We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Florencia Hotel
Ranked #27 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Miami
2 reviews
“Home away from home.”
Reviewed 11 March 2010

Casa Florencia is a very nice hotel, small, but very nice. What impacts you the most besides the pleasant environment you find there: flowers, a small fountain, the furniture with its special Guatemalan decoration, is the warmth of the owner and the personnel. They always welcome you with a smile and nice words. Who doesn't like that? To top that, Casa Florencia is completely neat. Neat rooms with clean linens and towels. Hot water to take a nice shower and a bottle of water in every room. And last but not least, the Sunday breakfast!! Great! Simple but delicious. I recommend Casa Florencia 100%. And we will go there for sure the next time we go to Antigua.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calbita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    90
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
45
153
62
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2010

While Casa Florencia pops up number two on the list, it is overrated. It is wonderfully clean and the service is great, but the rooms are small and if you are downstairs they are very dark as well. There is a major road behind the hotel and the noise of trucks and cars plus their vibrations are annoying. There is no breakfast included so one should consider that the cost is actually $10 more a night if you include eating breakfast. I wish we had stayed at the Aura hotel as it is lovely, has a much better location and is much more value for the money. Casa Florencia is a long way from the center of town and most restaurants. Since we spent five nights there, the walk while good for us, gets tiring. We ate at a couple of restaurants near by Fernando's and a German restaurant, but found the food terrible and overpriced, especially at Fernando's cafe. Don't waste your money. Also Casa Florencia doesn't have WIFI which is available at almost every other hotel and at nearby Fernando's cafe if you order something. Overall, it is a nice place, but overpriced and overrated compared to other accommodations in its price range.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

My wife and I stayed four nights here. As others have remarked, it has to be the cleanest hotels I've ever stayed in - spotless. Patricia, the owner, speaks English but other staff speak very little English. Our room was on the 2nd floor. The rooms are aranged side by side along a balcony, from which there are nice views of a volcano (Agua?) (although there are electricity lines running through the vista to spoil an otherwise beautiful photo). The room was not large and had two (comfortable) double beds. With these, plus our bags, there wasn't a lot of floor space left. The room had a small built-in closet, which also contained a safe. There was also a small TV. The bathroom was smallish, but adequate, and there was plenty of hot water. A complimentary bottle of drinking water was provided each day.

There is no restaurant, so no breakfast. Complimentary hot coffee is offered in an urn located near reception. There is also a small refrigerator here containing beer and soft drinks which may be purchased at reasonable prices. For those who don't like coffee, there was a microwave at the far end of the ground floor which you could use to boil water for tea - but you need your own tea bags though. The rooms on the ground level appear to be the same size as those above but have what looks like a queen-size bed rather than the two doubles. This gives a little more space in the room. These rooms are surrounded by a high cement fence, so no views and the area receives less light, although there are plants and other greenery to make the outlook attractive.

The hotel has one computer near reception for complimentary internet use. Unfortunately it is only available from 8:00am until 8:00pm, which I though a bit restrictive. Most day trips will see you gone before 8:00am and not arriving back until after 8:00pm, especially if you stop to eat in the centre. If there is to be a curfew perhaps something like from 7:00am to 11:00pm would be more customer friendly (after all the reception desk is only about 3 feet away and this should ensure there is no misuse or noise).

The hotel is located on the edge of the historical area and therefore it takes about 15 minutes to get to the main square. If you want breakfast, there is a cafe called Fernando's Kaffe that I recommend. It is located in the same street as Casa Florencia and one block away - just a few minutes walk. It also has excellent coffee and fantastic empanadas.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussie_bmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
1,170 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2010

I spent one night in Antigua recently and the Casa Florencia Hotel was a great find. One of my traveling companions had made a reservation at another hotel that was closer to the central park but after looking on TripAdvisor we booked Casa Florencia and cancelled the other reservation. It was a great choice. The Florencia was extremely clean. The service was excellent. They booked a shuttle to the airport in Guat. City for the next morning at a very good rate. The security is better here than other hotels in Antigua. There is free internet at the front desk which was very fast. They also have free coffee in the morning and the water was nice and hot. I would definitely recommend stahying here.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Razorfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2010

I found Casa Florencia online and read all of the reviews on Trip Advisor - and I have to agree with all of the positive comments. My wife and I spent 5 days in Antigua and stayed here and it was by far, one of the most pleasant hotel experiences I have ever had (aside: I have traveled extensively for business/pleasure to at least 72 countries now and stayed in hundreds of hotels).

Patricia (the owner) and her staff were very welcoming and extremely professional. They went out of our way to make us feel comfortable and gladly helped with travel arrangements, dinner reservations, directions, etc. The hotel itself and the rooms are spotless - it is by far the cleanest place I have ever seen. I wouldn't be surprised if you could eat off of the floor!

The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. They also provided complimentary bottle water in the room each day which was a nice touch.

It was a great experience and I gladly recommend this hotel. By the way - to the people who "complained" that this hotel is too far away from the Parque Centrale (the ciity centre) - it is only an 8 minute walk to it from the hotel. My wife and I found this short walk downtown very pleasant and discovered some great restaurants/shops along the way.

Thanks to Casa Florencia for a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NomadicCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2010

My boyfriend and I recently traveled to Guatemala and the first place we stayed was Casa Florencia. The staff was very warm and welcoming (although some did not speak very much English for those who don't speak Spanish) and they made several suggestions for activities and events for us to partake in. The rooms are nicely decorated and more importantly very clean with hot water showers and private bathrooms. Its located 7 blocks from the main city center which is nice because its quite busy over there so being on a quiet side street adds the the tranquility of the place. But it is a MUST to get a room on the 2nd floor where the morning views of Volcan Agua are breathtaking!! You can sit and enjoy Casa's complimentary coffee in one of the chairs or benches here and just enjoy the volcano. The rooms of the first floor do not have a view.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samenatalierose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, Ca
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2010

We stayed for four nights after arriving in Guatemala City from the US. We stayed upstairs for the view and light. That was nice,however, you are exposed to the road noise and firecrackers. We also had some pretty noisy neighbors who would come in after midnight. We moved downstairs and there was a marked improvement. Patricia was very responsive with our concerns but I think these issues are prevalent throughout Antigua with cobbled streets and masonery construction.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cflauricella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#7 of 75 in Antigua
308 reviews
0.4 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#21 of 75 in Antigua
435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#30 of 75 in Antigua
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#26 of 75 in Antigua
192 reviews
0.7 mi away
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
#29 of 75 in Antigua
140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#44 of 75 in Antigua
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Florencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Florencia Hotel

Property: Casa Florencia Hotel
Address: 7a. Av. Norte # 100, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Antigua
#8 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#15 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Florencia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated seven blocks north of the Central Plaza, our hotel is within short walking distance to coffee shops, restaurants, handicraft markets and archeological sites of interest. Our first floor rooms open to a serene verdant garden, while second story rooms provide panoramic views of three distant volcanoes. Free parking subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa Florencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Florencia
Casa Florencia Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing