We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUT”
Review of Cafe Fanconi

Cafe Fanconi
Ranked #30 of 1,353 Restaurants in Odessa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$2
Cuisines: International
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
1,055 reviews
539 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,545 helpful votes
“OUT”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This place is completely OUT of fashion now - which is good because service and food became very, very bad.

The new IN places are 'GRANATE' 200 m down the same road (same side of the road, just before the square) and 'MINISTERIUM', maybe 800 m down the road (actually on the very end of this road, crossing a square and a small bridge).

GRANATE is a nice place to sit, have a drink & watch the people - but neither kalean (shisha) nor food is exceptional. MINISTERIUM in contrast offers excellent food and service,TOP 5 of Odessa.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HONkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    21
    15
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
208 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The location is good, the service is mediocre and the food is simple and way, way too expensive, when you pay 5 UAH for something like 1/3 of a tomato when ordering an omelette. The latter was without taste, not bad, but so, so forgettable and the point of paying extra for fillings is ridiculous, when 5 UAH for ham and 5 UAH for the cheapest cheese possible is just added on top after cooking, which does nothing at all for the taste. I can certainly suggest better places for breakfast, dining or drinks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jes G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Skip food, have coffee”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

An earlier reviewer said: "A place to hang out, not to eat". I could not agree more. I have been here on several occasions and my opinion is not formed by just a single visit. To start with the comfort: their seating is the most uncomfortable in Odessa. They offer lounge type of seating with low sofas/loveseats combined with high tables, which results in a very uncomfortable sitting position. Even if you take one of few tables with regular chairs, the table bases are so bulky that you with have to keep your legs spread apart or raised up on the base, again very uncomfortable. Consequently, this place is not suitable for long lunch or dinner visits. I don't know who designed the interior but that person clearly was not thinking about the seating experience. Food wise, it is hit or miss. I have had great veal medallions and bad sushi. Here I also had the most overpriced appetizer ever last summer, an attempt to create a tempura-like dish, that at $35 was totally not worth it. It is off the menu now it appears. I had the worst wine in Odessa here, do not drink Valpolicella that is on their menu, it is pure acid. I ordered a bottle, the waiter offered tasting, and after I declined it he said he cannot take it back because he will have to pay for it. So, what is the point in offering tasting? Service is mostly good though, although on one occasion a waitress tried to avoid bringing me change, hoping to get a 35% tip. So I had to go and ask for my change. Their cocktails and coffee drinks are good and they do indeed have great outdoor seating, but only in summer time. So, to sum up - the experience is so-so, avoid for eating and go for short drink/coffee visits instead. It is not for couples, unless you are not trying to impress your date. Not a good value for your money, the prices are high and offer is below average.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriatic007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Slow service with a bad attitude and bad food”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Fanconi was a cool place to hang out several years ago. It was considered fancy and many pretty girls could be seen there on any given evening. The food was bad then, but the sushi was good with a cool atmosphere. That was then...

I have been to Fanconi MANY times. The last few times I went there, the service was sooooooo bad and slow that I could not stand it. The sushi quality has gone way down and it is very over priced. Oh, and don't expect to see anyone smiling there. The employees have NO idea what service is. You will wait 30 minutes to get your drink and be angry when it arrives. If there is a problem, the manager will only give you a bad attitude served with a frown.

I rarely write bad reviews, but sometimes a place is so bad that people need warning. My advice is to go anywhere in Odessa, except this place. Hopefully someday, the owners will decide that fast, friendly service and good food are important. Until then, stay away!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank surfKiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“24 hours open”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

But the problem is the food...If you are hungary in Odesa city center at night that's the only alternative to go..Bot be careful...They do not know to cook anything...especially be aware form the Italian choices like rissotto, pasta, etc..

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank businessmanankara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Fanconi also viewed

Odessa, Odessa Oblast
Odessa, Odessa Oblast
 
Odessa, Odessa Oblast
Odessa, Odessa Oblast
 

Been to Cafe Fanconi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing