We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and cheap!”
Review of Hotel Burkhard

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Burkhard
Ranked #27 of 138 Antigua B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 July 2014

hotel burkhard is definately a nice place to stay on a budget. if you don't like hostels but like hostel prices than this is a good pick for you. the rooms are small and have no windows so it can get a little muggy but it has tv and private bathroom in the rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

I lived in Antigua for awhile several years ago and decided to make a road trip back with nothing planned. I arrived into town around 7:30 in the evening and started the look for a place to stay. After trying places I know, with them being to expensive for my budge or full, I stumbled upon the Pasado Hotel Burkhard! What a great find, with a great price!!! The staff was very helpful and were very attentive. The location was very centrally located. Now I'm not calling this the Ritz Carlton or even a days in, but it has a unique charm and I will defiantly call this my normal place to stay!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fordworldchanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Casa Burkhard has some of the most friendly people in the world working there! I like the location and my room was clean. They also offer laundry services and have a cute little terrace upstairs. There is filtered water available as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GroovaMoova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I have stayed here many times since 2010, both as a Peace Corps Volunteer on vacation and as a tourist. I like it a lot. It is perfect for the budget traveler or backpacker who just wants some basic comforts. Although it's basic the rooms are not sparse - the decor is kind of historical, rooms are very clean, with hot showers, cable TV, free drinking water- so well worth the money (around $25/night currently). The rooms are dark, particularly downstairs, but there is a nice patio upstairs. I know they wanted to add a kitchen but that was pending when we visited. It changed owners within the past year or two, but it is basically the same- the new management clearly values good customer service and the attendants are efficient and polite. I'm not sure if they speak English though plenty of tourists go through here.

Room Tip: Also, bring earplugs if you stay in the "king" room on the weekend- the room is wall-to-wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ducky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I have stayed at Hotel Burkhard a couple of times and can't recommend it enough. You will not find a better deal in Antigua. We payed 150Q a night. The room was small, but had two beds, cable television, and a private bathroom. The shower had hot water that stayed hot the entire time (not always the case in Guatemala). The hotel was clean, and the owners were friendly. There is a small restaurant at the hotel too, but we didn't eat there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrishTexasAggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This is a great little place to stay in Antigua and also one of the cheapest. Easy walking distance to everything, nice hot showers, clean rooms and with interesting decor. It's quite simple as you'd expect for 150Q for two people and definitely try to get a room upstairs as the ones downstairs looked very dark but we loved our stay here! The staff are really nice too (although limited English spoken).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Great for the price, good location, love its style. Not a fancy place but we loved it.

Found our room to be very clean and quiet

Terrace and kitchen were both small but did the job, clean also.

Showers were hot and good also

Would stay there again.











Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Fatwreckfat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#48 of 75 in Antigua
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.5 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#63 of 75 in Antigua
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#29 of 75 in Antigua
438 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
#44 of 75 in Antigua
144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#46 of 75 in Antigua
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burkhard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burkhard

Address: 3a Calle Oriente 19a, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range: £27 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Posada Hotel Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing