We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second visit :)”
Review of UNO Design Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
UNO Design Hotel
Ranked #6 of 87 Hotels in Odessa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The Hotel Amerikano , is in my humble opinion a great place to stay , if you get the chance book the bigger suite downstairs , or the new large room upstairs , as some of the other rooms can be , a little small on the second floor , the management are italian so the design and feel is very very good ,
the important thing is that you can relax here , chill out either cook in your own kitchen , or the restaurants
and good ones are only a small walk away, very close by are 2 chemists , a great little shop for those things missed at the supermarket , when i stayed there last time in july , there was a problem with hot water ( someone had cut through a pipe supplying the premises with gas ) and they was not hot water

when i met the owners next day , they were really great , and said well no hot water , we dont charge you for last night , and true to there words they did not

its a 10 mins taxi ride to the beach , all in all another very pleasant stay
looks like i will be returning in december too ,

Room Tip: ask for the suite on the 1st floor and the one on the second , when you arrive tip the taxi driver t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liam p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2012

And they are now restructuring the whole building, and boy the façade needed it and the stairs too, So it will certainly be better when renovation it's over. Rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable, staff mostly nice and caring, and it's close to all what you need to see in Odessa.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank apalmero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Great rooms, with a funky red/gray color scheme with a kitchen and upgraded bathrooms including a bidet. A/c works great. Bedding a little on the rough side but overall very good. Walking up the stairs to get you the partition door that separates these apartments from that walkway is another story. Several old day food on the floor, that stayed there overnight by the way, along with beer cans and and old plates of food apparently there to feed some animals. A little scary. Stairway also used for employee smoking breaks so not pleasant from that vantage point either. Once through the door a very nice place, if you make it that far. Construction during the day at this time so be prepared.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank boxmunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Ok os stayed June 2012 just got back booked a junior suite and to be honest was well worth while

if you can get over the Ukraine service problem ( mainly with males ) but a tips always works too

then you will love the place nice and intimate large space ,own kitchen for those romantic meals
the beds are good size decor is modern loved the tall ceilings , i was told they are putting a lift in soon but yes the exterior is lacking and under renovation , with this one dont judge the book by its cover :) would stay again

Room Tip: junior suite was good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liam p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

When i stayed late July - early August 2011, I got a free transfer from the airport to the hotel and back. First impressions were not good as they were renovating the outside of the building, and the stone steps leading up were also a bit worn. After getting to the third floor, a security door lets you in to the hotel and inside it is very chiq and modern looking.
The apartmented rooms are very clean, and reasonably stocked.
The reception staff on duty during the day were excellent with their English and they could organise everything for me.
Wifi in hotel sometimes dropped but not a problem. Plenty hot water and it was a 5 minute walk to the foot of Derbisasovkaya Street, with plenty cafes and bars along the way.
Rishelyevskaya is busy street with lots of traffic, but it was not unbearable.
I would say this hotel is expensive, and in future trips I would not stay there again probably but only due to the price. Everything else was spot on.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank finbahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This apart-hotel bills itself as “luxury” and one that provides high levels of service. However, our overall experience there fell far short of these expectations.

The positives: modern and good quality rooms, good location close to everything, free wi-fi, air conditioning

The negatives: they were extremely slow in getting back to us on numerous occasions. We contacted them to ask if we could have an early check-in as we arrived by train at 10am. They eventually agreed. When we arrived, the receptionist smirked and told us that they “don’t do” early check-ins and that the staff member who had told us yes was new so didn’t know what she was doing. When we asked to pay our bill, she told us there would be a 3% charge for using a credit card. This was not stated anywhere on our booking form where it clearly states accepted payment methods, so it seemed very dishonest. She rudely told us that it was our responsibility to go to the hotel website and find this information out and that since it was their policy there was nothing she could do. After some discussion, she just kept repeating “this is our policy, you should have checked on our website” and ended up saying “if you don’t want to pay this charge, then go to the street and change some money then you won’t pay us any charge”. I have never heard of a hotel that expects guests to read through policies on their websites when booking through third party booking sites. I have double checked and there is nothing to suggest you should do this when booking. It was not really the money that annoyed us (it was only a few dollars) but the poor attitude she gave us.

Other aspects which we did not appreciate: tiny room (it was basically just a bed and a tiny space to walk around it, and a sink with drawers on the side which was the kitchen), lots of noise from reception area and other guests coming in and out, room not sound proofed at all (no privacy as promised on their website, we had to talk very quietly in our room), hairs all over the bathroom floor, no place to sit to use the laptop (they only provide one wooden stool which gives you a back ache after 5 minutes), fridge door which does not open and close properly as it does not fit into the cupboard correctly, extortionate mini-bar prices (4x what you pay in the supermarket a few minutes walk away).

I would not recommend this place. It was not cheap and given the quality of the place and the poor service, you can do better in Odessa. They want to charge luxury prices but provide budget ‘nickel and dime’ service levels. Further, this does not offer the benefits of a proper apartment as it is like a small hotel room, yet it does not offer the benefits of a proper hotel either – apart-hotel is a very clever name when in reality it offers the benefits of neither.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Tyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Apartment was close to all central activities, just a short walk to opera house. Maria and Marina were very helpful if explaining where everything was and for arranging taxis. Free transfer from the airport was great. Internet and air con were working fine. Room was clean and tidy. Outside the building was being refurbished but no noise was heard from the room. Electric went off a couple of times (in the whole area) not a fault of the hotel but something to remember.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wind41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Odessa hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Geneva Hotel
Premier Geneva Hotel
#1 of 87 in Odessa
215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aleksandrovskiy
Aleksandrovskiy
#2 of 87 in Odessa
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bristol Odessa
Hotel Bristol Odessa
#4 of 87 in Odessa
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Continental
Continental
#9 of 87 in Odessa
217 reviews
1.2 mi away
Resort & SPA Hotel NEMO with dolphins
0.5 mi away
Londonskaya
Londonskaya
#15 of 87 in Odessa
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNO Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNO Design Hotel

Address: Rishelyevska vul. 17, Odessa 65026, Ukraine (Formerly Aparthotel Amerikano)
Region: Ukraine > Odessa Oblast > Odessa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 87 Hotels in Odessa
Price Range: £33 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — UNO Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish rooms with free internet and unique decor are offered at this hotel, just a 2-minute walk from Odessa's Pedestrian Area and half a mile from the sandy Black Sea Coast. UNO Design Hotel offers spacious suites and apartments with a flat-screen TV. Slippers and toiletries are provided.The hotel is centrally located in the city, just a 5-minute walk from sights such as Odessa Opera and Ballet House and the Potemkin Steps. Odessa Main Train Station is a 15-minute drive away and Odessa Airport is a 40-minute drive away. A shuttle service can be booked at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your UNO Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing