We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, affordable and an easy walk to things”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Casa Cristina
Ranked #18 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, affordable and an easy walk to things”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed at Hotel Casa Cristina at the beginning of our trip for a night and then another night, before we got a shuttle to Guatemala City to head home and would recommend. I think most hotels in Antigua have a sense of character and you need to remember that you are not in the states so expectations need to be set accordingly.

Pros:
* The staff was very helpful and did speak English which was super helpful considering my struggling Spanish
* They were able to coordinate a private shuttle for my and my boyfriend for reasonable cost ($32 for both) which was great for an early pick-up to make a noon flight in Guatemala City
* The rooms were very clean
* There is a nice rooftop terrace with a couple of benches in the shade and a couple of plastic chairs with a good view
* Did have purified water, coffee and breakfast pastries
* Reservations were easy to make!
* Easy walk to some of Arch of Santa Catalina and the plaza

Cons:
* We found it to be limited on dining options nearby; we were short on time the nights we stayed which kept us from wandering too far, so we stuck with the place around the corner, but that isn't the hotels fault. If you have limited time, you might want to stay a little closer to the main plaza which might be closer to more options (although the Cafe Diego around the corner was great!)

* The showers were pretty small, but I found this to be standard in all the places we stayed in Guatemala

Overall a great hotel, super friendly and i would recommend. I would go for a room on the 3rd floor; you get a nice view and may avoid the in-and-outs of people in the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    139
    29
    12
    3
See reviews for
31
174
92
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Amazing service here for anything you like, in English or Spanish, from booking scuba diving in Livingston, to finding restaurants in Antigua, to touring the volcano. Comfortable room that was easy to book online from Canada. They were happy to change my reservation when I decided to leave early. (Not a reflection on the hotel; we preferred to stay out of the city. See Semuc Champey if you can!) Great salsa lessons around the corner with Carlos, and amazing restaurants at all price points in easy safe walking distance.

As for Antigua, we loved the great salsa dancing, food, architecture. All menus in Antigua are in English until you find the small shops near the market.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DamaraK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Hotel Casa Cristina - the room was clean and had private bathroom with air con. However, the rooms were small with poor lighting There was no natural light as the room didn't have any outside windows. However, there is a nice rooftop terrace to get a wonderful view of volcanoes and the city. The owners were quite friendly and helpful; however, they speak limited english.

Room Tip: request a room on the third floor as there are windows with natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhecardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omi2x, Propietario at Hotel Casa Cristina, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Thank you, we appreciate your nice comments, you're right, the rooms on the first floor are not as bright as the third or second floor. When you ask about information about the hotel we try to be as accurate as we can and include this information.
I was very surprised about your comments about our English, since I speak both English and German as does Karin, who is at the hotel in the mornings, and any of us can be reached by any of the workers at any time.
Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Casa Cristina was our first place after arrival to Guatemala. As we arrived on Sat evening, I asked Rosario to book us tickets to Chichi market for Sunday early morning via email (the market is open only on Sun and Thurs, so we didn’t have any other choice as we didnt stay in Antigua long enough to wait till Thurs). She was kind enough to trust us and book and pay for the tickets before our arrival.
Casa Cristina is a very clean place, central, 24hrs internet/PC access, with beautiful roof top where you can chill out after whatever you do during the day. A fresh coffee and biscuits are great bonus (and not that common in the Central America). Rooms – we got a choice and went for the cheaper option. It didn’t have a window, but we stayed out anyway all days and came only for a sleep, so no complain there and we knew all in advance. Still it was clean, had a fridge, warm water. The second room, after our return from Tikal, was more spacious. So depending on your preferences and budget, select the room in advance.
Rosario and her staff are always willing to help and answer all your questions. We made a base camp of Casa Cristina and left our luggage for few days there for safe-keeping when we travelled up to Tikal and Semuc. Then we came back, collected the luggage, stayed one more night and moved on. Casa Cristina is a great value and we would definitely go back again. And a hint at the end – if you are arriving after 7pm to Guatemala city Airport, it is better to make arrangements with your hotel to collect you at the airport. There were no shuttles when we arrived at 8pm and had to take a taxi on the spot, which is not always the safest way to travel in Guatemala City. We were lucky and met a nice Guatemalan girl who took all details of the taxi company and even rang Casa Cristina if we arrived OK, but to avoid any negative welcome, better to arrange something in advance if you are arriving after dark.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BratisalvaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omi2x, Propietario at Hotel Casa Cristina, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Thank you for your nice comments, you really made our day. It is comments like these that keep us motivitated in always doing our best. We love when people stop to ask us about our beautiful city and places to visit. Thank you and we hope to have you stay with us again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level Contributor
168 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I don't like to give bad reviews of places. However, as I rely on reviews to pick where I stay and pay a lot of attention to picking a great spot, I feel compelled to write about this place truthfully.

When you book this hotel over their website, you pick a specific room, which has a very specific description. I booked a top floor room--the most expensive ones--and paid a deposit in advance. The room was described as having a Queen size bed and a fridge. BUT,,,,there was no queen bed (only a double size, the room would not fit a Queen bed),and no fridge. I was wanting the fridge to store medication that needs to be kept cold.

There were no plug ins that took 3 prong to charge lap top. The bathroom was described as small, and as I am small, this was fine for me, but honestly, a man would have a hard time fitting into the shower, so if you are booking with a man, don't even consider it.

Antigua was very cold when we were there and the room was freezing. This room is open to the outdoors and the wind was howling under the gap in the thin door, I had to stuff towels and such under there to try to keep out the wind, and run my hairdryer to try to warm up the room.

Hot water was sporadic and didn’t last more than a couple of minutes for an evening shower. My last morning at 5 am I had only a lukewarm shower. Sink does not have any warm water, so you cannot wash your face unless you like the cold. Rooftop "terrace" is not nice, just an area you can go up to, it isn’t pleasant and the view of Antigua is not a good one as it is very ugly with tin roofs everywhere.

To finish off a bad stay, this hotel wouldn’t accept traveller’s cheques as payment even though in their email they said they did: Taken directly from their email when making my reservation: "Important: Please note we only accept cash (Quetzals, Dollars) or Travelers Checks."

Rooms other than the two on the top floor are tiny, dark and claustrophobic. If this is good value in Antigua, as the owner likes to say, you might be better off avoiding the city altogether.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms would be fine for one person
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pumpermum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omi2x, Manager at Hotel Casa Cristina, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
We do encourage our guest to talk to us and solve any issues at the hotel or inquires about our beautiful city.
When she booked our best room (with fridge), was not available and she agreed to book another room. We would have gladly put a fridge in her room if she had mentioned she needed one. We have 2 small fridges (and there is one in the reception) that we move around when our guests ask for them. A fridge would not have been a problem; especially if she had medicine to store.
We do lend 3 prong adapters or sell them for cost (Q5 /$0.65) since guest might need them while traveling in GUATEMALA.
The view from the terrace is the beautiful IGLESIA LA MERCED, the volcanoes, mountains and if you look down; you will see the roof tops of the houses around. Some are tin roofs or “tejas”, which are the charm of the city to visitors.
We try to be as accurate on our description of our rooms but have never claimed or “like” to say we are “GOOD VALUE”; this is the opinion of our guests and their reviews.
Again, we are sorry to our guest and hope other guest take the time to tell us how to improve their stay if something is not right.

rosario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvey York Co
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Small hotel near la merced on a quiet street. They were quick to respond to our email about availability and arranged for a private shuttle to be waiting for us at the airport ($35). Our room was on the top floor and though quite small, was clean with hot water and the usual latin American very firm mattress. Rosario was very helpful with all of our questions about directions and banks and sightseeing, free coffee in the morning and free water refills all day, also free wi-fi. A nice little rooftop patio whre you could enjoy your coffee while looking at the volcano. We paid $38 a night and stayed for 5 nights.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashfield, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

This is a great place to stay in Antigua! You get a lot for the price... private bathrooms with hot water showers, nice clean (small) rooms, free coffee, tea, and internet use, a beautiful roof top terrace with wonderful views, and a super friendly, helpful, staff! Carlos, who works nights, was a life saver when it came to our travel plans between Panajachel and a bus up to Puerto Barrios (since we really didn't know how to get around!) It has a great location, right around the corner from La Merced, and close to everything. We would have loved to stay here longer, but were packing in lots of sights on our trip. Definitely recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floor are probably the quietest (and closer to the beautiful terrace). We s...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank juliadavegrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#28 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#46 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#5 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#8 of 82 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Cristina

Property: Hotel Casa Cristina
Address: Callejon Camposeco 3A | between 6 & 7 ave. North, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Antigua
#13 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#20 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Casa Cristina. Cozy Bed and Breakfast. All rooms with private bath and hot water. Safe and central location, only 4 blocks from Antigua's Central Park. Our rooms have comfortable beds with white sheets and towels.We have a computer available free to our guest at any time and wireless access for guests traveling with Laptops in most rooms. On our roof-top terrace our guests can enjoy the view of Antigua and our surrounding 3 volcanoes or read a book in the sun (or shade). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Cristina Hotel
Casa Cristina Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing