We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, only one block from Parque Central”
Review of Hotel Casa Rustica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa Rustica
Ranked #46 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Good place for the price. Good location, one block from Parque Central. Rooms are clean, TV and cable actually work. The bathroom is clean, the shower isn't anything spectacular but OK, it might be a little tricky to control the water temperature with the electrical heater. Rooms are small but they have all necessary items -which aren't so many-. Beds are comfortable. They have 5 or 6 dogs which wasn't a problem to me because I like dogs, they are well trained, I played with them
Pure drinking water is free, you can use the kitchen and they have a living room with TV and a DVD player -the rooms only have cable-, which makes it more a hostel than a hotel but you have private room and bathroom. They have a terrace and a couple of nice areas to sit and doing nothing outdoors -or something if you prefer that way-. They have three computers but they aren't free -I believe Q10 an hour-, the only problem I found was with the use them, I prefer to use as much time as possible to visit the city and use the internet before going to bed only for important things, but they turn off the computers when the girls at administration leave -8 or 9 pm, not sure-. The guy who stays in the night shift allowed me to turn a computer on once because I needed to send an e-mail.
They can make reservations for shuttles and excursions and they pick you up at the door.
Overall a good place to stay in the midrange.

Room Tip: We stayed in the only room in the third level -a double-. It was quiet except one night -noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j_ramos_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2011

The hotel -- a little home base in the midst of Antigua -- was situated perfectly. Safe, clean & laid back...it felt quite comfortable.

Room Tip: If renting a room w/a shared bath, make sure you're actually near a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMaxG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I was traveling with my sister and her two grown daughters. We began our 11 day journey with 2 nights at Casa Rustica, and then went to the Lake, Coban, and Campur. During this time we had stored some things at Casa Rustica, and picked them up on our way to Coban and Campur. The staff was super-helpful, and allowed us to store MANY bags there for the afternoon, while we shopped and had lunch. One of the guests who happened to be out in front even alerted us when our shuttled arrived, and helped load our bags to the top of the shuttle! We returned to Casa Rustica for our final night prior to leaving Guatemala.

The beds were the most comfortable of all the places in which we stayed throughout Guatemala. It was convenient, possessing a friendly and helpful staff, and the other guests were all very cool people (see above; if only I'd asked his name)! There are some resident dogs there in the lobby, who have a pampered life and give Casa Rustica a great feeling of being "home away from home." The terrace on the 2nd floor is a lovely place to read and swing in a chair.

I will stay here in the future. The price was right, and what's not to love about a great location, friendly staff, and comfortable bed?

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank Cassandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I stayed here in August with a friend and my girlfriend. The rooms were much cleaner and nicer than others I had looked at around town. They are a little more expensive than many of the hostels in Antigua, but worth the price for the amenities. The room had a nice TV with several english speaking channels. The beds were comfortable. The rooftop terrace provided a great place to have beers and relax. The staff was very helpful with all things from booking trips to locating good restaurants.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have their own door to get onto the terrace, a nice bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RenaissancePartyTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed here for one night. It was a great location for exploring the city of Antigua, the staff was helpful enough, the price was good enough, and the rooms were clean enough. The outdoor patios are also pleasant and the internet worked well. I won't rave about this place, but it was good enough for budget accommodations in Antigua.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CLY_1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The hotel was located in the heart of Antigua, which allowed us to walk through the city. The rooms were very nice, ours having a private bath.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank todd8814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

This hotel is affordable, and a full step above most Antigua backpacker hotels. The rooms were eclectic. Cute with different fixtures and decorations (which I like).

The rooms and bathrooms were clean, beds comfortable, plenty of storage, bedside reading lights, windows that open, extra blankets. There were nice patios to sit out on, a TV room and a pool table. The laundry room and shared kitchen were clean, easy to use, and perfect for an extended visit. Or even for a short stopover during an extended tour of Central America.

The hotel is basic, some rooms have a shared bath some have a private bath. We had a large family group and they put us all on the same floor. Nice. Our four rooms all had extra beds, nice for kids and sharing (and saving money). Some reviewers complained about noise from the bar across the street, but it honestly did not bug us (and we had guests ranging in age from 4 to 69).

The staff was friendly, helpful and considerate. The desk is always manned. At night, the door is locked and you ring a bell to get in. I liked that extra security step. There were computers you could use for a small fee, so we were able to check in for our flights. You can pay $5 to use a pool at a sister hotel, but we were too busy to go.

Casa Rustica is one block off the main square so you can't beat its location. And we could see the volcanos from the upper patio.

Room Tip: #5 has one queen, one twin, own bath. Good for a small family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank leahmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#30 of 75 in Antigua
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#47 of 75 in Antigua
119 reviews
14.5 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#64 of 75 in Antigua
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#24 of 75 in Antigua
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
#41 of 75 in Antigua
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Sin Ventura
Hotel La Sin Ventura
#42 of 75 in Antigua
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Rustica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Rustica

Address: 6th Ave Norte # 8 | Sacatepequez, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: £17 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Rustica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 Block from central park, close to the most important sites of our beautiful city. This also gives you a safe, short walk back home every night. All private rooms with private or shared bathrooms, 24hr hot water, lots of natural light, 3 terraces w/beautiful volcano views, gardens w/fountain, beautiful flowers, sitting areas, hammocks, bright Guatemalan colors, use of a shared kitchen, free fast Wi-Fi, Internet computers, cable TV, pool table, laundry, travel services, cafe & espresso offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Casa Rustica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Rustica Hotel
Casa Rustica Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing