We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Meson de Maria
Ranked #2 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gem of a Hotel”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My family and I live in Antigua. We recently stayed at Meson de Maria because we had a problem with the roof of our house.

There are many gems throughout Antigua, and Meson de Maria counts among them. Everything throughout the hotel is tastefully done. The place is beautiful. There are so many little details done right. Plus the roof deck has spectacular views. Hotel location is great.

Almost forgot to mention, the hotel owner and staff were super accommodating.
If you're coming to Antigua, why stay at one of the big name hotels?
You should stay at this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nightscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    79
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
130
35
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Merimbula, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The very beautiful Hotel Meson de Maria housed in an old colonial property in central Antigua was a sheer delight to stay in for a few days. The elegance and ambience of the hotel is matched by the attentive staff for whom nothing seemed too much trouble. Special thanks go to both Nancy on the front desk and Carlos the bellhop with the big smile.

The hotel’s courtyards with their very well maintained and flourishing plant life and fountains surrounded by wide verandas with comfy couches and chairs in rich colours are great places to pass an hour or two soaking in the mood. Huge vases of fresh flowers add to the grace. The rooftop view over the city to the volcano which is often capped by clouds is a sight to take in.

The rooms are a little on the small side but impeccably clean and quiet. Ask for a room with two beds and of course your room will be larger which will make it easier to negotiate around your luggage.

Breakfasts were fairly simple with the choice of either “traditional” which included eggs, mole, cheese, tomato and toast or “American” which was freshly made pancakes served with fresh fruit and maple syrup. Both of course served with fresh juice, tea or coffee.

A highly recommended hotel in central Antigua.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with two beds and the room will be larger. Rooms at the back, awy from the road will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for a night whilst visiting Antigua. The location is great and the staff were very nice. The breakfast that was included hit the spot and evening coffee and hot chocolate was a nice touch. The beds are a bit hard but OK and the room was quite clean. We spent little to know time in the room except when it was time for bed. Let's just say the walls are VERY thin. I basically heard EVERYTHING that happened in the room next to me; my friend nor I got great sleep and we ended up giving up and just waking up at 6 am. I know this is not anyone's fault but be aware of the thin walls.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonathanM315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

I am easy to please so an anal person shouldn't consider my opinion. But I loved this hotel it was affordable and really pretty. Had a rooftop terrace free breakfast, all the staff was amiable and willing to help with whatever your needs may be. I really enjoyed my stay and it made and impression, just a cool place. Also not far from the Central Park.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliviarugen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Over the last 30 years I have traveled all over the world on business, and this is the second best hotel I have stayed in. I would have rated it first, but it is hard to compete with the Cairo hotel housed in a palace built for the Empress Eugenie of France. The Meson has a great location, facilities, staff, and service. The key word in Antigua is "preservation", and the Meson is a wonderful example of what individual entrepreneurs can accomplish.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLDilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We have stayed 3 different times at this lovely hotel in Antigua Guatemala.The service has always been consistently excellent. It is a charming hotel, with a home atmosphere. This is an old Colonial Home that has been transformed into a beautiful hotel. It is impeccably clean, the rooms are private and quiet, they are arranged in small groupings facing different interior patios surrounded by the most amazing array of tropical flowers. The staff is very friendly, always accommodating of all requests. The Hotel has the most amazing terrace on the third floor where you can see the Volcanoes and have a glass of wine while you see the sunset or sunrise. It is located a couple of blocks from the central park and across the street is the Restaurant "La Fonda Real" which is a great restaurant with typical Guatemalan food in another lovely old colonial home. The hotel was a welcome paradise of flowers every evening.

Room Tip: We have stayed on three different types of Rooms, and they are all great. Our favorite rooms are th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucyjim87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

This is quite a charming little hotel that reminds one of a more relaxed way of life. There is a peacefulness about this hotel - no one is in a hurry, no one is rushing around. You enter the hotel and then it opens up onto courtyard after courtyard with several covered walkways that are otherwise open to the outside. You do not hear the hussle/bussle of outside - it is quiet and peaceful within the walls of the hotel There are maybe 3 rooms in each area and then the next set of rooms is separated by another walkway to more rooms. Many patios with cushioned benches and comfortable chairs are found throughout the hotel and between the rooms. There is a sort of old world charm to this hotel. The rooms are on the small side and quite dark (which is good to keep the heat out but not so good if you need to read or write). Bathrooms are small but adequate. There is no airconditioning, but none was really needed. The only thing that was rather disturbing is that if you wish to sleep with the window open (to get air in the room), many of the windows look out directly onto the walkways or you can see into the room from the walkway and you can hear anything/anyone from the walkways. Breakfast was served in a small room near the entrance of the hotel and was good (choice of eggs or pancakes) and fried bananas and bread. Was lovely just sitting on the benches throughout the terraces of the hotel and reading. From this hotel - everything is within a 5 - 10 minute walk! Location was wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blitz17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#6 of 76 in Antigua
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 76 in Antigua
852 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#8 of 76 in Antigua
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#21 of 76 in Antigua
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meson de Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meson de Maria

Property: Hotel Meson de Maria
Address: 3a Calle Poniente # 8, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Antigua
#14 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#18 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meson de Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Meson de Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meson De Maria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing