We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming place!”
Review of Hotel Casa Rustica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Casa Rustica
Ranked #46 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Orje, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Welcoming place!”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We arrived to this hotel with three motorcycles without reservation. The very friendly staff,and the owner found the last available room.They helped us park our bikes inside the hotel securely and efficient(Thank you!) We got a three bed room with shared bathroom,but very clean.The bathroom was cleaned often and was not a drawback at all.The room was nice,clean and comfortable. The hotel also sits on a very central location and you are close to the nightlife in Antigua,and the central park.
The staff at Casa Rustica really made us feel like home,great value!

Very recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustavotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    82
    44
    14
    13
See reviews for
29
83
43
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Anywhere you stay, your expectations will heavily influence your impression and review of a place. If you expect a budget hotel where you are located in the centre of town where there are multiple bars nearby than I think most people would be ok enough here.

We booked knowing that there was a bar beside the hotel and expecting we'd hear some noise at night. But we chose Rustica as it seemed optimally located and the price range we were aiming for.

Location - just a block from the central square/park its right in the centre of things. That said, we realized after arriving that Antigua is very small, the blocks tiny and that places we'd discounted for being too far away were only an extra minute or two's walk.

Rooms - small, basic, a little dark. But with nice touches like a desk, TV, closet and some artwork on the walls. Water was always hot for us and rooms were cleaned thoroughly everyday. But there's no getting around that this is basic budget and the beds are fine but not great.

Common areas - pretty lacking, the courtyard by our room had no seating, the terrace fine but no spectacular views and the front area (and courtyard) dominated by the staff at the check-in desk.

Noise - we heard the bars start around 9 on a Sat but it wasn't loud enough to prevent us sleeping (even without ear plugs). There's actually two bars nearby, the one a couple doors down responsible for the most noise when we were there. On Sunday the bars were still hopping and once again we were conscious of the noise but again it didn't impact us. That said we were in room #10 which seemed to be the furthest from the bars so we might have been lucky.

Value - not great value at $57. It seemed on the cheaper end of budget midrange without getting into a dorm or a real dive. And it might be decent for Antigua but compared to other areas in the region it was overpriced.

Overall it was a decent stay but nothing remarkable. Our biggest disappointment was the lack of a welcoming and backpacker vibe. It's purely a place to crash your head. The dogs are nice enough (if you like dogs) but not so desperate for love that you feel compelled to play with them. Given its downsides with noisy bars nearby, the mediocre ambiance and the sheer numbers of other great looking hotels we'd probably look further afield for better value.

Room Tip: Room #10 seemed to be the furthest from the bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CEMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Very friendly staff , exellent location , great patio and very clean facilities.
The hotel is very close to great bars and restaurants , its one street away from the central park and all these historical churches and places.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enzo_rinaudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had a nice experience at this hotel. Friendly staff and dogs, good price, and great location. The room was clean and nicely decorated. I wish they had breakfast included but other than that, no complaints!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The location is the only positive about this place. 3 dogs in the lobby does not give a good first impression. Rooms small but nice patio off lobby when it's not raining. Our room was near the kitchen so very noisy and band playing next door made it so loud you couldn't even hear the tv.very much like a hostel.

Room Tip: Don't get near kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mexicohicks1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Rustica, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
"We express our sincere apologies for the shortcomings in the service and especially by our inability to supply the room type you requested.

We regret the inconvenience, also the dogs that we have are very friendly and quiet, we will try to solve the problem of noise in the kitchen as it is the first time that happens to us, and we look forward to serving you in the near future with our improvements in service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Location! Location! Location! This hotel is next to restaurants, bars, clubs, Artisan market, and the central park. I booked a single room with a shared bathroom but the hotel ended up giving me a large triple room with a huge patio for the same price ($50 per night). The rooms are nicely decorated in tranquil Myan décor. The rooms and shared bathroom were extremely clean and the cleaning staff were very sweet. The staff changed the sheets daily and they cleaned the bathroom throughout the day. The hotel had internet access and computers in the reception area for a very decent price. The only reason I could not give the hotel a 5 is because the loud music from the club next door from about 9pm to 1am disturbed me. It felt like the DJ was in my room and had a very difficult time going to sleep. I would return to this hotel on a night that the club is not open.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor with a patio. Bring ear plugs if you stay on a day the club is op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benzy19772016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed two nights in this fairly expensive hostel. Our room was quite small, reasonably clean, but did not offer a/c and other amenities. Towels were not nice, bed sheets were okay.
Staff was friendly but not overly eager to help.
The lounge/reception area was crowded by three foul-smelling dogs that basically slept all day.
Kitchen could be used which was good, but wasnt very inviting to have dinner there.
Overall: okay, but more could be expected!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#51 of 75 in Antigua
113 reviews
14.5 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#59 of 75 in Antigua
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#30 of 75 in Antigua
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Sin Ventura
Hotel La Sin Ventura
#40 of 75 in Antigua
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
#38 of 75 in Antigua
139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
#45 of 75 in Antigua
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Rustica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Rustica

Property: Hotel Casa Rustica
Address: 6th Ave Norte # 8 | Sacatepequez, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Rustica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 Block from central park, close to the most important sites of our beautiful city. This also gives you a safe, short walk back home every night. All private rooms with private or shared bathrooms, 24hr hot water, lots of natural light, 3 terraces w/beautiful volcano views, gardens w/fountain, beautiful flowers, sitting areas, hammocks, bright Guatemalan colors, use of a shared kitchen, free fast Wi-Fi, Internet computers, cable TV, pool table, laundry, travel services, cafe & espresso offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Casa Rustica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Rustica Hotel
Casa Rustica Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing