We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada La Merced Antigua
Ranked #23 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Back Patio rooms are better. Free WiFi. We got room 6 with the 3 separate beds, one in a different 'room' within the room. Worked great for us. The floral courtyard was nice. The safe service was good for storing valuables. The tours of Atitlan and Pacaya arranged through them was good. One friend took a chocolate massage! Kitchen is a good touch even if you are not a backpacker. ws you to store a sandwich or something like that for the 6 am Pacaya tour. Frederico's next door was handy but not too special. The rooftop terrace is good. Some folks saw lava on one of the volcanoes from there. But be careful going up. No railings on staircase and exposed rebar. Problem if you had a few beers and trip :-)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Novice2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2011

Posada La Merced has a good location ,secure rooms,free internet access,always hot water in your shower and airport shuttle.It has a great terrace at the top of building with awesome view on Volcanos.The use of the kichen with refrigerator,cooktop ,dishes,and
silverwares is a big bonus.Hostel has a nice staff with very good English.They help us with booking and answer all our questions before we arrived there.Next door is Fernando's cafe ,where you can have your breakfast,coffee, tea or beer.(But don't take cappuccino there.They put too much milk)
Anyway,I recommend Posada La Merced to everybody and I 'll chose to stay there next time on my trip to Antigua.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1puszek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Great balcony outlook. Internet access useful. Hotel organised trip to the airport and arranged wake up call. Room was comfortable and well priced. Nice areas to relax in.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank FMAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

Well located in Antigua. Rooms on the small side but very clean. Excellent breakfast. Purified water in profusion. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mag47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

The hotel was clean and pleasant. The staff were exceptionally helpful - their English was excellent and they happy to recommend places to go and things to do, and to make any bookings on our behalf - all of which made our stay that much more enjoyable. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the central park and a myriad of restaurants. We ate at a different restaurant almost every meal (many with live music in the evening), and we were never disappointed! If we were going back to Antigua we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RetirementAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

This is the third time I have stayed here. It has always been very clean and has great security. They also offer free hot coffee and tea. The use of the kitchen is a great bonus. The rooftop terrace is wonderful with a great view of the city. The only negative is that the rooms and bathrooms are small so if someone is really big this could be a problem.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peachiepooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

This charming little Posada was recommended to me by a friend who had stayed here several times before. Since I enjoyed my stay so much I chose to stay here a second time on my way back through the city. The rooms are clean and have private bathroom with warm water (which I hear is not always the case in Guatemala). They also have free internet and a computer available which was nice to have. The staff is kind and quite knowledgeable about the city. Make sure you explore the hotel a little and go up to the rooftop terrace. I didn't discover that until my last night there and it would have been fun to see the view during the day. Also be sure to eat at Fernando's next door! Great coffee and wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenJoyful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Florencia Hotel
Casa Florencia Hotel
#26 of 75 in Antigua
421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#51 of 75 in Antigua
256 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Casa Cristina
Hotel Casa Cristina
#17 of 75 in Antigua
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#31 of 75 in Antigua
442 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#47 of 75 in Antigua
120 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Casona de Antigua
La Casona de Antigua
#15 of 75 in Antigua
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada La Merced Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada La Merced Antigua

Address: 7a Avenida Norte # 43, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Antigua
#16 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: £27 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Posada La Merced Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada La Merced Antigua Hotel Antigua
Posada La Merced Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing