We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Posada Don Valentino
Ranked #63 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Had the opportunity to stay at the Posada Don Valentino several times in the past few years with friends. Always comfortable, affordable, and peaceful. Great roof terrace with view of the volcano. Very good location to the market, Central Park, restaurants, etc. The staff is extremely helpful. Have stayed there also several times by myself and always felt safe. Would recommend it to anyone heading to Antigua.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KentuckyCougar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

We arrived tired and hungry, so when the fourteen of us went to our rooms with a huge group of noisy, drinking German tourists, we were not impressed. I made these reservations 6 months ago and had requested that we all be on the same floor. Long story short, the hotel management did an EXCELLENT job of changing our room and all went smoothly. The rooms are small, but neat and clean. The location is great - next to the supermercado and a short walk to parque central. The three outdoor areas are nice. The optional breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Spent two nights at Posada Don Valentino with a small group. Overall, very happy with the hotel. It is in a good location close to the market and city center. The room was clean and the maid service was good. Would stay there again as I would love to go back to Antigua.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy and Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Posada Don Valentino is well located in the beautiful city of Antigua. The staff are friendly and the rooms are very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Two sun terraces, clean communal kitchen and comfortable lounge area. We spent 3 nights here and didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: Rooms close to reception are slightly noisier than those towards the back or upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rita f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We got a bit intimidated by Antigua upon our late night arrival - streets were quite empty, windows were ALL barred, and the closed doors of all buildings, including hotels were not inviting. The first two budget places we visited looked awful and we decided to upgrade. We walked into one of the hotels which turned out to be in a some kind of an Antiguan hotel network with Don Valentino - this first place did not have spare rooms but they refered us to Don Valention round the corner.

Don Valentino is nice and clean, though our room was quite tiny. And surprisingly it was also quite pricey as most of the hotels and restaurants in Antigua seem to be.

Staff was friendly, helped us to arrange the trip we wanted, and we could exchange cash in a hotel (a better rate than at the border with Mexico, definitely DO NOT exchange too much money at the border). Antigua is a small town, so you are close to everywhere.
Opossite Don Valentino there is a restaurant - again expensive like every other "American" place in Antigua, but serving nice food + with a live band.

Internet will cost you a small charge.

All in all, I would stay there again, I guess.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewa_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Don Valentino was a good place to stay for our family. Very convenient location, extremely helpful front desk staff (helped with transportation, tours, laundry, and a million little questions). The professional photos make it look more sparkling than it is, but it is very nice and clean. We stayed in a family room for 4 of us which worked well.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beoutside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We decided to stay in Antigua rather than in Guatemala City while heading home. Posada Don Valentino is a fine mid-priced hotel 2 blocks from the market, and close to Parque Central. The room was clean and had a large window to the upstairs patio. This was the only hotel during our trip to Guatemala that didn't have WiFi, but it did have an internet cafe downstairs. The staff in the lobby was able to arrange early (at 4AM) transportation to the airport. Security was good, and there were plenty of dining choices nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room with a window to the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Chuck P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#45 of 75 in Antigua
249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#48 of 75 in Antigua
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#27 of 75 in Antigua
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
#43 of 75 in Antigua
141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal San Nicolas
Hostal San Nicolas
#35 of 75 in Antigua
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#25 of 75 in Antigua
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Don Valentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Don Valentino

Address: 5th Calle Poniente # 28, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range: £26 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada Don Valentino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful mid-range hotel in the heart, of the majestic colonial city of Antigua Guatemala. We offer everything you could need during your stay in Antigua. Our goal is to make your stay as comfortable as possible and get the most out of your visit to our beautiful city. Our hotel is in the perfect spot, only 2 blocks to our beautiful central park, only 2 blocks to our tourist market, close to lots of restaurants and other services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Posada Don Valentino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Don Valentino Antigua Guatemala
Posada Don Valentino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing