We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really clean hostel with attached tour agency”
Review of The Yellow House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Yellow House
Ranked #11 of 117 Speciality Lodging in Antigua
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I only stayed here for one night and left early in the morning so I didn't end up using any of the common areas or getting breakfast.

The rooms and bathrooms were really clean, but I ended up going to Casa Shalom next door because here I was in a 6 bedroom dorm where people wanted to turn off the lights at 10pm, while next door I was in a 3 bedroom dorm by myself for half the price. There were also only two power outlets in the 6 bed dorm which was a bit of a pain to work around. Internet seemed to drop out constantly as well and I ended up using wifi from another hostel across the road. The tour agency was quite good and the prices were reasonable, as were the prices of the beer they were selling.

Overall a good place to stay, though I probably didn't stay long enough to get a good feel of the place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripMember112420141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at Yellow House for 3 nights a few weeks ago. The staff there is wonderful- everyone is very friendly and took time to make sure we were taken care of. Rooms and bathrooms are very clean, and as mentioned before, they have an amazing breakfast included in the cost of your room. Our internet didn't work in the room, but it worked great in the common area. We used their travel operator to book everything while in Antigua. I believe we paid 160/170Q for a double room, shared bath.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcr521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Yellow House was totally a fine place to stay, but I'm not sure I understand the rave reviews. Yes, it is super clean and I give it props for that, the bathrooms are indeed spotless. I stayed in a private double and it was cramped at best, but the beds were super comfortable, and again, very clean. Kitchen looked decent, didn't get to use it, but it's very small, honestly difficult for more than one person to be in there. Service isn't much to speak of, but whatever. Good breakfast. My biggest complaint would be the internet, for which there is false advertisement for sure. They claim that there's free wifi, but there was barely any signal in my room, and what's more, they have some sort of firewall put up so that only a couple of sites are allowed. Gmail and facebook were the only sites I ever got to work (and they worked 100% totally fine), but if you have any other email accounts you won't be able to sign on. You can also use google search, but you can't click on any of the links or websites that show up. Totally weird. I had some work to do in Antigua and couldn't get any of it done at The Yellow House because of this totally bizarre system they have set up. So, if you need internet at all besides gmail or fb, I would not recommend going here.

Room Tip: Wouldn't recommend room number 6, bad location in terms of noise and very tiny. But very comfy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saira H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntiguaYH, Reservations and Sales Assistant at The Yellow House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014
Google Translation

We are very concerned about your experience with the internet during your stay here.

We have always had a very fast Internet signal and our guests have confirmed with all good reviews they have done about this. Unfortunately the internet signal was not very good the last few days due to some technical problems that have arisen in the service we receive from our suppliers. For this reason it was possible to open some sites like Facebook and others not.

This kind of situations happen very rarely and unfortunately this is out of our hands.

We hope your understanding.


Estamos muy preocupados acerca de su experiencia con el Internet durante su estancia aquí.

Siempre hemos tenido una señal de Internet muy rápida y nuestros clientes lo confirman con todas las buenas críticas que han escrito acerca de este. Por desgracia, la señal de Internet no ha sido muy bueno en los últimos días, debido a algunos problemas técnicos que han surgido en el servicio que recibimos de parte de nuestros proveedores. Por esta razón, fue posible abrir algunos sitios como Facebook y otros no.

Este tipo de situaciones ocurre muy rara vez y por desgracia está fuera de nuestras manos.

Esperamos su comprensión.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Great experience in this hostel. It has nice privates and super top terrace, breakfast is good. Thanks sofia for your travel tips, were really useful!
to improve: the staff guy in mornings at the reception could be nicer!

Room Tip: Upstair rooms have nice terrace, but downstair rooms have the toilet closer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GesCasarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This was one of the nicest hostels I have ever stayed in. It was extremely clean, I hardly remember a time when someone was not cleaning. They spent over an hour cleaning our dorm room every morning and even hoovered the mattresses, very impressive! It does not really feel like a hostel, more like a B&B or a guesthouse. The dorms do not have bunk beds which is a big plus. There was a lovely terrace at the top which had some nice views, great hammocks and sockets/outlets which was was very useful - very relaxing! The staff were very nice, friendly and helpful.

However, the best thing about the hostel was the excellent breakfast every morning, it was very tasty and there was a great selection of food.

I really recommend this hostel very highly. Definitely one of the best hostels I have stayed in and I ahev stayed in many hostels throughout Europe and Central America.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciaran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed here twice while travelling through Guatemala. The first time was with my boyfriend in a double room which was very nice and clean. Had two double beds which were clean and reasonable comfortable. The breakfast was awesome, however we were in the room downstairs and at breakfast time there is no escaping the noise from around 6.30 through to end of breakfast at 9.
The second time I stayed I was on my own so I opted for the 6 bed dorm. This was again very clean, not very spacious and very loud because if th proximity to th street.
The bathrooms were cleaned several times a day which was such a change from th typical cheap hostels around Central America.
The terrace upstairs was great and had a great view of one of the volcanos (on a clear day)
The staff were helpful and could book any shuttle, trip or activity you needed.

Room Tip: I think the rooms upstairs would be quieter in the morning and if you have the money avoid the dorm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed there with our 2 kids - 6 months old and 2.5 years old.

I wish all budget places were like this. Each room is different and has lovely character to it with nice guatemalan fabrics on beds and walls. Nice, good quality bedlinen (cannot be taken for granted in budget places). Comfortable beds. And the best breakfast in the country (please let me know if you had a better breakfast in Guatemala!!!)

Only shared bathrooms (don't forget your towels) but they were sooooooo clean, it is not a problem. It looks like hand towels are changed every few hours because they are always spotless.

Kitchen is small but well equipped. Very helpful if you travel with kids.

Lovely terrace upstairs to relax - great hammocks which kids loved. good place to chat to other travellers. Depending on who is staying, it sometimes becomes a party place ( might be loud for people who sleep in the rooms upstairs)

Free drinking water is another bonus and means you do not have to buy bottles all the time.

There is wifi ( actually working and fast) and also a computer for those who travel light and don't have their own equipment.

Very nice ladies preparing/ serving breakfast and cleaning the place - they make you practise your Spanish at breakfast time.

Reception staff nice but not everyone speaks good English so be mindful of little misunderstandings.

For under $30 for a double room (actually 2 double beds) including breakfast it is hard to find a better place.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 and 13. Both have 2 double beds so very comfortable for a family. Room 2 is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doroshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#46 of 75 in Antigua
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#28 of 75 in Antigua
433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#65 of 75 in Antigua
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#49 of 75 in Antigua
119 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#26 of 75 in Antigua
198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
#44 of 75 in Antigua
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yellow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yellow House

Address: Calle Poniente #24, Between Ave Del Desengano & 7Av North 1a | Between Ave Del Desengano & 7Av North, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 117 Speciality Lodging in Antigua
Price Range: £11 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Yellow House 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Yellow House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yellow House Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing