We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every moment!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Casa Rustica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa Rustica
Ranked #46 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Guatemala City, Guatemala
1 review
“Worth every moment!”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

July 9, 2012. A nice clean and well ordered hotel. Very helpful staff. Quiet and rooms were kept clean and tidy. Very impressed. It is the second time I have stayed there and will do so again and again. Good hotel with bargain prices.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guillermo174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    81
    44
    14
    13
See reviews for
29
83
43
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wenatchee, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Just got back from a two-week tour of Guatemala; we spent three nights in Antigua and really enjoyed our stay. The Casa Rustica was a good choice for us. The mid-range price was affordable and the central location was convenient. We had all the hot water we needed, the room was clean and nicely decorated and the staff was friendly and helpful. Our room gave onto a bright semi-private terrace complete with a spiral staircase that lead up to the roof. From the rooftop tables we had a view of the entire city and surrounding volcanoes. It is quite breathtaking.

We highly recommend this hotel with only one reservation: there was loud, pounding music on Friday and Saturday night. We felt deceived when all the warning we were given was an apologetic note on the back of our room door. I suppose that all down town mid-range hotels battle with the same problem. For the second night we bought earplugs and slept with the fan on for white noise. In any case, we would readily stay at Casa Rustica again, it's a nice place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We stayed at Casa Rustica for 2 weeks while doing a spanish course, and enjoyed the stay even though the weekend noise was a nightmare. Walls and windows in Guatemala are far from soundproof, so if you do stay here during weekends, make sure you bring good earplugs.
Rooms are a bit small and dark, but very clean. They have a kitchen where you can make your own food, which we really enjoyed when staying there for so long. There are 2 large dogs that live in the reception, so if you are allergic or just not fond of dogs, avoid this place. The pool table was also a nice treat, but we had to pay to use it, which was annoying since we already payed to stay there. That aside, the staff is nice and the location is perfect.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExciteMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

The title says it all, but it's still good value if you like loud music from the bar/hostal across the road; Tuesdays = ladies night, Fri and Sat it goes on longer and louder. Oh, and the Salsa teaching next door could irritate you if you did not have the foresight to bring earplugs.
The dogs are a bonus. Nice view from the roof.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Samll rooms, slightly larger than you average postage stamp but a very quite location in a noisy city. We stayed for 3 nights including the weekend and also at their sister hotel casa del parque (CDP very noisy) Good location near the main square.
Slight warning for those who do not like large dogs (we do) their are three wandering around at their leisure in the reception area and pretty much have the run of the place.

Room Tip: Room 9 is very small think postage stamp
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey and Mart... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
syd
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights last week. We have been travelling for 3 weeks in this part of the world and have been spending around $50 per night on accommodation and the Casa Rustica has been the worst value for money so far.

The pro's are its in a good location, it's very clean and the vey safe.

The negatives are the rooms are tiny, buy the time we put our bags on the floor there was no where else to move. The water coming out of the shower was warm at best. But worst of all it's two doors down from a Irish Bar that is opening until 1am and the music is crazy loud. Its like the party is in your room.

The final bad point is, if you want to pay by credit card, they are charge a whopping 10% extra.....I'm used to paying 2 to 3% but 10% is crazy. This is part of a group of hotels in Antigua so I assume they all charge the 10%.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCOTSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Hotel Rustica downtown Antigua has everything a traveller needs. I learned that the owners also have furnished apartments for rent a few blocks away on the 6th Avenida North. I stayed at these apartments last April to 'test" if it was worthy of a longer stay (a few months in Antigua this coming winter). It's very quiet, clean, safe and modern. Yes, I'm going back to stay there this winter as a home away from home. Maybe I shouldn't tell you this, there may not be any vacancy for my stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trebla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
14.5 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#60 of 82 in Antigua
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#25 of 82 in Antigua
411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#50 of 82 in Antigua
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
#43 of 82 in Antigua
108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Florencia Hotel
Casa Florencia Hotel
#30 of 82 in Antigua
405 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada La Merced Antigua
Posada La Merced Antigua
#24 of 82 in Antigua
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Rustica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Rustica

Property: Hotel Casa Rustica
Address: 6th Ave Norte # 8 | Sacatepequez, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Rustica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 Block from central park, close to the most important sites of our beautiful city. This also gives you a safe, short walk back home every night. All private rooms with private or shared bathrooms, 24hr hot water, lots of natural light, 3 terraces w/beautiful volcano views, gardens w/fountain, beautiful flowers, sitting areas, hammocks, bright Guatemalan colors, use of a shared kitchen, free fast Wi-Fi, Internet computers, cable TV, pool table, laundry, travel services, cafe & espresso offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Casa Rustica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Rustica Hotel
Casa Rustica Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing