We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would book here again”
Review of Hotel Casa Rustica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa Rustica
Ranked #46 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
“I would book here again”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I stayed here for one week.I would book here again because the staff is accommodating and very friendly, they have laundry/Spanish lessons (fee service) on site, billiards/drinks on site for a fee, clean kitchen, clean rooms (daily room service with towels), clean bathrooms (the shared bathroom by room #6 has a shower that clogs so the water backs up a bit).

There was a rooster next door that liked to make noise at all hours of the night, but nothing horrible. Noisy on the weekends but I would assume that it is like that way at many places downtown. The location overall is great (close to the park, close to many popular restaurants)

The price we were quoted at was $49/night for 3 people with private bathroom and $69/night for 3 people on the weekend. It was more than I was expecting and it does not include any breakfast/coffee.

Overall--great experience and a very nice facility with good management.

Room Tip: The room with two beds and a private bath was nice (#12), however #6 had three beds with a shared ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Q343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    81
    44
    14
    13
See reviews for
29
83
43
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in Casa Rustica for 3 nights over New Years. As other people have discussed, the noise level was very high, although we did expect this having read the reviews and with it being New Years week. There was a rooster every morning that kept us up, and I know of another couple who switched hotels because of this. It didn't bother us too much, but something to note. The noise level is, as others have said, high.

That said, we thought the hotel was average. We loved the location and loved the rooftop patio. It was quiet, a good place to lie and read a book and had a fantastic volcano view. We originally booked our hotel for 4 nights and when we needed to switch to 3 in order to squeeze in a trip to Semuc Champey, we were given a lot of grief. We appreciate flexibility in hotel staff so found this frustating. Finally they agreed to let us only stay 3 nights (we hadn't paid yet, so it wasn't a matter of giving a refund, it was just changing our reservation). We emailed them this change a month in advance and they said no. In person we asked again, and had to fight them a bit on it before they finally agreed, although ended up charging us 15% of the 4th night that we never stayed. Other hotels are much more flexible so this was frustrating and made us like the hotel less. The hotel was clean; no bugs. All in all, decent hotel, great location, not so great service.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncochrane3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Was recommended by the non-profit I work with in Antigua. The room was smaller in size and I had shared accommodations, since I was alone, there was more than enough space. The shared facilities and property was always clean, secure and staff was great, even the friendly dogs. I would highly recommend them and have again booked a room for next month!

Room Tip: Ask for room away from nightclub, and don't let the dogs out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Nice location and well maintained hotel, but the price was relatively high, in my opinion. The staff was helpful (albeit obviously unenthusiastic) with check-in and travel arrangements. The bar next door is ridiculously loud on weekends, which a sign in the room indicated, but the music dies down after 1am. If you're looking for peace and quiet, then I recommend spending a few dollars more and checking in at Hotel Casa Antigua.

One other minor observation for the owner: it would be very helpful to post the wifi password in the guest rooms or provide it at check-in. I can't think of a good reason why guests should have to request it every time.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alaskan_Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taichung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I was here with four friends for the week. We had a wonderful room, private bath with hot water, cable TV Nd wireless. Very clean and well run. Only a block from Central Park. You'll love it. The price was fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VTcafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosenberg, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Stayed there for 2 nights last week. The location is great, just one block from the heart of the city. No matter which direction you go, you'll find a great restaurant, bar, store a short walk away.
If you might have any question, ask for Ever. He speaks very good English and will help you with all of your needs.
The rooms are clean and just standard ones. Smaller than the US travelers are used to, but just enough for sleeping. Do not forget to get on the terrace and snap a picture of the Fire Volcano when smoking. Do not need to wait for long because smoke is spewed out almost every minute.
Good overall experience with this hostel / hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmares
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Ideally located only a block or so from the central park in a vibrant neighborhood. Outstanding staff. Clean, spacious and well equipped shared kitchen. Indoor and outdoor market just minutes away by foot. Computers in the lobby. Rooms are well appointed. Cable TV. Spa privileges available at one of the sister hotels. We go to Antigua about once a month and this is our go to place. We recommend Casa Rustica as a nice place to be and visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank e2d2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
14.5 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#61 of 82 in Antigua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#28 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#52 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
#44 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Florencia Hotel
Casa Florencia Hotel
#30 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada La Merced Antigua
Posada La Merced Antigua
#25 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Rustica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Rustica

Property: Hotel Casa Rustica
Address: 6th Ave Norte # 8 | Sacatepequez, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Rustica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 Block from central park, close to the most important sites of our beautiful city. This also gives you a safe, short walk back home every night. All private rooms with private or shared bathrooms, 24hr hot water, lots of natural light, 3 terraces w/beautiful volcano views, gardens w/fountain, beautiful flowers, sitting areas, hammocks, bright Guatemalan colors, use of a shared kitchen, free fast Wi-Fi, Internet computers, cable TV, pool table, laundry, travel services, cafe & espresso offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Casa Rustica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Rustica Hotel
Casa Rustica Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing