We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended accommodation in Odessa - The Babushka Grand Hostel”

The Babushka Grand Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Babushka Grand Hostel
Ranked #10 of 251 Speciality Lodging in Odessa
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Recommended accommodation in Odessa - The Babushka Grand Hostel”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Located near the train station on 60 Mala Arnauts'ka St, the Babushka Grand Hostel is the best hostel to stay in. The friendly staff know the city better than most locals and will be able to guide you in terms of what to see (and eat) in the city. The creators of the hostel opened the Babushka Grand solely because they love meeting new people and Odessa itself. The current staff all speak English and have the most contagious smile that I have ever seen. The facilities in the hostel rivals any decent hotel: two balconies for smoking, fully equipped kitchen, air-conditioned 10 person dorm room and laundry. Although it is quite far from the major attractions in Odessa by foot, the number Five tram is just one block away (this tram goes through the main parts of the city). The laundry service is UAH 25.00 and this is one of the most laid-back, visitor-friendly hostel in the world (once again, I emphasise, I have stayed in over 20 hostels and this has to be one of the best that I have stayed in....if not the BEST!). The foyer area makes visitors feel that they are a V.I.P of some sort. There aren't that many strict rules to abide by other than being quiet after 9p.m on the staircase and taking only 10 minute showers. In my short stay here (I regret not staying here longer), I was able to avoid all sorts of tourist traps courtesy of the friendly and knowledgeable staff. There is even the option of staying in a four-bed dorm!

Room Tip: Near the window is always nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    10
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
2
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Great place with a great vibe. Staff was attentive and very friendly, interior is beautiful and the place seems to attract a lot of fun, nice people. Best of all, it's incredibly convenient. The best place I've stayed at in this price range!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easyslava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lviv
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Terrific staff. Convenient location within walking distance from the train station so no need to take a bus or taxi when arriving in Odessa. The hostess, Lena, was really helpful, friendly, and great with suggestions about which beaches in Odessa to go to. She has a fun attitude and enjoyed practicing her newly learned card tricks on me and other guests. She made the place feel comfortable like visiting a friend's home than a hostel or hotel. I liked that each person gets a private locker with key. The communal room is large and a good place to socialize with the other guests. Great place. I'd go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SolarMan X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ternopol, Ternopil's'ka Oblast', Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2012

This was a great hostel near the train station. Also, not too far from the center and an easy trolley ride to the beaches. Tidy, with a nice atmosphere, and helpful, friendly staff. We had a great time. Will definitely return if and when we make it back to Odessa!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatalieYonEriksson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luneburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Nice hostel atmosphere, two dormitories and a "private room". Classically furnished with candelabra under the ceilings.
It is an apartment in a three story house only marked by a door bell on the main entrance. You must find the right apartment by yourself (first floor). Masha seems a little confused, but has everything under control and speaks 3 languages.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Very popular with young americans partying. If you accept that, its actually nice.

Not too clean, not to professional but very homey and laid back.
Its one big apartment, which was classy once, well before it was turned into a hostel!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacobOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate NY
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

More than a bit annoying to arrive, despite two phone calls making and then confirming our reservation, only to be told that the double room (or any room) was not available as apparently the staff/owners are not very skilled at managing reservations. And the same was true for another couple who arrived the same day. An apology, a room around the corner in another place helped, but it was more expensive with nothing more than a shrug offered for the mistake. The use of the shower was made available after our check-out the next day in the other place--helpful, I suppose.

Room Tip: Impossible to evaluate as we did not get to stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Upstatetravelers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Odessa hotels
0.8 mi away
Tsentralnaya
Tsentralnaya
#64 of 81 in Odessa
74 reviews
2.5 mi away
Arcadia Hotel
Arcadia Hotel
#43 of 81 in Odessa
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Morskoy Hotel
Morskoy Hotel
#46 of 81 in Odessa
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Deribas
Hotel Deribas
#23 of 81 in Odessa
68 reviews
1.2 mi away
Centro Hostel
Centro Hostel
#71 of 251 in Odessa
11 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elementary, Hostel
Elementary, Hostel
#4 of 251 in Odessa
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Babushka Grand Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Babushka Grand Hostel

Property: The Babushka Grand Hostel
Address: Mala Arnautska vul. 60, Odessa 65012, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Odessa Oblast > Odessa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 251 Speciality Lodging in Odessa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a beautiful hostel that looks like a pre-revolutionary aristocrat's apartment with chandeliers, gilded ceilings that are 4 1/2 meters high and carpets. It is three blocks from the train station and a 25 minute walk from the beach and a 15 minutes from Deribasivskaya. Western service with local knowledge we are always available to help you plan any excursion or adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Babushka Grand Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing