We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Las Farolas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Las Farolas
Ranked #25 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

This hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the main square where most of the restaurants shops etc can be found, although there are some hotels closer. The rooms here are set around a garden and are very comfortable, with a good bathroom. We stayed in 4 hotels in Guatemala and this was the only one where we had a safe in the room-free, although a deposit was required. The food here was good- but we did walk into the centre to eat as well, to get a good feel for this town. The hotel is on a relatively quiet street, so noise was not a problem

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Visaman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMPF, Gerente at Hotel Las Farolas, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to publish your comments.

We are very pleased the hotel fullfilled your expectations and that you had a quiet and comfortable stay during your time in Antigua.

We are also very glad to know you liked the restaurant's food and that we could be a good place for you to get to know the town.

If you have any further comments or suggestions, please do not hesitate to contact us at: servicioalcliente@hotelasfarolas.com.

We hope to be at your service in the near future once again.

Kind regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    54
    22
    4
    0
See reviews for
27
34
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seabrook Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We had 2 nights at Las Farolas - our room was in the back wing, looking out on the lush gardens. It's a very pleasant well run hotel, well equipped rooms, friendly staff, good breakfasts in the restaurant, while a little way out of town, about 4 blocks walk.

Room Tip: Stay in the back wing, away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GuySeabrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMPF, Gerente at Hotel Las Farolas, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you so much for your opinion.

We are very glad that your stay was pleasant and comfortable. It is our goal to provide each one of our clients with a perfect stay at our hotel. Please if you have any questions or further suggestions, our Costumer Service Executive e-mail is: servicioalcliente@hotelasfarolas.com.

We hope to have you again some time in our hotel.

Thank you for choosing Hotel Las Farolas for you stay in La Antigua Guatemala.

Kind regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Las Farolas provides comfortable rooms in the peaceful surroundings of a former coffee plantation, a 10-minute walk from the central plaza of Antigua, Guatemala.

Its location is not on a main street--making it much quieter than some of the other hotels in high-traffic neighborhoods--but asking for a room NOT facing the street will better allow you to enjoy the tranquil view from your room window. The grounds are completely enclosed, providing a cool respite from noisy markets and busy streets closer to the center of town--a great place to relax, to read, or to meditate.

I've used Las Farolas multiple times and have always enjoyed my stay. Staff are friendly and competent. The restaurant has an adequate menu and I've always found the food safe, well presented and delicious.

Las Farolas is not elegant, it's not luxurious, but it is comfortable, clean and moderately priced. It's a very nice place to come back to after touring Antigua during the day.

Room Tip: Interior rooms (not on the street side of the property) are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JVDonnant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell, CA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

Las Farolas is basic clean and friendly
The rooms are large clean and comfortable with tile floor and tile showers, cable TV, safe for valuables and a nice desk for writing or using a computer
WiFi did not work in my room but worked well in lobby or restaurant
My only wish was for a ceiling fan to move the air at night
The restaurant is very good but not fancy
The grounds are landscaped beautifully and secure with a gated entrance and night time security guards
This hotel is a 4 block walk to the center of town
I would stay again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonLykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico DF
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Beautiful experience at Las Farolas Hotel in Antigua Guatemala. Big and nice bedroom, beds , TV and bathroom. Excellent service, the people so kind and helpfull with luggage and parking. The food was wonderful and the restaurant has a soft and easy ambiance surrounded by most exotic gardens. Overall experience was outstanding, we recommend this hotel as one of the best when traveling to Antigua.

Room Tip: Second floor at the rear end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOPHIAMexicoDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, CO
Level Contributor
115 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

The hotel is beautiful but the rooms are hot and noisy. There are other hotels that are just as convenient and you will get a better nights sleep.

Room Tip: Stay away from the street and the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I stayed five nights at Las Farolas in February 2012 for a business meeting. The hotel and restaurant staff was courteous and efficient. The room was comfortable--good bed, plenty of pillows, lots of hot water, and everything just "worked". My room was near the back of the hotel and was extremely quiet. The hotel grounds contain a lush, tropical garden. I enjoyed seeing the banana trees and the coffee (which was ripe and ready to harvest). The location is within easy walking distance of the Parque Central, with lots and lots of dining and shopping opportunities. I'd definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.8 mi away
Casa Florencia Hotel
Casa Florencia Hotel
#30 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#27 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Real Plaza Hotel Suites
Real Plaza Hotel Suites
#39 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
#23 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel la Catedral
Hotel la Catedral
#16 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#26 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Farolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Farolas

Property: Hotel Las Farolas
Address: Calle Poniente y 5a. Avenida Sur 9a, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Las Farolas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Las Farolas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing