We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast in Central America ”
Review of The Yellow House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Yellow House
Ranked #11 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Antigua
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Central America ”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

This hostel is great for budget travellers who like to save money with breakfasts included. Best breakfast we've had so far in CA. The hostel is cleaned all day everyday so the bathrooms and toilets are always spotless. Cute rooms with comfy beds. Friendly staff who are really helpful when booking tours or transport around Antigua. Nice terrace to hang out and have a happy hour beer in the afternoon. Highly recommended!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessamyrundle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    107
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
35
195
110
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I stayed with my friends for only one night and this hostels has a perfcet value for money.
Clean rooms and toilets to share. In the morning the friendly stuff prepars breakfast for you which we enjoyed from the roof top terrasse. You shouldnt take the room next to the kitchen because the staffs start preparing food early in the morning ;)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linlinmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

I recently went to Guatemala alone with very few plans & very little (like none) Spanish. I soon realised that getting around the country was going to be tricky! Cecilia at yellow house was the most amazing help to me, not just by booking my entire trip from Antigua to Belize & back to Guatemala City, but helping me to feel as if I really could do it on my own and everything would be amazing, which it was! She was so resourceful, prompt to answer my emails, and quick to help me when I had to change plans a couple of times. I also stayed at the hostel for a few nights & found it friendly, clean & with a great breakfast & too porch for hanging! Please go see Cecilia at yellow house if you need I book things in Central America, I'm not a tour persona usually but she made it so easy & I really needed it. Plus she gives great hugs!

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ghettokitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful rooftop terrace, very clean, comfortable beds, the BEST (included) breakfast ever, very helpful and friendly staff, free drinking water, and well located. To top it off, they are very eco-friendly, with recycling, solar panels, non-toxic cleaners, and more.

Highly recommended!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 2xtravellingfools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was without a doubt the cleanest hostel/hotel/guest house I have ever stayed in. The cleaning ladies are just amazing - you walk out of a bathroom and they go straight in to spruce it up again! The rooms were really comfortable and nicely decorated, and of course absolutely immaculate. Breakfast was lovely (and included) - lots of choice and eaten on the roof terrace. Not a party hostel so a quiet and safe place to stay as the doors are locked at night. The staff were very helpful and helped us book our onward bus travel. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ck1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I moved across the street to Yellow House because my room at Casa Jacaranda didn't have an outlet in the room. I was pleased to find that my room had not one but two outlets in a very small room with a single bed. I don't really care too much about the size of the room as I'm out on the town for most of the day anyways.

The bathrooms were very clean but they were downstairs. The upstairs terrace was nice and quiet with a couple hammocks and some couches. One of the ladies at the front desk spoke excellent English was helpful with booking shuttle buses and whatnot.

The only complaint I have it that there are no locks on the doors! It's the not the end of the world because I just took all my valuables with me, but I don't see why you can't either provide a lock during check in or offer them for a price. The lady handed me a key and it took my 15 minutes to figure out that it didn't actually do anything. It just had the number on it in case I forgot which room I was staying in...Maybe bringing your own lock and key is a common thing while backpacking, but I've honestly never seen it before.

Room Tip: Make sure you have your own lock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

First place we stayed on our trip and has been one of the best so far. Nice room, plenty of clean bathrooms, good breakfast included and nice staff. Also in a good location with a nice roof terrace to relax. Didnt use the attached travel agency but a useful addition.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jls1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#44 of 75 in Antigua
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#30 of 75 in Antigua
422 reviews
14.5 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#59 of 75 in Antigua
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
#40 of 75 in Antigua
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#49 of 75 in Antigua
116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#26 of 75 in Antigua
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yellow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yellow House

Property: The Yellow House
Address: 1a Calle Poniente #24, | Between Ave Del Desengano & 7Av North, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Yellow House 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Yellow House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yellow House Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing