We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel horror come true”
Review of El Carmen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Carmen Hotel
Ranked #29 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I visited this hotel when travelling through Guatemala in 2012.
This was definitely one of the worst hotels i came across i years.
The rooms were humid, bed sheets were dirty, towels not washed. Toilet pot broken. Sink broken. While it was raining outside water was entering my room dripping along electricity cables onto the floor. The latter was not even that bad while the water was also leaking in the bed.
Windows could not be closed.
The chimneys in every room went on to the roof and let extra humidity in.
some of the rooms had no windows at all. In case of fire one would be trapped.
Good thing is the location, it is close to the city center. I didn't dare to try breakfast here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RC583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LibnyL, Front Office Manager at El Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

We are very sorry for your bad experience but we have been working on improving every comment we receive, we appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

Recently I brought a group of 10 people to stay 4 nights in 5 rooms of this hotel. The staff here are extremely helpful and go out of their way to assist. But, and this became an issue for us--the rooms are all very musty smelling, and not only that, at least 4 of our rooms had very obvious mold on the ceilings of the bedroom, also in the bathrooms. All of the rooms were very warm with no real way to ventilate them---especially for one room where there was not even a window. Four out of the group of 10 began having a lot of discomfort with allergies, which made it difficult for them....including me!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LibnyL, Front Office Manager at El Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

We apologize for the inconveniences you may have experienced as you know our staff is committed to improve everyday and are working on every comment we receive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This hotel was the end of the tour. The rooms were comfortable, but they had windows that opened onto the hotel courtyard. All noise carried through the hotel but this wasnt disruptive. The hotel also has a rooftop area with a great view over the city rooftops. The staff are very helpful and the hotel is in a great location to easily access all of the markets and good eating places.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eventoselcarmen, Front Office Manager at El Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thank you for your review we hope to have you back and we will take note of the noice factor in the rooms close the patio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This is a very charming small hotel just a short walk from the Central Park of Antigua, the beautiful ruins, the gorgeous Colonial architecture of the churches and municipal building and just minutes from the central marketplace.
The heart of this hotel is its cute central courtyard but the real treasure is its rooftop views of the city and the Volcano Agua.
Breakfast came as part of our package and it was very good-typically eggs, beans, fresh cheese, juice, good coffee.
The staff was delightful and helped me obtain the reservation I needed for a group of twelve for dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eventoselcarmen, Front Office Manager at El Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thank you for your great review! We sure hope to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The staff at El Carmen are extremley helpful! Had a relaxing and restful stay at this quaint little hotel in Antigua. I have traveled to Antigua a few times and stayed in a variety of hotels. This little charmer is close to all the main attractions and action in Antigua while retaining a quite tranquil atmosphere. I stayed here on a recent 3 week trip to Guatemala and had by far, the best shower at this hotel! Plenty of hot water!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HalifaxTbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eventoselcarmen, Front Office Manager at El Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thank your for this review we have been working on the hot water suppliers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed here twice in the same week...first was for two nights (mon/tues) on the second floor and the second was for two nights (sat/sun) on the first floor. I think we were the only guests in the hotel during our first stay. Staff are very nice and attentive and we had everything we needed, even extra pillows for the bed without question when we asked. I was very sick the first day and they even offered to call a doctor to come to my room to check on me. The hotel is only two stories, during our first stay they were doing some type of maintenance on the roof that woke us in the early morning. During the second stay we were near the breakfast area so it made it hard to sleep again because of other guests. I always bring earplugs on vacation, I had no problem sleeping...husband did not and had some trouble. Hotel is clean and safe in a great location with a great view from the roof top!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T_Newman84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eventoselcarmen, Front Office Manager at El Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thank you for your review, we apologize for the noise from the roof top we hope you got to see the result of the renovations, we have also moved the buffet to a different location to avoid the guests noise in the morning. We hope to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is great, the staff are curteous and helpful. Breakfast is so handy and tasty....but, and it's a big but... The room we stayed in was incredibly damp and musty, smelled awful and we had to keep our window open with a fan blowing in fresh air all day to prevent the mildew smell from returning. I suspect there are water/moisture issues and it looked as though mold had been painted over on some of the walls...this was one thing but a big thing that would prevent me from returning. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timtamtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LibnyL, Front Office Manager at El Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2015

We appreciate your comments and have been renovating all of our rooms, we hope you consider coming back and stay in our new Deluxe Rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.5 mi away
El Carmen Suites
El Carmen Suites
#32 of 75 in Antigua
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Bella
Hotel Casa Bella
#42 of 75 in Antigua
126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#24 of 75 in Antigua
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#25 of 75 in Antigua
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
#31 of 75 in Antigua
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Parque
Hotel Casa del Parque
#37 of 75 in Antigua
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Carmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Carmen Hotel

Address: 3a Avenida Norte 9, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range: £55 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Carmen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Carmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing