We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Antigua's Charm”
Review of Hotel Las Farolas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Las Farolas
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Nicely decorated rooms open to a lush courtyard. Friendly staff and a nice restaurant that opens to the central garden with a Koi fountain. Convienient to the Central Park shops and restaurant areas.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonJoseLuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2009

We arrive to Spacious clean rooms. Close to the center of town and great front desk service.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lin1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2008

Rooms were basic but clean , some a little dark. Hotel set round a nice quiet courtyard. Excellent Location-5 mins walk from Central Park area and safe to walk at night. Staff were friendly and helpful. Plenty of on street Parking outside if you rent a car.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2007

I booked a trip to La Antigua Guatemala on a whim when my friend came to visit from out of town. Given how last minute the booking was, many hotels were full, but I found space at Las Farolas. The hotel staff arranged for transportation from the airport and it was very timely and efficient.

As soon as we arrived, we were pleased by how comfortable the hotel was, its beautiful garden, helpful staff and closeness to the action, without being right in the thick of things. The 4-block walk to Parque Central is very scenic and comfortable. Though we didn't spend much time in the hotel, we were extremely pleased with the room and how hot the shower was! A hot shower can sometimes be a challenge when traveling in Central America, so we were ecstatic.

The front desk staff gave us all the information we needed to make the most of our very short 2 days, including arranging a 2-hr tour of the outlying areas (San Antonio de Aguas Calientes, the lookout point for Santa Cruz, which was breathtaking and more! Benigno, the tour guide, was awesome.) The rest of the time, we delighted in just walking about the city and taking in all of the beautiful, colonial sites.

In terms of the restaurant, I would also recommend the Chapin breakfast. It's a typical Guatemalan dish and the scrambled eggs are so tasty. Here's a tip: ask for a glass of juice made from "Rosa de Jamaica", which is made from the Hibiscus flower. It's not on the menu, but I discovered it at a local restaurant and absolutely LOVED it and asked for it at every restaurant I went to in La Antigua!

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank Semi-Backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2007

This hotel is well located, five blocks from Plaza Mayor but far enough to escape from the noise of the city center (which can be terrible at night....). The inner garden is beatiful and provides a great space for children to play safely. The hotel also offers free parking for their guests.

Rooms are clean and modestly equipped, which is what you expect for the price of a 3 star hotel, although I was a bit fustrated to find out that the much nicer hotel next door (Meson Panza Verde) was the same price per night....

Overall service was very good in Las Farolas, except at the restaurant, where they completely mixed up our orders making our breakfast experience terrible (they first brought the eggs, then the fruit 10 minutes later, then the bread 10 minutes later after we asked for it, then the coffee 10 minutes later after we asked for it twice, in summary we spend more than an hour having breakfast!).

In summary, I will stay again but will not have any meals at their restaurant, there are better eating choices a few blocks from the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Syboney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Momy12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMPF, Gerente at Hotel Las Farolas, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Pasos
Hotel Los Pasos
#11 of 75 in Antigua
262 reviews
0.4 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#21 of 75 in Antigua
450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#26 of 75 in Antigua
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Bella
Hotel Casa Bella
#41 of 75 in Antigua
126 reviews
1 mi away
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
#31 of 75 in Antigua
144 reviews
0 mi away
El Carmen Suites
El Carmen Suites
#32 of 75 in Antigua
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Farolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Farolas

Address: Calle Poniente y 5a. Avenida Sur 9a, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range: £52 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Las Farolas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Las Farolas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing