We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Casa de Las Fuentes
Ranked #45 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

It's my second visit to Antigua and I was happy to come back to this little haven.
It's not grand, and it's not central, but the staff really understand customer service. Rooms are perfectly adequate; clean and spacious; bed comfy!
Breakfast is ample and good quality ; whether you choose pancakes or "tipico" it will last you all day!
Also it's secure with gates and a solid door.
And did I mention the helpful staff!
Only reason I'm not giving it a 5 rating is that the shower floor is slippy and there's no handrail - I think that's an accident waiting to happen!
Stay here and the other guests will be Guatemalan - not like the flashier options in Antigua!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank pollywouldbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

I have stayed there with people on a mission trip and on personal trips. It is very clean and the staff are very nice. It is a little difficult to find the first time because everything on the street looks the same to me . It is one block from a park and just 5 minutes walking to the Central Market as well as the place wear tourist by stuff. Make sure you go to the market whee locals by things and purchase a handwoven plastic carrying bag. You will say " what in the world would I need that for". After you buy one you will want to return to Antigua to get more. You will use them for EVERYTHING !!!!!!.If you are driving you park inside locked gates. The place is very secure which is good because you are in Guatemala !!! During the day walk anywhere you want to. The hotel is simple but very clean and has warm water .

Room Tip: Brush up on your Spanish jejejejje
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTC1136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This is not a luxurious hotel, but it is quite and comfortable and the service is very attentive. It is also clean. It is about a 15 minute walk from the Parque Central and you have to ring the bell to get in after dark. The kitchen and food service is limited.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itamonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had a great stay at Casa de las Fuentes. The staff were kind and welcoming, always there to let us in (no matter the hour) or fulfill any room needs. They speak very little English, so practice your Spanish! The hotel gardens are beautiful and make for a really lovely colonial atmosphere.

There's free wifi available, though the signal may not reach your room. There's bottled water on every main hallway and the rooms are well equipped - warm water, amenities, towels, toilet paper, etc. I found the room to be quite comfortable (just know that there is no AC) and quiet, minus the nearby roosters.

We were traveling with a big group so we didn't participate in any meals; however there's a bakery just across the street should the need arise. (We had an early morning departure for Pacaya volcano and the staff kindly made sure the bakery would open for us.)

Lastly, the hotel is definitely on the upper corner of town - not central - but Antigua is so small that it's still very walkable. I'd say the center of town is a 10-15 min walk, or a very cheap tuktuk or cab ride.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gkincaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

This was a really nice spot. Don't be fooled by the dull exterior; inside, the Spanish colonial home is a lush garden oasis filled with tropical plants and many spots to sit down in the outdoor courtyards to take in the sun. The hotel appears popular with Central American tourists and offers very clean rooms, decorated in a simple but entirely appropriate style.

The owner is friendly, and some of the staff speak English, though others don't. All are friendly and welcoming. I would recommend being armed with some Spanish if at all possible. The breakfasts are simple and okay, but you need to let them know the night before what time you would like to eat breakfast. Part of the old garden has been covered over (there are rooms built above) and this forms the breakfast room. You can eat there but it's much more pleasant to sit in the garden if the weather allows...which it usually does.

The wifi is free - just ask for the code from the desk. It's a bit weak in the rooms, so take your iPad to breakfast with you, or linger in the courtyard where there is a strong signal.

Finally...and this is important...do not forget to pack some earplugs. There are chickens & roosters next door and they start crowing and sqwaking in the middle of the night. It will drive you INSANE if you do not take your earplugs. That being said, you'll need them everywhere else in Guatemala, so don't let that put you off this charming hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsHarris3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Loved it here! The rooms were very clean and spacious. We stayed 5-6 nights and had no problems. The outside does not look like much but on the inside it is beautiful (that describes most of Antigua). There was usually someone there that spoke English which was nice for me. But at night I had to stumble through my Spanish. But practice makes perfect.They even helped get some flowers put in our room for my wife as an anniversary present. Everything is a walk away, though it is a little bit on the edge of town. Take a tuc-tuc if you don't feel like walking. Have the owner cut some of the fruit from the trees she has in the garden. One of them, I forget which, was really great. The staff here was the best part. The would talk to us, give us recommendation, ask what they could do to make our stay better. You couldn't ask for better service.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilly4300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Behind the façade hides a beautiful and atmospheric hotel in colonial style. The rooms are arranged around 2 courtyards: the 1st courtyard serves as parking for guests, the 2nd is a lawn with terrace seats where you can have breakfast or enjoy the sun. The hotel is situated just within the borders of the city centre; it is about a 10 minutes’ walk to the heart of centre.

The rooms are tastefully decorated, also in colonial style. The beds are comfortable and pretty oversized. The rooms have a modern, clean bathroom that meets Western standards, with a well-controllable shower and big fluffy towels. And what a luxury to have toilet paper in abundance, for the first time after two weeks of travel in Mexico and Guatemala! It was a bit bothersome though that all towels were collected in the morning and the clean towels were not delivered until the afternoon.

The hotel has good breakfast with the usual choices. The cup of yoghurt on the side was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yerun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Posada La Merced Antigua
Posada La Merced Antigua
#24 of 75 in Antigua
305 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
#47 of 75 in Antigua
120 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Casona de Antigua
La Casona de Antigua
#14 of 75 in Antigua
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#56 of 75 in Antigua
16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Florencia Hotel
Casa Florencia Hotel
#23 of 75 in Antigua
421 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#46 of 75 in Antigua
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa de Las Fuentes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa de Las Fuentes

Address: El Desengano Avenue | House # 26, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range: £41 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Casa de las Fuentes, is an authentic colonial house with all the old wormy Spanish style. Is located in a tranquil area next to San Sebastian Park; just six blocks from Antigua's heart. There are 24 ensuite rooms with cable TV, two gardens, conference room, free parking, laundry and telephone/fax/internet service. We offer Breakfast. Rates include taxes (22%) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Casa de Las Fuentes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing