We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
Ranked #30 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Hotel Candelaria is such a wonderful place to stay and a perfect choice for couples, families, and even group events. The staff is ready and eager to help with anything you need. Each room is unique in its decor and you are surrounded by the beauty of Antigua all around you. Sitting on the rooftop, enjoying the views of the volcano, and enjoying a cup of the world's finest coffee is just some of the many perks of this hotel. With walking distance of local tiendas and restaurants, it is out of the the way of the busy traffic of downtown. I wouldn't think of staying elsewhere when I return.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room, but I prefer a room on the 2nd floor, just for personal preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MamaLisa327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

Hotel Candelaria is an absolutely wonderful place to stay and the perfect choice for any visit to Antigua. Besides the physical charm and beauty of the hotel, the staff is always ready and willing to help with any questions or requests. Each wooden door, chair, bed and window frame has been handcrafted and the central courtyard is beautifully manicured with hanging plants and bright flowers, making the over all atmosphere calm and welcoming. The food is healthy and delicious, and you can tell that every meal and service is done personally and sincerely. My husband and I had such a pleasant stay and plan on going back next year!

Room Tip: Other guests told us there was some street noise in their rooms on south side next to the side stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lammons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I can't say enough positive things about this hotel. It's beautiful, comfortable and the hospitality provided by all the staff is outstanding!
I love being able to go to the rooftop to savor my first cup of coffee each day (coffee is also amazing!) The courtyard and wood is exquisite!
Guest rooms are very comfortable.
Easy access to the markets and other sights in Antigua.
I highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beechtree86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Every detail of this hotel has been carefully crafted. The handcrafted wooden doors and furniture are simply exquisite. The staff goes above and beyond to serve. The location is perfect for walking to the markets of Antigua. My family stays there every summer.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Staceybev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I spent 7 days at the Hotel Candelaria this past week which was not nearly enough time. This is by far the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed in. From the beautiful center atrium and breath taking views from the roof top terrace to the hand crafted furniture, everything is designed for a relaxing Antigua holiday. The staff was very nice and helpful too. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I have stayed at the Candelaria for one week for the past 7 years. It is a gorgeous hotel with a beautiful court yard, comfortable rooms and a fantastic rooftop view of three volcanoes. The hospitality found here is top notch, very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room that is off street as the motorcycles and took-tooks (sp?) can be noisy early m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I've stayed at this hotel nearly 10 times on mission trips, for periods of one and two weeks at a time. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable after a hard day's work. The rooftop is a wonderful place for relaxing with friends, not to mention the great photo opportunities of Volcan de Agua. The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. My family and I consider them our own close friends. I would not want to stay anywhere else and I always look forward to being back "home" at Hotel Candelaria.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#23 of 75 in Antigua
204 reviews
0.6 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#22 of 75 in Antigua
450 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#29 of 75 in Antigua
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Bella
Hotel Casa Bella
#42 of 75 in Antigua
126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Posada El Antano
Posada El Antano
#64 of 75 in Antigua
53 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa del Parque
Hotel Casa del Parque
#37 of 75 in Antigua
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candelaria Antigua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candelaria Antigua Hotel

Address: Colonia El Carmen, Avenida Dolores del Cerro No. 5 | Esquina Con Calle de Candelaria. Rotulo de azulejos en entrada : Candelaria Antigua., Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Antigua
#24 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: £43 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Candelaria Antigua Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is a work of art with beautiful and comfortable facilities in our historical and cultural destination : Antigua Guatemala. Enjoy a quiet relaxing time and an unforgettable natural scenery from our roof terrace overlooking three volcanoes. The Hotel exhibits a collection of colonial style furniture in the most precious woods in Guatemala. Also its architecture is a remembrance of the Emblematic House of the colonial period of this town : Antigua Guatemala. All the house corridors, dining area, living area, terrace and all our guest rooms are carefully layout for a comfortable and authentic experience for a visit to remember for years to come. We carefully look over our cleaning, shining and decoration in our rooms. A delicious breakfast with options for varied tastes is served, always with freshly baked bread and seasonal fruits. Please ask our frontdesk for any other need. We also have a detailed map for you. We want to serve you with all our enthusiasm! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Candelaria Antigua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candelaria Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing