We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No WIFI or breakfast - not good value, but nice hotel & staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Florencia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Florencia Hotel
Ranked #30 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No WIFI or breakfast - not good value, but nice hotel & staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2010

Being Guatemala, you expect your money to go a lot further so I guess I expected a lot more from Casa Florencia.

They don't have WIFI. There is a computer downstairs for guests to use but it has time restrictions - 8pm I think.

The rooms were comfy enough - fairly basic but clean and the hotel was well kept. However for $50 a night I would expect breakfast.

The staff at Casa Florencia were lovely and very responsive via email. They were very helpful with anything we asked. The hotel was a little far from the main square but we didn't mind the walk since it's a charming city.

We returned to Antigua 2 months later and just couldn't justify staying here again. We stayed at El Hostal for $13 each per night in a twin private room which included breakfast.

If Casa Florencia had WIFI and included breakfast I could definitely recommend it but considering what else is available for a lower price I can't say I would.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank halo39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florencia/Antigua, Manager at Casa Florencia Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2010
As always, we appreciate the reviews of our guests and pay special attention to them which helps us to improve in areas that we need to. Running a good decent business in Guatemala is expensive as well. In fact property rental and property sale prices are almost at the same level as major cities in the USA. During the past year, government mandated salary increases and electicity costs have risen substantially which has caused our overhead costs to rise. In spite of the economic downturn that has decreased tourism, Casa Florencia has consistently made efforts to add services and make improvements. Meanwhile, we have kept room rates as low as possible to cover operating expenses.

When a client makes a reservation at Casa Florencia Hotel, we indicate clearly what our rate includes. Our communications are clear and honest so that there are no doubts, surprises or false expectations. Our double occupancy rate of US$50.00 per night applies from Sunday through Friday nights. The $50/night includes a combined IVA and tourist tax of 22% which means that our net rate is US$40.98. For the type of accommodation offered, we believe is a reasonable amount. Most clients do not realize that the taxes are already included in the room rate quoted whereas most hotels and restaurants give a base rate and add the taxes and gratuity to the final bill. Perhaps it would be more acceptable for client's comparisons if Casa Florencia gave a room rate of $41 per night and then added the 22% taxes to the final bill.

Only on Sundays do we currently offer breakfast due to the generally higher occupancy on Saturday nights. Our rate for Saturday night for a double occupancy is US$60.00. We charge only $5.00 per person for the breakfast comprised of choice of cereal, eggs and/or pancakes, bread, juice, coffee, fruit. Thus, the $60 includes lodging for two, the 22% taxes and full hot breakfast.

Free internet service on a provided desktop computer is available from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. Starting on April 10th, a new Wi-Fi service is available 24 hours a day without any additional charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    88
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
43
152
62
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nomadic
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2010

Great attention to detail. The staff is very helpful and friendly. You can tell they really try to make you enjoy your stay and take good care of you (above and beyond). My room on the second floor had a view of the volcano out my window and the plants on the porch outside swaying with the wind made for a pretty & idyllic spot to relax before my long afternoon of climbing Pacaya volcano. I had a 1.5 day stay in Antigua & I highly recommend Casa Florencia to my friends who should be passing through there. The Sunday breakfast was yummy too.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindadixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2010

We just spent three weeks at this lovely, friendly, moderately priced hotel. Our room, like all on the second floor, opened onto an open balcony with a panoramic view of the three volcanoes. The room was lovely, the bed was excellent, everything was scrupulously clean and the hotel personnel were so very helpful. There are no noisy bars nearby and shopping and restaurants are within easy walking distance . We will always stay there whenever in Antigua.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanneWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

My husband and I stayed for four nights at Casa Florencia and very much enjoyed our stay. We had a room upstairs for 2 nights and after extending our stay, moved to the lower floor for 2 nights. As previously posted, the rooms upstairs share a common balcony with great views and plenty of light. The rooms downstairs share a common terrace with a fountain and shady garden. I would definitely recommend asking for a room upstairs since you get the views and great light and they're the same price as those downstairs.

As previously stated, the entire facility is clean as a whistle. Rooms are simple with a nice comfortable bed - really the perfect size for two adults. The bathroom is a little on the small side but completely functional, also spotlessly clean, and sports the most amazing showerhead for those of you who like water pressure and plenty of heat when you bathe.

Patricia the very amicable english-speaking host, makes sure guests are well attended to and made to feel at home. She definitely went the extra mile to make sure my husband who was tending to a hurt back, always had ice and also helped us find a bus to Honduras. The other staff are not as well versed in english but all greet you with giant smiles.

CF is indeed a little bit of a distance from central park which has it's downside I suppose as it can be a bit of a walk, however the advantage is simply that - you are removed from the area with the most concentration of tourists. Not only that, but you have access to a delightful little park 2 blocks away where there's a semi-ruined church at one end surrounded by a dozen or so palms trees, lots of benches where locals sit and chat and not another tourist in sight.

As for downsides, I would definitely concur with others who commented on the lack of daily breakfast, which is served only on Sundays. I might also add that the breakfast, while diverse and hearty, was only okay however that could be in part because we were the last guests served.

The only other thing I would comment on is regarding extra pillows. Because of my husband's bad back, we wanted to get additional pillows to support him when he slept. When I asked one of the non-English speaking attendants at the front desk for an extra pillow (in spanish...), they told me they didn't have any - not one extra pillow in the entire building??

Despite the lack of pillows and so-so breakfast, CF is truly a gem with friendly service, meticulously maintained and all at an affordable price.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kateinoakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
359 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

Patricia who owns Casa Florencia must be married to "Mr. Clean" because the white tornado certain blows through every day at Casa Florencia. I swear you could eat from any of the floors! The room and bathroom were not large but certainly adequate, with a closet storage area a small cushioned bench and a table. The only slight negative was that the beds were very hard. We enjoyed out stay, would definitely stay there again and alothough they only have breakfast there on Sunday mornings, we liked going to Fernando's, meeting their friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toadhollowtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2010

Casa Florencia is a very nice hotel, small, but very nice. What impacts you the most besides the pleasant environment you find there: flowers, a small fountain, the furniture with its special Guatemalan decoration, is the warmth of the owner and the personnel. They always welcome you with a smile and nice words. Who doesn't like that? To top that, Casa Florencia is completely neat. Neat rooms with clean linens and towels. Hot water to take a nice shower and a bottle of water in every room. And last but not least, the Sunday breakfast!! Great! Simple but delicious. I recommend Casa Florencia 100%. And we will go there for sure the next time we go to Antigua.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calbita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2010

While Casa Florencia pops up number two on the list, it is overrated. It is wonderfully clean and the service is great, but the rooms are small and if you are downstairs they are very dark as well. There is a major road behind the hotel and the noise of trucks and cars plus their vibrations are annoying. There is no breakfast included so one should consider that the cost is actually $10 more a night if you include eating breakfast. I wish we had stayed at the Aura hotel as it is lovely, has a much better location and is much more value for the money. Casa Florencia is a long way from the center of town and most restaurants. Since we spent five nights there, the walk while good for us, gets tiring. We ate at a couple of restaurants near by Fernando's and a German restaurant, but found the food terrible and overpriced, especially at Fernando's cafe. Don't waste your money. Also Casa Florencia doesn't have WIFI which is available at almost every other hotel and at nearby Fernando's cafe if you order something. Overall, it is a nice place, but overpriced and overrated compared to other accommodations in its price range.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.4 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#15 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Casona de Antigua
La Casona de Antigua
#10 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#26 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#23 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#5 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.7 mi away
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
#22 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Florencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Florencia Hotel

Property: Casa Florencia Hotel
Address: 7a. Av. Norte # 100, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Antigua
#8 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#15 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Florencia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated seven blocks north of the Central Plaza, our hotel is within short walking distance to coffee shops, restaurants, handicraft markets and archeological sites of interest. Our first floor rooms open to a serene verdant garden, while second story rooms provide panoramic views of three distant volcanoes. Free parking subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Florencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Florencia
Casa Florencia Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing