We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, quaint, residential”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Palacio de Dona Beatriz
Ranked #14 of 135 Antigua B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I stayed in a villa for 2 weeks in January. The hotel is very charming and the staff is warm and friendly. The location is close to the entrance from the main highway into Antigua, in a gated, high-end new residential community. It takes about 20-30 minutes to walk to the central park; there are several eateries and shops along the way.

A delicious full breakfast is served daily. Note, however, that there is no "restaurant" per se; just a kitchen for the staff to prepare breakfast. Needless to say, if you're sick or it's raining or you simply want a coffee or other beverage or snack, you'll have to walk about 10 minutes. Some of the local restaurants deliver to the hotel.

I really enjoyed being away from the main stream of things.

Room Tip: Unless you are an early riser, avoid the first floor rooms as breakfast is served in the courtyard j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DNZGQN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2013

We spent our first two nights at Palacio and it was the perfect place to start our travels. We came straight from the Guat city airport. This hotel is in a gated comunity which was perfect for two single mom's traveling with their kids as it felt safe and a good way to adjust to a different country. It is on the outside of the center but walking is only 10 minutes and we took taxi's and tut tuts back at night. Pluses are while it has the feel of a boutique hotel they never made the kids feel they weren't welcome. between the pool and the swinging egg chair (and youtube on their complementry internet in the lobby) they were happy! It would of been nice to have dinner served but they were happy to store our food in the kitchen. Great rooms, rooftop deck. We took walks around the compound in the evenings.

Room Tip: Probably 2nd floor ones are quieter since breakfast is served on wrap around patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SantanasWind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I had a discount cupon and ended up staying in the hotel for a very good price! however if it wasnt for this i would have been a bit dissapointed! I have stayed in a bunch of othr hotels in antigua which are more centric and bigger and are around the same price. Nevertheless the rooms where quite nice, but there is nothing you can order to the room, The breakfast included was good!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed over after a work week in Guatemala. Service is warm local, bedroom was clean and bed was wonderful. Onyl breakfast served but IT was delicious. A little small for my husbands needs. Walked to shopping. Located in enclosed glamourous Estate Area. Very safe and quaint. Lovely

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingHotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We loved our stayed at Palacio de Dona Beatriz in Antigua. Very convenience if you are driving or renting a car... it is not at walking distance from the main areas in Antigua but if you have your own transportation is in a quite, safe place. This little hotel, its cozy and clean. The breakfast is just perfect. The security of the place is awesome!

Room Tip: Good if you have your own transportation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

The hotel itself looks quite nice
The villas are very spacious and well laid out and perfect for families
The location is a bit out of the way and although they say 10-15 minutes to the central downtown it is more like 20 minutes or more
1). Toast oven doesnt work
2). Stove doesnt work
3). Washing machine died the first day, had a river running down the middle of the kitchen, it got fixed as we were leaving, never an apology, nothing
4). Internet supposed to be in all the rooms, oh sorry, the modem is broken, but we called the repair man, so come and knock on the door of the hotel and we will appear to be helping you by opening the door and you can sit here and use it
5). POOL????????? More like a large fountain with really stagnant looking water in it
6). Breakfast, go elsewhere although it is included, might as well spend some money, suggest the Hotel Santo Domingo
7). They smile and give you the impression they are being helpful, but it appears more like they want you to go away and leave them alone.
8). Nomally at check out time, they ask if you enjoyed your trip, nothing, ok thanks was it.
The space worked well for us and as I said the villas are nice, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, large and good air circulation. But, would we stay here again, uh no thanks

Room Tip: if you have a family and you want space, then it is good value and the villas are nice. But if you j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deuxvirgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa-Velasquez, Gerente at Hotel Palacio de Dona Beatriz, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

We are so sorry to hear this inconvenience in your work trip. We have already changed our WiFi internet provider for more broadband in that Villa, knowing it was the main cause of your disappointment.

We would have liked if you had been more open with us here at the Hotel with the other issues. We are taking action in reviewing our services for you and future visits.

We passed along your comment to our internet provider letting them know how this failures can affect our guests and the Hotel. Thank you for visiting Antigua Guatemala.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Nothing's changed...but a few upgrades. TV in the room got larger and is top of the line flat screen.
Food, rooms, service, beauty..quiet, security..... all top of the line. This is a very special place. On our return we did genuinely feel welcomed "as if" we were family coming home. I can not imagine any other spot in Antigua that offers such excellence in every regard. Villas available for families who desire accomodation that includes full kitchen, living and dining room. All villas, rooms and junior suites are very beautiful in their colonial decoration. Pool !

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ABLeever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
1.1 mi away
Real Plaza Hotel Suites
Real Plaza Hotel Suites
#39 of 75 in Antigua
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#7 of 75 in Antigua
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#5 of 75 in Antigua
322 reviews
0.9 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio de Dona Beatriz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio de Dona Beatriz

Address: Calle de los Duelos | Las Gravileas, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range: £61 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Boutique hotel as unique as the people who stay, offers personalized service, luxury accomodations, for business or leisure travel. With rich interiors, volcano views and custom designed furnishings, guests enjoy a comfortable, residential feeling. Once you stay here you may find it hard to leave!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Palacio de Dona Beatriz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing