We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely and central hotel in Antigua”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palacio de Dona Leonor
Ranked #32 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We were very happy with our stay at Palacio de Dona Leonor. The location couldn't be more perfect, as it's literally a few steps from the main square and the cathedral. The courtyard in the centre of this hotel is lovely and green, with a few tables off to one side for dinner and breakfast. Meals were delicious, by the way, with excellent choices for breakfast. We had dinner there twice, and the third night had dinner at Tartines, a terrific French restaurant right across the street.

We stayed in two different rooms - one for the first two nights of our trip to Guatemala and a different one on the last night of our trip. The first weekend overlapped a Saturday night, and I did find the street noise a little loud. On our return (also a Saturday night), we requested a quiet room, and didn't hear a sound from the street. Both rooms were very clean and well-appointed.

One note on the service - a previous reviewer commented on the fact that not everyone spoke English. I actually thought the service was excellent. Most of the front desk staff spoke at least some English and were more than happy to help. While not all wait-staff in the restaurant spoke English, I know that when I'm in a foreign country the onus lies on me to be understood. A little Spanish-English phrasebook went a long way in helping bridge the gap!

Room Tip: Some rooms get more street noise than others. If you ask the front desk for a quieter room, they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bakery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyvi C, Manager at Palacio de Dona Leonor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Guest: We really appreciate your comments about our Hotel, we are proud that you choose stay with us during your visit to Antigua, Guatemala.

Please feel free to contact us again, in your next trip to Guatemala.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

After our 45 minute ride from the Guatemala City airport we arrived at Dona Leonard and were amazed at the beautiful garden and terrace area. The staff were extremely nice and helpful with everything from our bags to providing a charger for a phone that we had left back at home. The breakfast was fresh and delicious. I recommend the ham and gruyere cheese omelet or the chocolate chip pancakes. The rooms were a good size and very affordable. We stayed in the Don Francisco suite and it was a great surprise. The room was big and the bathroom was spacious with a huge tub and even a steam option to turn it into a private sauna. Definitely a pleasant surprise and would love to come back!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Plbflyatlantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyvi C, Manager at Palacio de Dona Leonor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your comments, we were glad that you stay with us in your recent visit to Antigua.

We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This is a beautiful hotel less than one block from the main square in Antigua which makes the location perfect. The property itself is a magnificently restored hacienda with a beautiful courtyard and luxurious individually designed and named rooms. The public areas are fabulous and enjoyable to look at and experience. We stayed here with a 20% discount since we also stayed at their sister property in Panajachel - the Hotel Atitlan. This is a great deal, however the lack of an included breakfast took away some of the advantages of the lower rate. This would be a perfect choice and recommendation if it wasn't for the service. Often, the hotel had a desk clerk who spoke absolutely no English and there was no one else available to speak with. This was a definite problem when we checked in. Although our reservation was for one specific room with a single large bed, we were given a different room with two smaller beds. The lack of English made it impossible to correct. We were also charged $30 more for our room than was shown in our reservation and again, without English I couldn't get it corrected. Interestingly, I wrote and email requesting an adjustment and have not received any reply to date (3 days). If you can speak a little Spanish, I would recommend this hotel as a luxury choice in beautiful Antigua.

Room Tip: The hotel's website has a description and photos of each room. Rooms on the main street are stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickyD23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyvi C, Manager at Palacio de Dona Leonor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your comments, we are trying to solve your problem with the extra charge made to your credit card, but its so difficult when the credit cards do not issued in Guatemala.

However we will be following trough with our bank.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

At the end of a two week trip to visit Mayan sites in Mexico and Guatemala, we traveled to the beautiful colonial city of Antigua and splurged on this old gem well located near the heart of the city. We stepped in through the doors and found ourselves in a beautiful courtyard full of flowers and a great fountain. The reception staff speaks English and is helpful, providing information about the history of the building. We stayed in room VI called Paula on the second floor. The room is large and well appointed but is very dark and poorly lit by electricity. There is a small window high on the wall to the outside and two large windows to the veranda overlooking the courtyard. We had dinner in the courtyard around the garden. When the evening became chilly, we moved into the restaurant where the staff lit a fire for us in the fireplace. My wife ordered soup and they brought me a complimentary cup. I ordered a drink before dinner and they brought me a plate of cheese. It's that kind of place. We would stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank marjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyvi C, Manager at Palacio de Dona Leonor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Guest, for us it was a pleasure serving you and we are happy to make your stay comfortable and satisfying.
 
will be pleased to have you as our distinguished guest next time.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Several time we stayed at Palacio de Doña Leonor and every one of them the staff meet our expectations. The property is beautiful with a very convenient location. The manager took great care that all service was delivered efficiently. And we really enjoyed the dinner as well, delicious food and prompt service. We strongly recommend you to try it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DriveAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyvi C, Manager at Palacio de Dona Leonor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your comments, because this is our best recomendations for all travelers that are looking for a very nice place to stay.

For Palacio de Doña Leonor, will be a pleasure to serve you in a near future.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Beautiful hotel and 5 star dining in a very classy restauarnt.

We loved the pasta and steaks. Very unique and pleasant
presentation and the taste was out of this world.

Service in the hotel and restaurant ws impeccable.

Prices are high but for one of the nicest hotels
and restauarnts, worth evry cintavo.

Located close to Park Central and the buzz of Antigua.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyvi C, Manager at Palacio de Dona Leonor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Guest, we really appreciate your comments, and will be a pleasure to see you again.

Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We decided to rent a car and drive to Antigua, right from the airport. Although we had a few hotels in mind (we did some research before arriving in Guate), we hadn’t made reservations. By the time we arrived in Antigua, it was getting dark and we wanted to find a hotel ASAP. We were told that this hotel was around the corner (it was one of the ones we researched) so we ventured in. Leyvi was wonderful from the moment we walked in, she is very funny! The other staff was also very friendly and helpful but Leyvi was most definitely the best hotel manager I’ve ever come across. She offered us the Master Suite, at a discounted rate and was very attentive. She also had great suggestions for bars, restaurants, stores, etc… We couldn’t have been happier with the customer service and food from the restaurant. The hotel itself is wonderful, great courtyard, the suite was large, comfortable and out of a storybook…great photo opportunities! Daisy (the hotel dog) was also wonderful. We will definitely stay at Dona Leonor next year when we go back and we’ve been telling everyone about

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyvi C, Manager at Palacio de Dona Leonor, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your comments, we are very pleased to do your stay comfortable and pleasant, we will be glad to have you in our hotel like our guest the next year.

Regards.

Palacio de Doña Leonor´s Staff and Deysi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.2 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.4 mi away
Pensativo House Hotel
Pensativo House Hotel
#12 of 75 in Antigua
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#6 of 75 in Antigua
774 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#8 of 75 in Antigua
437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel la Catedral
Hotel la Catedral
#16 of 75 in Antigua
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio de Dona Leonor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio de Dona Leonor

Address: 4a Calle Oriente Casa # 8, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: £131 - £1,746 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palacio de Dona Leonor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique hotel in Antigua Guatemala. Experience the history of Antigua Guatemala in one place. Travel 500 years in the past and enjoy the decor and details of each room, which are named after the characters of the conquest of Guatemala. If you are looking for quality and excellent service, we recommend you this magical hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palacio de Dona Leonor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio De Dona Leonor Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing