We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feeling like at home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada San Sebastian
Ranked #12 of 129 Antigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Feeling like at home!”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

In this charming and lovely hotel you can feel like at home! At least we felt like this! Luis is extremely hospitable and now he is also a very good friend! He is very good professional, very good person, always ready to help and to give good advise on everything!
Then there is Clara. She is taking care of the cleaning and she is doing that extremely well! She is also giving a lot of advise on Antigua and things to do!
The hotel is a boutique of images, saints, antiques, guatemalan fabrics...everything put together with character and style!
The hotel has a reasonable price. Recommended!

Room Tip: Room number 7 is very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    25
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
35
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This a place I can award with the highest mark without fear of exagerating. Located a few hundred meters from the main square, the house itself is worth spending a night inside, stuffed with antiquities of any kind and absolutely awesome. Talking to Don Luis, the owner, the day after our arrival was like having a good tme with an old friend. Not only can he help you in any need, but also he makes his guests feel at home. Special mention for Clara, the housekeeper, for her incredible kindness. No need to say wifi is included. Recommended to any kind of visitor.

Room Tip: one is closer to the street, but all of them are gems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllRoundTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had stayed at El Rustica first but a noisey bar drove us out. We found San Sebastian to be pleasant and a great value. The owner, Luis, is totally helpful and nice. He is a passionate collector so the posada is like staying in a museum. The location is excellent.

Room Tip: All is rooms are large and interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shirlmert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

A ton of character just a few steps away from the main square. The proprietor, Luis, is friendly and welcomes mountain bikers.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomBane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed at the Posada San Sebastian in March 2012. This is a funky place with tons of vibe. If you're idea of a good hotel is a sterile Holiday Inn, then look elsewhere. This place feels like an old pair of jeans. It celebrates our humanity-- organically and with great warmth. Luis, the owner, is as nice a human being as there is on this planet. Views from the rooftop terrace are first rate. Rooms are clean and beds comfortable. Plenty of hot water and free Wi-Fi. I'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Just ask Luis to show you what he has available, then take your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I loved Posada San Sebastian! We had been backpacking around Guatemala and wanted a bit more comfort, and it was well worth it. Fantastic location, right in the centre of town and walking distance to everything. Luis is so friendly and will make you feel at home. The rooms are very large and spacious, we stayed there twice and both rooms had two dbl beds. The rooms are filled with beautiful antiques and it makes you feel at home. Loved it!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gg_lost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in March 2012 and really enjoyed it. The owner is an antique collector, so the hotel (and rooms) have an eclectic feel. He greets everyone from morning through evening and keeps the place very social. You feel more like family than a guest.

The rooms were neurotically clean - mopped every day, linens and towels changed daily, etc. The location is fantastic, close to everything but still on a quiet street; we felt safe the entire time we were there. An added bonus is the great terrace, which has a 365 degree view of the city.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are definitely nicer - they get better light and breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yurgosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#25 of 82 in Antigua
411 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#6 of 82 in Antigua
400 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.3 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#2 of 82 in Antigua
825 reviews
0.1 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#16 of 82 in Antigua
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada San Sebastian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada San Sebastian

Property: Posada San Sebastian
Address: 3ra. Avenida Norte # 4, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Posada San Sebastian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada San Sebastian Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing