We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“this was an amazing stay at the amazing hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Gioconda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Gioconda
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in Odessa
Kyiv, null, Ukraine
1 review
“this was an amazing stay at the amazing hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

if you want to escape from a city routine and noise this is one of the best choise you can get in Odessa. Friendly staff, "invisible" service and great location help you to feel like at home. You can feel very safe at this location. If you're traveling on business you can arrange all the meetings at the hotel sitting on the open air and having drinks and meal with your friends ana partners,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Yuriy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anastacia G, General Manager at La Gioconda, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Guest!
Thank you for staying at our hotel and leaving kind comments following your recent stay with us.
I was really pleased to read that your enjoyed all the aspects of your stay with us
Thank you so much again.
I hope to welcome you back at La Gioconda Boutique Hotel .
With my best regards,
Anastasiia Romanenko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
57
15
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
218 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

The whole atmosphere at this hotel encourages relaxation. It has a beautiful garden where we ate breakfast with butterflies flitting around the flowers and sometimes over us! Their garden furniture is really comfortable, and grouped under lovely big umbrellas. The pool is a reasonable size for this type of hotel, and had for us the bonus of being in a shady spot - we are not sun worshippers!

There is piped music playing nearly all day - but nice relaxing music. How loud it is depends on who is on duty, and I personally preferred it when it was someone who set the level slightly quieter!

Their restaurant offers 24 hour a day meals, and they are good (if a little pricey and slightly slow in coming - but I was so relaxed I didn't care!), and they have really nice wines - we loved the Ukrainian red. And the breakfasts are generous and interesting - and include a freshly cooked hot option. Do have the curd fritters and/or pancakes!

At the moment there is building work going on next door, and this can't be ignored unfortunately. However I give the staff 100% rating for their acknowledgement of the problem. Please read on at this point.

We had chosen the lower priced room with sauna. It's Room 1, the Bel Etage. The hotel is really missing a trick with this room ... they should charge more! The room is massive, and it has a shady terrace because it is half underground and therefore completely sheltered. The bathroom is fabulous, with a lovely shower, the sauna (which is a good size - could easily seat 4), and a separate toilet. Then there are the stairs that lead directly up to the pool. This for us was a big bonus as it was so easy just to slip in and out of our room during the day.

However, on the Monday morning we woke up to the noise of hammering and circular saws, which really spoilt my little paradise, and was a huge disappointment as we were escaping months of noise from a neighbour having major work done on his house.

We asked to leave, and the manager was very understanding. We spent breakfast looking at the options available to us, but we didn't want to be in a big hotel or in the centre of town, and the garden was just too tempting, so we decided to stay.

We were then offered another room, which was also an upgrade and further from the works. We accepted the room purely because we did not want to wake to building noise again.

So the deluxe room was very nice, but I honestly preferred Room 1. The Blue Room is beautiful, and it does have a sunny balcony overlooking the sea. But we spent all our time in the garden! And the bathroom was not nearly as nice as that in Room 1.

You feel really spoilt here, with lovely thick towels which seem to be replaced every time you put them down and really nice staff ensuring your stay goes well.

We feel really sorry that this lovely little hotel has to deal with the problems caused by the building work and hope that it will soon be over as they are working so hard to ensure their visitors take away happy memories.

Room Tip: Ask how the building work is going when you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anastacia G, General Manager at La Gioconda, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Guest !
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your kind comments following your recent stay with us and thank you for such words of praise for our staff . It is really amazing to read, that you loved our breakfast, enjoyed the atmosphere at our hotel , liked our property and our garden.
We truly sorry for the inconvenience caused regarding noise from neighbourly construction and hope that on your next visit to our hotel the neighbourly construction will be completed done.
We would be more than happy to welcome you back!

Sincerely ,
Anastasiia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

by spending time there, i was so happy.......... excellent location, excellent room and a lot of silence!!! good food and workers, you must spend time there! seems to be in Tuscany with wonderful gardens!! really good experience

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Valerio0Antonini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anastacia G, General Manager at La Gioconda, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear Guest!
A lot of thanks for your kind comments on tripadvisor.
We invite you to return again !
Sincerely yours,
Anastasiia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
200 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We spent a very pleasant and relaxed three nights here. The main memories include the wonderful service we received from all of the staff (whose English is good) - this was both before we travelled and while we were here. The breakfasts were among the best we have been offered anywhere, featuring an interesting and varied buffet and a list of special orders which can be prepared quickly and efficiently. The garden and pool area are pleasant, and our room (which was not one of the most expensive ones) was comfortable and well equipped. The local beach area (Lermnontovskiy) is nicer and less crowded that Arkadia, and is a ten minute downhill walk away. The hotel and surounds were quiet and restful. The only slight problem came with the fact that no Odessa taxi driver we encountered knew where this hotel is located. Since we didn't speak the language, this was a problem the first time it happened. Thereafter, we brought a hotel brochure with us whenever we took taxis, and were able to use it to explain to the driver where we needed to go. The brochure also has a small map which is also necessary.

Room Tip: We had a garden view room (which had a view of the car park). This was perfectly acceptable to us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anastacia G, General Manager at La Gioconda, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Guest!
We are happy you had a lovely stay and appreciate your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming your return in the near future.
Sincerely ,
Anastasia Romanenko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed in the Boutique Hotel La Gioconda for 3 nights in June 2013 and we had a great time there.

The location of the hotel with the sea view is exceptional, the garden with the small pool is very inviting and you can spend hours there. Our room was big and the bathroom huge. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly and all English or even German speaking. They arranged opera tickets and cabs for us. The construction site next to the hotel made barely any noise.

We loved the breakfast buffet and ordered poached eggs on toast every day. On my friends birthday we got a bottle of local sparkling wine and fruits and the staff even wrote a really charming birthday card for my friend!

I left my glasses there and when I sent them an email the next day. I got a reply the next day and they promissed to send them to me.

The hotel is a perfect place to spend relaxing days in Odessa and the staff did everything to accommodate our needs.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina_M_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anastacia G, General Manager at La Gioconda, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear Guest !
Thank you very much for writing with your very kind comments on tripadvisor. We are very happy that you liked our staff and our hotel.
Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.
Sincerely yours,
Anastasiia Romanenko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

Very nice hotel with friendly stuff. Stayed there 3 or 4 times. Being very central it has a shortcut to the sea with a good beach. All the rooms are different, so I tried different ones with each stay. Very quiet and cozy atmosphere. Good for business and for leisure. Very recommendable!

Room Tip: all rooms are unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anastacia G, General Manager at La Gioconda, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear Guest!
Thank you for writing with your very kind comments
We are all very happy that you liked the hotel and that you found our staff very well.
We invite you to return again soon
Yours Sincerely ,
Anastasia Romanenko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

We enjoyed our stay, though guys have to improve their breakfasts a lot, but overall impression is good!
The breakfast was not the best quality, I must admit, müsli kind of year old, but the staff - they tried so hard, and actually helped a lot, being very nice and polite.
Will stay there next year, once we are back to Odessa :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossiloni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anastacia G, General Manager at La Gioconda, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Guest !
Thank you for having chosen La Gioconda Boutique hotel on your recent visit to Odessa
Your opinion is of great importance to us. We look forward to having you stay with us again

Sincerely,
Anastasia Romanenko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Odessa hotels
0.6 mi away
Resort & SPA Hotel NEMO with dolphins
1.1 mi away
Hotel Bristol Odessa
Hotel Bristol Odessa
#6 of 78 in Odessa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Geneva Hotel
Premier Geneva Hotel
#1 of 78 in Odessa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
KADORR Hotel Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Panorama De Luxe
Panorama De Luxe
#18 of 78 in Odessa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aleksandrovskiy
Aleksandrovskiy
#3 of 78 in Odessa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Gioconda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gioconda

Property: La Gioconda
Address: 2nd Lermontovskiy Lane, 1, Odessa 65014, Ukraine (Formerly Apartments La Gioconda)
Region: Ukraine > Odessa Oblast > Odessa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in Odessa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Gioconda 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Gioconda is a boutique hotel situated in a beautiful seaside area of Odessa. Enjoying marvelous sea views, it is central enough for easy visit to city sights and yet secluded enough to relax and unwind. Modeled on Tuscan villa, it combines old-fashion charm with latest hotel technologies and amenities both for business and leisure travelers. Whether it is a business trip, family holiday or romantic weekend getaway, visit us and enjoy our hospitality and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your La Gioconda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing