot shower, private room and private bath!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XelaChivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    121
    34
    10
    3
See reviews for
41
72
57
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Love this place. Stayed for 4 days total. Great staff! Great location! I would recommend this place any day. Very convenient to everything in Antigua. I will be staying Here again! Very cool place! Rooftop deck too!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level 6 Contributor
820 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I stay at this beautiful little hotel at least once a year when I visit Antigua. Jorge, the front desk clerk, and all other clerks are so nice, friendly, and helpful.

While the rooms cost $8-$10 more than comparable small hotels in town, they are immaculate and ALWAYS have plenty of hot water. The view of my beloved town from its terrace is one of the best in town. The back courtyard rooms ooze charm.

The manager is very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights and found it exactly as described on the website, very good value for a budget hotel and the staff were helpfull, the room was clean and pleasant, Wifi was free. there was a good roof terrace with a lovely view of the surrounding city and Volcanos an ideal place to start the day and chill in the early evening. Well placed the town square is a short walk and there are good restaurants within easy reach

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hugh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The three of us stayed in the apartment (2 bedrooms, large sitting room and too small bathroom) for 3 nights for a very reasonable price. As promised the hotel had a taxi meet us at the airport and transported us to the hotel. The staff was very nice, the place was clean and it was also very secure. It has WiFi (which does not work in the rooms), a small interior open garden and very friendly residents. It is located within walking distance of anything we wanted to see or do. It has a very nice atmosphere to it. Also it is probably a very good value. My only criticism is the size of the bathroom which was teeny to an extreme. I noticed that some of the rooms (we were in the apartment) also had small bathrooms. My impression is that they have many more residents on weekends and so it more noisy then. We were very happy with this choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbrotman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Enjoyed a second stay here on a return trip to Guatemala with a work team. After a week in the mountains at a more rural hotel, this was a nice change of pace. The architecture and interior are wonderful, with a peaceful interior open garden. The location is handy to local shopping and dining, and the place seems to be secure. The rooms themselves are a bit sparse, but comfortable and clean. It's not the Ritz, but hey it's not South Beach either.

Room Tip: The rooms off the interior courtyard are a bit more isolated from the street noise, but returning vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brewski59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed a total of 4 nights at Posada La Merced Antigua and it was a great value. We were traveling on a budget but had to avoid hostels due to their smoking, noise levels, and overall cleanliness. Posada La Merced Antigua has a secure entrance much like all the high-end hotels in Antigua but doesn't cost $90US a night to stay there. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. Housekeeping was very prompt and accommodating. The courtyard is beautiful, especially at night when they light all the candles. There is a kitchen available for use with courtyard tables to sit at. There's a computer in the lobby but is very slow so if you need a fast computer i would recommend an internet cafe, there are several nearby. With that said, we had to print some important documents and used the hotel computer for that. It costs 1Q a page. We stayed 3 nights before moving on to flores and then we stayed one more night before we left Guatemala. It was like coming home. Great place at a great value. The rooftop is amazing if you catch the city after sundown. It's a little precarious getting up there so be alert and use caution with small children. see you next time Posada La Merced Antigua!

Room Tip: Front rooms have a great view of the street but can be noisy. Interior rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Musicaltouristo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#30 of 75 in Antigua
421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 75 in Antigua
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#46 of 75 in Antigua
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#27 of 75 in Antigua
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#22 of 75 in Antigua
436 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
#45 of 75 in Antigua
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada La Merced Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada La Merced Antigua

Property: Posada La Merced Antigua
Address: 7a Avenida Norte # 43, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Antigua
#22 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Posada La Merced Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada La Merced Antigua Hotel Antigua
Posada La Merced Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing