We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Sin Ventura
Ranked #39 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

At $18 US the price was right for this place. The rooms are tiny but clean and have a private bathroom. The shower was strong and hot and clean. Bring ear plugs as the noise will drive you crazy especially on the weekends when the bars are in full swing. The location is excellent and the staff is great. The wifi works very well. There is no TV.
You will pay about triple the price for a more comfortable room but for me it was not worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013

I stayed here for eight nights this summer. I had originally looked at four other hotels and hostels, and came back to La Sin Ventura. I booked two nights, thinking I might find another place cheaper, but every couple days I paid for more nights until my whole stay was here. It was super convenient to be just off Parque Central, so anytime I got a bit lost, I could ask how to get back, and everyone knows how to get to Parque Central. The room was quite small, but I only needed a place to sleep and shower, so that was fine. I paid USD18 per night. Yes, the nightclub downstairs was lively, but as a woman traveling alone, it was far less creepy to have a bit of a soundtrack in the background than dead silence. The WiFi was a bit unpredictable, sometimes limited to reception and sometimes available in my room. Rooftop access was locked :( though I'm told it's an amazing view.

Room Tip: If noise will bother you, get a room farther from the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynnC485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

My husband and I live in Canada with our 5 and 4 year olds. We go to Guatemala at least once every two years and we just love it there. All of my husband's family is Canadian so when they hear how much fun we always have in Guatemala they always want to come with us. Now my husband and I are adventurers at heart! We do not care about comfort or anything at all, not even when we bring our children. We want them to be OK being uncomfortable as long as they are safe travelling and learning about different cultures. I always get nervous about my husband's family though, especially when I reserved these hotel rooms for a really cheap price. I was really happy to see what the hotel looked like, the rooms were super clean, great location, great view. Simple yet perfect for what the purpose was. I totally recommend this hotel. Staff was super nice too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XLovestoTravelX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I stayed there two nights at the end of May 2013. If you are a traveling couple, I would advice to stay in the rooms with two double beds. The cost is the same as for a room with only one king/queen size bed. The major difference is that the rooms with one bed are on the "first" floor, which for Americans that means the second floor, and at night the music coming from two different bars might be too much. Another problem I found was the shower head was too high and the shower curtain too low. This led to water spilling all over the bathroom once done showering. I will also recommend not booking any of your tours or shuttles through the hotel. You're better off going to any of the many travel agencies and make sure you negotiate the price. The hotel's location is perfect. It's half a block away from the central park which makes it close to everything else. Also, there is someone on the front desk all 24 hours a day in case you need anything. My favorite perk of the hotel was the terrace they have. Maybe buy yourself some beer/wine and take it up there while you enjoy a 360 view of the entire town. In the end the hotel is not horrible but there is definitely some room for improvements.

Room Tip: Choose the highest floor possible. The music/noise coming from the two night clubs might not let you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Stayed here for two nights on the tail end of a Gecko tour – therefore not sure of the price factor. Fantastic location and set in a gorgeous old building. The rooms were basic but nice, not huge but still full functional and with ensuites. Given the setup of the hotel (long corridors with tiles) it was sometimes noisy, particularly at night as there is a bar downstairs and next door.

Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were kept clean and the bar downstairs was great.

Overall the location is the best feature of the hotel, just a stone’s throw from the markets, square and main strip. Would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichmondCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I have been very happy of my stay in this hotel not only for the best location in town and the unbeatable price also for the room style which was small but had everything I needed. The stuff is super nice and helpful. On top of all this the building with a very beautiful colonial architecture there is a terrance from where you can see all Antigua!

Room Tip: Tip get a room in the back so you won't ear the noise from the disco downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roatanbandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Located in the heart of Antigua, Sin La Ventura is an affordable, clean and safe hotel with a very friendly front desk staff.

However, the rooms located along an open corridor do not offer much insulation from outside noise.

There is nightclub downstairs nightclub that on some days can go into the early morning hours. If you plan on being out during the late evening then this is a manageable situation.

I really enjoyed the location of Sin La Ventura and taking in almost decent views of the city from its balcony area.

A few members of the front desk staff speak English well enough to provide good local information and were helpful in planning trips around the city.

My room although basic was comfortable and the free Wi-Fi worked pretty well. I would definitely stay here again even if I have to fall asleep to the sounds of Antigua nightlife.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#46 of 75 in Antigua
256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Cristina
Hotel Casa Cristina
#17 of 75 in Antigua
430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#47 of 75 in Antigua
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#63 of 75 in Antigua
176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Posada La Merced Antigua
Posada La Merced Antigua
#24 of 75 in Antigua
307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Florencia Hotel
Casa Florencia Hotel
#25 of 75 in Antigua
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Sin Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Sin Ventura

Address: 5a Avenida sur # 8, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range: £28 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Sin Ventura 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Sin Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing