We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Posada San Sebastian
Ranked #11 of 135 Antigua B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We spent 2 weeks here with our 2 kids and had a fantastic time. Luis & his staff are very friendly and helpful. The posada is clean, safe, located 1 block from the central park & everything is in walking distance. The view from the roof top is great and having a drink up there at sunset is an absolut must. Be aware that no food or drinks are available besides drinking water. We did though order pizza in one night and enjoyed eating it in the patio. We hope to be back again, Antigua is an amazing place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galeazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

Myself and two chicas stayed here on New Years eve. It was a lovely room, big and spacious with 3 queen beds. The room had lots of character and room for luggage etc. The lobby area had lots of antiques and artifacts to look at. The hotel is quite central and easy to walk to the Central Park and markets. The owner was very friendly and helpful. It's a shame I couldn't find the artifacts I was looking for to add to my own collection :( You will love Antigua and be sure to shop till you drop !

Room Tip: Away from the road if you want quiet :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingNessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Pros: pleasant and personable innkeeper, convenient location to central plaza and local attractions, quirky decor with lots of oddball antiques, great views from rooftop deck.
Cons: rooms can be noisy with music and socializing in common areas, furniture in common areas is not very comfortable, sheets old and worn--but clean, pillows are all flat, beds with old mattresses; don't stay here if you are allergic to mold or mildew.
Despite this list of cons, we had a pleasant stay and overall I recommend this hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Thelonious_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I have traveled for decades and this is one of the best hotel experiences of my life. Luis is a one of a kind human being who has created a remarkable oasis. It is comfortable, clean and feels like home. There is a kitchen that is free to be used. A wonderful roof deck that takes in the remarkable sight of Antiqua from on high. It is situated in the heart of Antiqua but is very quiet. The clientele is an interesting mix of fellow travelers. I can hardly wait to return. Did I mention Luis collection of folk art and treasures. It is a better collection than the regional museum in Antiqua. What a great place and what a great guy!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patty m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This is a charming old hotel with many antiques and items the hotelier has collected over the years. Each room is different, and nicely appointed. A very nice central courtyard is available, as well as common areas with comfortable seating and even a roof-top lounge area. The San Sebastian is the epitome of Old Guatemala City. I felt safe there and well cared-for. The owner is very courteous. Plenty of clean drinking water is available.

Room Tip: There's not a bad room in the place - I've seen them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heyjudithz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I brought a group to the San Sebastian, and the open spaces to congregate were perfect. We used the kitchen and the roof top deck. The decor is quirky and full of antiques. Luis is a great host. I would not recommend this hotel for luxury, but I would definitely stay again for the atmosphere, communal space and service.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NC4Guate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

One really cannot beat this place for character. It's very tastefully decorated with antiques. Feels wonderful to come back home and sit down with a book. The house has some niches where it's nice to spend the time. It feels like home because there is no uniformity from place to place unlike a big hotel. Also, there is a little kitchen if you feel inclined to cook something up for yourself. The owner Luis is very warm and treats you like family.

Accommodation-wise, some rooms may indeed feel dark due to their location in the house.
We stayed in a room across the kitchen (#4) and it was great in all respects. So make a reservation.

I can see how people needing a lot of luxury would not like the simple rustic rooms. Yet, if you look beyond this, you would be treated to a wonderful time here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmitriy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#22 of 75 in Antigua
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#25 of 75 in Antigua
197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#44 of 75 in Antigua
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The San Rafael Hotel
The San Rafael Hotel
#1 of 75 in Antigua
302 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.0 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#63 of 75 in Antigua
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada San Sebastian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada San Sebastian

Address: 3ra. Avenida Norte # 4, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range: £35 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Posada San Sebastian Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing