We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce Little Hotel with Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada La Merced Antigua
Ranked #22 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Our mission team group stayed here again this year. I love this little place. While the rooms are not big, they are nicely appointed with artwork and other touches. Yes, the bathrooms are small, but all 12 rooms had hot water. I love the back courtyard and the awesome view of the town from the terrace.

Jorge (and the rest of the staff) could not be more helpful and friendly. The price of the rooms are very reasonable for its location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
There are newer reviews for Posada La Merced Antigua
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

I stayed here on a group tour sharing a room with one other person.

While the room itself is nothing to write home about, the location is good and the rooftop is really lovely to hang out on. Be careful though, there's not much to stop you falling off the edge!

Good points
- Nice, central location, every easy and safe to walk everywhere from here.
- The views of the the city and volcano from the rooftop are so amazing! Take a glass of vino and go up there at 5pm every day to enjoy the sunset
- Decent, clean rooms
- Free computer/internet in the hall.

Bad points
- No external window, so the room is dark and looks out onto an internal courtyard. This also means you have to keep the curtains shut for any privacy!
- Tiny, tiny bathroom with a half size door. If you're a bit larger, you won't fit in there!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This was a very nice hotel, close to the square, nice rooms, and nice staff. The only problem we had was that the shower was not hot. We were with a group and this was true of several rooms. My suggestion is to ask the front desk about this when you check in.

Room Tip: Make sure you have hot water in the showers.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianegrace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We loved this place. It is clean, comfortable and the staff and owner are wonderful. We arrived in Guatemala City after 7pm and Jorge, who we had booked the hotel with, got us a private shuttle straight from the airport to Posada La Merced at a reasonable price. Thanks for being so great Jorge!

The rooms and bathrooms are small as mentioned in other reviews, but they have everything that you need. If you are visiting the beautiful city of Antigua, I can assure you that you won't be spending a lot of time in your room. With that said, the hotel itself is safe and absolutely charming. The gardens are beautiful and the view from the roof top can't be beat. We had coffee up there in the morning, with a view of a beautiful cathedral in one direction and smoking volcanoes in two other.

You can get bottles of wine and beer at the hotel at a reasonable price. In the later part of the evenings we brought bottles of wine to drink up on the rooftop. We met lots of great people hanging out up there. There is no railing so they have creatively used cacti to line the edges. You won't fall off!

The hotel can arrange any tours you want to do. We did the walking tour of Antigua with Elizabeth Bell. It was even better than we could have imagined. Do it if you can. Ms. Bell is the most knowledgeable person you are going to find on Antigua and Guatemala in general.

This hotel is completely central and it is easy to walk everywhere. I'm so glad that we picked this place. It is an absolute gem. Best of all is that it is located next to the restaurant "Fernando's" which has an amazing breakfast and even better coffee (which you can smell being freshly roasted on the hotel roof top in the mornings). The lattes are some of the best I have ever had. We bought the place out of medium roast coffee beans to take home. You will also get to meet the adorable Misha, resident cat and star of the show at Fernando's.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indigocat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Warm welcome and outstanding service here. Reasonable prices for a spotless and comfortable place to stay. Rooms vary by size and our last room--number 6 was perfect for two friends travelling! Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BackpackingNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. Front desk staff was extremely professional, courteous and helpful. Pretty, plant-filled central courtyard. Handy small kitchenette on the main floor if you are backpacking and/or like to prepare light meals. Amazing views from the roof-top patio-garden. Loved being up there. Definitely not child-safe or clumsy-safe as there are potted cacti everywhere and no railing around the edges. I take this to mean that they see their guests as competent adults.

We booked two 3rd floor rooms. It was quieter up there but the rooms were quite small. They were tidy but could have benefited from a fresh coat of paint. The rooms on the main floor seemed nicer from the glimpses I got into them. All rooms have windows that face into the central courtyard and slotted windows that don't quite seal. Basically, sound travels well throughout the hotel so if you are a light sleeper wear earplugs.

Walkable location. One of the loveliest cafes in Antigua (Fernando's) is right next door. We enjoyed staying at this inn.

Room Tip: bigger rooms may be on the main floor, quieter rooms seem to be on the higher floors
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meeeohhmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed a weekend in Posada La Merced in Antigua, Guatemala. We had a great time, the hotel has a great service and a very good location in Antigua, just a few blocks from everywhere.
The beds were very confortable we had a very good sleep. The breakfast are very good and tasty.

We recomend Posada La Merced in Antigua.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guillermo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#44 of 75 in Antigua
248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#30 of 75 in Antigua
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Florencia Hotel
Casa Florencia Hotel
#26 of 75 in Antigua
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#25 of 75 in Antigua
193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
#40 of 75 in Antigua
140 reviews
0.3 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#21 of 75 in Antigua
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada La Merced Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada La Merced Antigua

Address: 7a Avenida Norte # 43, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Antigua
#22 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: £30 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Posada La Merced Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada La Merced Antigua Hotel Antigua
Posada La Merced Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing